Sears Hometown & Outlet Stores Employee Reviews

Found 487 reviews matching the search See all 506 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Merchandise Processor (Former Employee) –  Carrollton, TXDecember 11, 2018
Had a great time as a sears associate.
Got to meet good people and their personalities.
A great job opportunity.
Everybody was loyal and dedicated to what they did.
Pros
Cookouts
Cons
Weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great neighborhood store with friendly associates.
SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  North Kingstown, RIDecember 11, 2018
Sears Hometown Store is a franchise with a great working environment. The owner has high standards for quality assurance of merchandise, cleanliness, and customer satisfaction. Customers were frequent buyers, living in the area; staff developed friendly work relationships with customers.
Pros
opportunity to learn; interaction with customers; online classes
Cons
day drags on when business is slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great corporation
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Estherville, IADecember 4, 2018
This corporation is based on having small locations that are franchised. The company owns just a few locations, mostly outlets for damaged merchandise or merchandise that needs cleared out.
Working as a transition manager the pay is low and there are no benefits.
There are some advancement opportunities, but they are not very enticing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place positive environment
Sears (Current Employee) –  El Dorado, ARDecember 4, 2018
Great people positive place to be around real helpful manger is willing to work with you and/or around your schedule as long as your a respectful employee towards her.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall experience working for Sears Hometown Stores
Manager (Current Employee) –  Clanton, ALDecember 3, 2018
I have worked for Sears Hometown Stores for 10 years and in that time the Corporate employees have destroyed the integrity and the respect that american's have come to love.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace with ping pong table and pool table.
Apparel Associate (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MONovember 28, 2018
Note: This is an uninsulated warehouse and is extremely cold in the winter and extremely hot in the summer.

Basically, it is a fun place to work and coworkers are friendly and helpful. Work is simple enough and can vary. One day you might be sorting, tagging and hanging clothing, the next running clothing to the racks to be shipped, and the next day might be spent sorting, tagging, and packing accessories for shipping. When there is a workload, there is always something to do.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere
Cons
Hot in the summer, cold in the winter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work. Great employees
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Covington, WANovember 16, 2018
Store closed after 5 years. Very poor delivery company used. Every week you felt like you were going two steps forward and one back due to the poor delivery service that this company contracted with.
Pros
Good commision if you work at it
Cons
Stressfull because of delivery service lack of attention to details
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Tucker, GANovember 16, 2018
I love my job I have been here for 18 years just don't pay enough love working with the techs I have here. Just need another income at night will not leave my day job. Love my boss I work good with other and I was try to my a better placed for myself and others.
Pros
30 breaks that is ok with me.
Cons
job don't like giving rises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and understanding work environment
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Corinth, MSNovember 15, 2018
My manager (also the owners) were very friendly and understanding. If there was any time an emergency came up, I could call and inform them without them holding it against me. They make you feel welcomed, and are very easy to talk to. I learned a lot while working here. I learned about refrigerators, washers and dryers, stoves, lawn mowers, tools, and tons more. The hardest part of the job, for me, was trying to sale mattresses. The most enjoyable part of the job was feeling like everyone that worked there was more of a family than a job with strangers.
Pros
understanding, friendly
Cons
late pay checks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job i have ever had
Unloader (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSNovember 12, 2018
Not good at all very bad management did not work with you on you work schedule and will not notify you of there are any changes.Also my managment would throw shifts together and not really see if it works for is
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great
Training to be assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Hope, ARNovember 7, 2018
I was not able to work there very long since we ended up having to move due to my husband's job, but I was in training to become the assistant manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Backroom Team Member (Former Employee) –  Canal Winchester, OHNovember 7, 2018
Sears was a nice job to have in high school, it kept me with money in my pocket, so any one in high school or want to be a manager I would suggest they apply for sears.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Byram, MSNovember 5, 2018
Focus on the company and your individual experience while employed there
Provide details about why you liked or disliked working at the company
Ensure any facts you include in your review are true and accurate
All submitted reviews are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms of Service
We reserve the right not to post your review if it contains any of the following types of content or violates other guidelines:

Obscenities, discriminatory language, or other language not suitable for a public forum
Advertisements, "spam" content, or references to other companies, offers, or websites
Email addresses, URLs, phone numbers, physical addresses, or other forms of contact information
Critical or spiteful comments on other reviews posted on the page or their authors
Allegations of illegal activity - this is not a forum for reporting crimes
Defamatory content
Enjoy writing your review!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer oriented Store
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Auburn, CANovember 2, 2018
Sears Hometown is customer oriented which is geared to offer the customer best decision for whatever the product they are seeking.

Sears allows the employees to express their views and ideas with an
open door policy.
Pros
Customer and employee orientd
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace culture centered on customer service and pushing associates to sell more
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Katy, TXNovember 1, 2018
When I first started as a sales associate, my department managers as well as the store managers helped me with sales training as well as with any questions I had about my position. Managers as well as other employees created a competitive selling environment and rewarded as and frequently congratulated us for making sales. They had a very strong team based work environment.
Pros
Incentives for selling, long lunch breaks, flexible hours, friendly coworkers.
Cons
Unorganized system involving getting our shipments in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I do something to do better than staying home and keep me busy.
Sears hometewon (Former Employee) –  Saint Albans, VTOctober 25, 2018
I did alots of work delivery appliances, installed, shipping and receive. Most of the time I install snow blower, tractors, lawn mower and other stuffs ,too.
I helped any customers who have problem with any tools and machine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Owner (Former Employee) –  Lake Geneva, WIOctober 25, 2018
Owned and operated Sears Hometown in Lake Geneva one of companies top producing stores Sold building and Sold building thought I wanted to retire changed my mind like working
Pros
flexabilaty
Cons
drive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hope, AROctober 24, 2018
I loved working with my boss and manager. They helped me learn the ins and outs. It really was a great place. I wish I still worked there. I miss it..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great store to work at
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNOctober 23, 2018
as the work vibe goes, it is there. selling pre owned equipment is what we sell, but we make sure that every piece equipment is working as good as new.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a shame Sears went out of business
Executive Manager (Former Employee) –  Jonesboro, AROctober 22, 2018
I was quite happy as an executive manager working for Sears. My co workers were very productive hard workers and out sales revenue margins proved it. The workplace environment was quite relaxed and I enjoyed the freedom of not feeling enslaved to a corporate giant. Additionally, the bonus's and perks along with travel was great.
Pros
great pay and benefits
Cons
went out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sears Hometown & Outlet Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 507 reviews
5146
4137
3123
246
155

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.4Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP10%
In the Top 10% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Sears Hometown & Outlet Stores.

Powered by Comparably