Sears Hometown & Outlet Stores Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 484 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5138
4130
3118
245
153
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 465 reviews matching the search See all 483 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Recieving Associate (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAOctober 12, 2018
Sticking shelves. Unloading trucks sorting items unpacking boxes. Removing trash cleaning up the area this was a daily routine. Also making sure other areas were clean other than my own throughout the floor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job with good coworkers and friendly customers.
Lead Installer (Current Employee) –  Kingman, AZOctober 10, 2018
Sears is a good place to work if you do not mind not getting paid overtime for working 60 hours a week. Is laid back, fun place to work with good people.
Pros
They are very easy going.
Cons
No overtime pay when there should be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very bad place to work
Truck Unloader/Stocker/costomer service (Former Employee) –  Mineral Wells, TXOctober 9, 2018
I wanna tell every one Sears downtown it is not a safe environment okace to be working at very poor customer service and managers working there I am glad I don't work there anymore
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is a JOKE
Collections manager (Former Employee) –  TexasOctober 8, 2018
Little to no training. Micromanaged for everything. Store visits were like a dog and pony show. Weekly changed from top down. Upper management has zero knowledge of this business.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work on a temporary basis
Assistant store manager/Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Chickasha, OKOctober 3, 2018
The Place I worked was a decent place to work until it closed down. The location was not very good, and it was not a good location to have a business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upcoming company
Store Manager/Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Portage, INOctober 2, 2018
good company, could be less stressful daily. a lot of metrics to make and achieve. more marketing to ensure customer footstep would be nice to ensure metrics can be made
Pros
salary
Cons
extended shifts, low payroll
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wasn’t able to enjoy.
Back room (Former Employee) –  Rock Springs, WYSeptember 25, 2018
I wasn’t impressed about this job I barely made any money I couldn’t work the floor even tho I did. I was in the back room on the floor doing delivery’s.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good part-time job with a flexible schedule.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Norwalk, OHSeptember 19, 2018
Sears is a decent part-time job that is more physically demanding than most. It's a pretty fun to learn about all the new products. All in all, it's an above average job
Pros
Monthly bonuses, flexible hours
Cons
Horrible customers, changes in policies without being notified
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back with a lot of training and coaching
Assitant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WISeptember 19, 2018
I learned a lot working there. Also was coached into becoming a assistant store manager. Very flexible schedules with paid holiday and vacation. Looks for strengths and builds off of that
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ridgecrest, CASeptember 18, 2018
When I worked at this place it was a great place to work. The owners were friendly, compassionate people who cared about the employees they hired. I am unsure of the new owner but I do hear good things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new owners were accomodating and helpful.
Sales Associate-Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Morris, ILSeptember 17, 2018
The timing was awkward-owner transition. However, i felt that the employees were treated fairly and their own hard work paid off with commissions. The harder you work.. the more you make.
Pros
work hard-make more
Cons
short breaks, no insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great first job
Brand Representative (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHSeptember 17, 2018
I started working at Sears towards the end of high school and the job was too demanding for my school schedule. At times they scheduled me for 30+ hour shifts when I was in high school and was unable to work fulltime.
Pros
Teaches employees about retail
Cons
Low security, poor work atmosphere, terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, friendly, paid.
Sears consultative sales (Former Employee) –  Roswell, NMSeptember 17, 2018
Clock in, proceed to register, clean, wait for customers, try to sell lawn and push mowers, appliances, matresses, etc. fold clothes, change signs, etc. I learned to build tool boxes, mowers, learned about tools, etc. Management was great, very friendly.
Pros
Learning a lot, the environment, different in store opportunities.
Cons
went out of business not much customers, unorganized soft lines, back store space unorganized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good start very fun and cool nice inviroment employees and managers very nice
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OH Dayton mallSeptember 12, 2018
It was a good job very nice customers fun most times very easy but challenging I would say overall a good work experience it has its ups and downs but for a first time job it's ok
Pros
Commission was nice breaks where ok
Cons
Not very flexible with schedules and somewhat rude
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working there was like a family
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Mineral Wells, TXSeptember 11, 2018
key holder would open store unlock doors, count drawers start registers. check emails, fusion orders, sales, customer service. I would stock the floor and do inventory
Pros
made my own scheduel
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be busy at times.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, INSeptember 6, 2018
Sear's Hometown stores are locally owned. Responsible for the overall management of the store. While it was challenging at times, it was a fun environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very slow paced
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, MNAugust 30, 2018
Customers are few and far between, and the days get very long. The main focus at this company is selling extended warranties and leasing. Very frustrating when you are not rewarded for selling product
Pros
None
Cons
Long days and very little time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  McMinnville, TNAugust 26, 2018
I loved my coworkers and the store owners. We respected each other and got along well. One of my favorite jobs. I miss seeing these people. Sears was a great company at one time.
Pros
team work
Cons
worked all holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job but pay was very poor.
Pricing and Merchandising Specialist (Former Employee) –  Shoreline, WAAugust 25, 2018
I loved working here but the pay was very very bad. Made it hard to stay. I eventually had to quit because of it. Loved the job though management and people were great.
Pros
Management, employees, my position was fun
Cons
The pay and working most holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun place till corporate arrived.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Liberal, KSAugust 24, 2018
Sears was a fun workplace till Sears corporate took over. They have closed the store, made everyone mad and they are just some bad people. I would not recommend this store to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sears Hometown & Outlet Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

2.3Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight