SecurAmerica Employee Reviews

Showing all 350 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and manageable work place, with time to relax from time to time.
Lead Officer At Disney Housing (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 17, 2018
The job it self is easy and manageable. The problem here is that they ( management) don't hired real officer or people that actually wants to work, making the job harder on others. Making rules that don't apply to every one and a lot of favoritism on the schedule and regulation to some officers. Plus they don't pay accordingly to the rank of the role performing.
Pros
Easy, manageable work place.
Cons
No fairly pay per roles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get in where you fit in
Security Officer (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 13, 2018
All sites are different and some are organized and some aren't turn over is very high and some managers and operations manager dont know how to communicate with officers. My second week there I was threatened to be fired if I didnt come work a special.
Pros
Extra hours always available
Cons
No raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good work environment
Security Site Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJuly 10, 2018
The company is a great place to start a career in security. The environment is good and it allowed me to increase my skills as a supervisor/manager. The biggest issue I had were the hourly wages but the staff is trained well.
Pros
Autonomy
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work experience
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Fishkill, NYJuly 8, 2018
With no rules posted expect them to constantly change. If you liked being looked at all shift while having nothing to do a majority of the time this is the right place to be. Very slow paced, and good for someone that wants to just sit for a majority of the shift. Horrible management. Expect to be called all the time but for your calls to never be answered.
Pros
Good for people that enjoy a slow paced environment
Cons
Almost everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
washington Dc
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Reston, VA 20191July 2, 2018
this job sucks, they dont work with you and your schedule, the only time you get ahead if you know someone. the management sucks well there's no management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SecurAmerica is overall a good company.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GAJune 24, 2018
SecurAmerica is a good company to work for, but the benefits and salary is not as competitive as it could or should be. However, there are opportunities to advance to supervisor positions, sometimes pretty quickly. At the site where I work the property manager is very smart and kind. She gives Christmas bonuses and invites security to the onsite property management functions
Pros
Opportunity to become supervisor; and holiday bonus and invites to property management functions.
Cons
Benefits and pay rate ($10.00-10.50) is lacking & is not very competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional company, will fire at will , could care less about you, they just need bodies to fill posts
Officer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 23, 2018
They hire bums off the street. Lack of professional managers. Lousy to zero benefits.
They don't care about their employees and will fire you at will. No healthcare plans, no major medical, no 401K retirement plans, no thing.
Pros
None
Cons
They will fire you indiscriminately
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professionalism varies from site to site
ACCOUNT MANAGER/DIRECTOR OF SECURITY (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 21, 2018
SecurAmerica is a very positive work place in the beginning; but if you're an ambitious person, you can easily become disillusioned as one's efforts tend to go unnoticed, depending on your chain of command. If you're a security minded person, you can find yourself languishing in the abyss of entry level positions or lower management. But if you're more charismatic and sales oriented, those are the folks that get more than a second of third chance to advance themselves despite whatever shortcomings they may have from a operations perspective.

If you're a good physical security officer, they're more than happy to let you keep being that. Don't expect anyone to recognize talent, leadership and experience and exploit it for mutual benefit.
Pros
Flexable work schedule
Cons
Investment in leadership development can be improved
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
security guard
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 18, 2018
Worked outside of gate setting in a company vehicle checking in trailers for inbound and out bound traffic, radioing inside to dispatcher and telling truckers what dock door to report to for fill up or to be unloaded.Checked fuel guage and refer guage on trucks coming and going. Kept log sheet and checked vehicle serial # on tags .
Pros
Good Job, contract ended in Romeoville didnt want to travvel to Chicago.
Cons
Had to sit in company car during winter month no guard shack
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
secure america
Security Officer - On site in Danbury (Current Employee) –  Hartford, CTJune 15, 2018
it is a great school if you are attending college to supplement your income the management is very down to earth to talk to and help you out in a jam if you require more hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

Want to know more about SecurAmerica?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 12, 2018
Good job , fun to work with, great manager, always had a helpful staff, had great team building experience, dislikes contract security, dislikes uniforms
Pros
Fitness center
Cons
Uniforms
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 4, 2018
If you do your job right you wont have no problems. they have a lot of overtime to give out. they will make you work a double if your relief doesn't show up no exceptions so if you have children keep that in mind.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is easy to adjust to with a little bit of time and expierence.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Stamford, CTMay 30, 2018
I have been working for this company for over three years. I have no complaints. They treat me very well. I have never had any problems with any co-workers. Although I enjoy each day on the job I am not very fond of the long hours with little pay or benefits.
Pros
Only work weekends
Cons
No benifits or paid time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
securty
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMay 29, 2018
no vaction working in all weather in sid and out said walk the area and write reports make sere everyone. wprked all over new have area. in all weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Uptown
Officer (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 8, 2018
this place was a good place to work. A lot of people that look out for one another. The position was located uptown, but the environment made the ability to work there simple.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
national shrine is nice to work at.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 30, 2018
my review for SecurAmerica is that it is not a good company and does not take care of its employees however working at the saint john paul shrine has been good and its the best site i have worked.As a catholic i can say its the sole reason that i have stayed with the company and i hope things do improve with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People but poor Culture
Regional Operations/Training Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 20, 2018
This company has great potential with great people. This company has attracted some of the sharpest and brightest people on the market but has issues retaining.
Pros
Great People, Flexible Works Hours
Cons
Advancement Opportunities and Compensation Package
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Corporate Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Hartford, CTApril 19, 2018
I honestly cant find a fault in this company, Management is there when you need them even if its the smallest thing like for example if you forgot your tie they will send a QA to bring one for you. Sites are clean and professional you get the necessary training for every site you work if you're working multiple sites.
Pros
Paid Break, Set Schedules.
Cons
Not much OT
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you work for them, and the contract is solidified, there is ample opportunity to advance.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTApril 13, 2018
I liked the work because I was running security and keeping order in the buildings. The managers were good at training, but also quite laid back. However, the termination of contracts frequently left me out of work.
Pros
If you like security work, it is a good starting company.
Cons
Contracts never lasted terribly long.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst companies I have ever worked for
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 10, 2018
This company constantly harasses you to take overtime you are not required to accept. Management is by far one of the worst I have ever worked for. These people do not care about the well being of their employees and will constantly squeezed every ounce of whatever energy you have left to fill a shift.
Pros
Absolutely nothing
Cons
Management, hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SecurAmerica. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 350 reviews
591
480
392
241
146

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture