Sears Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing occupation
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDSeptember 23, 2018
While working at sears, I had the most amazing experience. I’ve learned skills beneficial for me for years to come. I’ve made friends and even kept valuable customers as friends while employed with sears.
Pros
Pay, hours, staff and co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fine for a seasonal job
Retail Associate (Current Employee) –  Overland Park, KSSeptember 23, 2018
Sears is a nice place to work as a part time job but they do push you to try to get people to apply for credit card with Sears, this I did not care for.
Pros
discount
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast moving job
Stock room Associate (Former Employee) –  White Plains, NYSeptember 23, 2018
The job was very competitive and fast paced. Half the day is spent unloading merchandise and receiving orders for customers and pick up. I would recommend this job if you have no work experience at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Associate
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Rockaway, NJSeptember 23, 2018
Responsible for assisting customers with their catalog orders
Handled customer inquiries, complaints and resolved issues
Prepared sales reconciliation and daily activity reports
Assist Office Manager & catalog department
Pros
Employee Discount
Cons
Pay Rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Barboursville, WVSeptember 23, 2018
iv worked for sears for about 3 yrs. its not a bad place to work.Thier has been some changes going on that seems to help the store. my only flaw I see in the store is that workers are under payed.
Pros
good customers
Cons
not payed well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a great team
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Nashua, nhSeptember 23, 2018
The culture of upper management was very negative. They excepted more than could be accomplished with the amount of labor that was provided. They changed from s customer focused business to being driven to cut costs at any cost. Even losing customers who were dedicated to Sears.
Pros
great team
Cons
too much negativity didnt make you want to work hard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty productive while also fun enough to have a balance.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Peabody, MASeptember 23, 2018
The work experience is good but the only thing bad were the managers which were lazy and always commanded the employees to do everything. There were a lot of hard working people taken advantage of by the store managers.
Pros
Two breaks.
Cons
Bad Managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service representatave
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNSeptember 22, 2018
Helped the customers with various issues, lost cards, payments, credit checks, and billing.
able to work with a diversified culture, how to be pleasing and courteous,
My supervisor was super nice and informative, The office as warm and inviting, the people great and generous to work with.
the hardest part was not having a set schedule.
the nicest thing was not every day was not the same, there was something new to look forward to
Pros
good friendly people
Cons
not have a regular schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 22, 2018
Learned a lot about retail. A lot of diversity which was a good learning experience. Great customer's, products, and employees. Stores in different states makes for good advancement opportunities.
Pros
Good products
Cons
Too many store closures
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor company
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Minot, NDSeptember 22, 2018
The worse job I e ever had. No raises, management never did anything but gossip about other employees, no chance for advancement. I almost didn't get hired because my little sister worked there years before me and the store manager at the time didn't like her so she delayed my application for months.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Sears?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not recommended
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNSeptember 22, 2018
They really push getting credit applications to the point of rudeness. Cashier is expected to get a certain number of credit apps. per day. You are told not to take no for an answer. personally i think this is being rude. Manager at my store was not a good one at all.
Pros
employee discounts
Cons
poor work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont ever work here
Store Support Associate (Former Employee) –  Citrus Heights, CASeptember 21, 2018
Bad pay, incompetent management, management made us do things not in our job title/ we were not trained to do, no room for advancement ever, and did not get a single pay raise in the 4 years i worked for them. The only good part about working there were that my fellow coworkers were understanding and helpful.
Pros
It was a steady job
Cons
Bad pay, stressful, bad management, no advancement, no raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for Sears
Apparel Merchandising and Pricing Lead (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVSeptember 21, 2018
I enjoyed teaching the team how to merchandise, set up displays. I created schedules and directed the team on daily tasks to complete. Offer the customer a comfortable atmosphere in which to shop.
Pros
The team
Cons
Not enough hours and they closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is potential
Project Consultant (Former Employee) –  Rocky Hill, CTSeptember 21, 2018
Working as a consultant was very challenging because it is a 100 percent commission. The products they sell is very expensive and the job could be very stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management leads to store failure
Specialty Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXSeptember 21, 2018
The store failed due to poor management. With the arrival of the store manager, they chose to take on the duties of all the department managers and would not delegate tasks down the chain of command. As the store started to decline and departments began to turn to anarchy employees were forced to resign as scheduling was incorrect and staff became short.
Pros
None
Cons
Management, Commissions, Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good breaks
Cashier/Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMSeptember 21, 2018
They were good at giving breaks, and looking out for their employees. Good perks for selling credit cards. Overall was an ok place to work as my first job after childbirth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice and productive store.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Killeen, TXSeptember 21, 2018
Sears was nice productive store. Lots of friendly associates and plenty to do around the store. Very diverse. Great working experience with customers at the store.
Pros
Good shop your way benefits
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to get off the ground
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 20, 2018
As titled, just watch out for management they're out for blood and are more than happy to sack you for any small thing they dislike over proper reasons.
Cons
Short Breaks, Poor Management, Little Logic (Word Harder not smarter)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots to learn and lots to earn
Part sales specialist (Current Employee) –  United StatesSeptember 20, 2018
The Tucson call center is very employee oriented, everything is there to help you earn.
The management staff was almost all on the call floor when they started they are fun and respectful and they do whatever they can to help you succeed and at the end of the day it feels good helping people and advancing personally.
Pros
Almost no dress code
Cons
A lot of sitting and the 6 week class has tons of info.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSSeptember 20, 2018
Prepare displays, post price changes. Resolve customer issues. Assist customer with product selection. Prepare new appliances coming to the floor for display.
Pros
work load distributed equally among all associates
Cons
Store was closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sears. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 24,664 reviews
55.6K
46.7K
36.9K
23K
12.6K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

Diversity score

Powered by Comparably

49out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Sears.