Sears Home Services Employee Reviews

2.8
Overall rating
Based on 274 reviews
Ratings breakdown
541
449
365
246
173
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 264 reviews matching the search See all 274 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 18, 2018
Had the time of my life working here. Hands down, the best job I've ever had. Management is great, staff is friendly and company events are fun. Definitely a great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not care about the Sales Reps.
Does Not Matter (Former Employee) –  SomwhereJune 23, 2018
The sales reps are treated like cattle. Management pretends to care but don't. Attrition is 400%. If you work hard and succeed you still get stepped on by corporate. Sales reps are run all day long 700 to 800 miles a week. They finally make a sale and commissions are deducted. You never get all your commission. If something is missed you will be deducted full retail. You cannot challenge the miss and your commission is not protected. Sears always gets there money.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, GAJune 20, 2018
Sears was a excellant place to work--good benefits-good pay--good training program-nice co-workers --good supervisors--good work hours--meeting new customers and helping them
Pros
Excellant work place
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working on egg shells
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lorton, VAJune 15, 2018
Turnover rate is abundant. Office/Restrooms haven't been cleaned in forever. No standard operation procedures, no clear cut instructions, rules constantly changing, rude employees, favouritism and no real time off. Do not work here if you have any amount of sense.
Pros
A job if you have no where else to go
Cons
Low pay, no benefits, no real training, no family life
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Department Manager/HR (Former Employee) –  Lorton, VAJune 11, 2018
Call-center. Fast paced, cutthroat competition. On the phone alot talking to customers. Persuading them to use Sears to take care of the issues home owners would have.
Cons
Lots of pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessionally run
Call Center Representative - Bilingual Line (Current Employee) –  Lake Mary, FLJune 5, 2018
This is a national company run poorly. I have over 30 years call center experience and without question it is the least professional company I have ever worked for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Mira Loma, CAMay 31, 2018
It was a good place to start off at good team members learned a lot of different things your day goes by fast it feels like a family invirment I recommend it to people
Pros
Good team
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of opportunity for anyone willing to be a student of the business and drive self improvement.
Team Member/Team Leader (Current Employee) –  DC - District of Columbia, DCMay 27, 2018
Honesty and disciplined work ethic is the key to making this a rewarding career path. No limitations are set for performance. Those who drive their own destiny are not hindered but fairly rewarded. Low level producers work themselves out of the opportunities available here. It takes personal drive and determination to succeed. Low personal standards and entitlement mentality usually result in short lived career.
Pros
No limits set on personal performance goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In home sales
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMay 26, 2018
Atypical work day included a short morning meeting and were given leads to run. I did learn about replacement doors and windows for your home. There were times when the leads were bad because the customers only wanted to enter a contest, therefore you didn't make any money
Pros
Good manger, helped you to earn some money
Cons
Bad leads, pay scale wasn't very good, to much traveling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad leads
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 24, 2018
The two bad things about working at Sears was the leads were not checked out. I went on too many calls that there was no possibility of making a sale.

There was a major problem with getting work done and this cost me some commissions.

In Nov the number of leads dropped to 2-3 a week. By Jan things had not gotten better and I had to leave
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
Hard way to make a living
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Environment
Lead Carpet Technician (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 24, 2018
I worked in Baltimore at the Patapsco location. Everything was very stressful, they scam the customers and the employees. Don't work here, save your talent.
Pros
A.C in the warehouse
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Lawn and Garden, outdoor/recreation repair (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMay 23, 2018
Very busy on the job, controlled every situation involved with working and especially selling to costumer, good relationships with peers, but inadequate communication with management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales priority over repair service
SERVICE TECHNICIAN, SALES REP., MENTOR TECH (Former Employee) –  Wall, NJMay 21, 2018
Good place to earn extra income provided you are great in sales. Repair is second and training is minimum.
Work can be steady ,but long hours may be involved.
Pros
Able to earn extra wages through sales
Cons
long work hours, breaks may not be available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non
Area Installation Manager (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJMay 10, 2018
worked Monday- Friday
lots of travel to job site
no job security
was recruited then told by new manager they would of never hired me.
scheduling
permit
knowledge of plumbing
knowledge of construction/remodel kitchen bath
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish I could give 0 stars
Route specialist (Current Employee) –  McClellan Park, CAMay 8, 2018
Managers are rude and give different information I've been here for almost 4 years. Pay is okay but no room for advancement, I just try to keep to myself since it's a job but it includes way to many inconsistencies. Techs complain all day and argue with you managers don't step in when you get a escalation you call people all day to reschedule there appointments and the job is unprofessional
Pros
Long lunches are okay, sick pay, vacation hours
Cons
Managers don't know what they are doing, and no room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 8, 2018
At Sears Home Improvement they provide a great amount of leads, great sales skills. But production is where they lack the most at busy season. Great leadership
Pros
great sales trainer, great management
Cons
Production installation time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Customer Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Doraville, GAMay 6, 2018
I wouldn't recommend working for this company, its real cutthroat. While the supervisor and the other customer service rep are really good friends they will turn off their lines and leave me to answer all the calls. The supervisor didn't train me that well, i had to learn as i go. I felt bad for the technicians, because they will break down in the middle of traveling and the manager will leave them high and dry and stranded. He use to fuss at the technicians, I use to get calls from people telling me that one of their technicians almost ran them off the road. They don't offer direct deposit and no benefits.
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
unstable work atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Customer Service Route Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Pennsauken, NJMay 5, 2018
Pleasant work environment. Everyone was so professional and showed respect towards each other. Faced paced when dispatching service calls to repair technicians
Pros
Acknowledgement for your birthday and holiday parties
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dfgdfg
Appointment Setter (Current Employee) –  Lake Mary, FLApril 25, 2018
it's a good job. easily to get into. easy system. just show up to work and do you job. dress business casual. manager are cool. everyone is friendly here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an ok first time job. Definitely not a career
One Call resolution (Former Employee) –  Lake Mary, FLApril 24, 2018
The pay isn't enough to live off of, but the job is easy. You are treated like a cog in a machine, so do not expect to have any fun at work. Sears has a history of making changes that will negatively affect its employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sears Home Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight