Sempra Energy Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 63 reviews
Ratings breakdown
527
421
39
22
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 62 reviews matching the search See all 63 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trading Applications
Software Consultant (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTMay 25, 2018
I was consultant at Sempra Energy trading, culture and work was excellent apart from we need to support delivering IT solutions to traders. Had fun working and good opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor
Contract Agent Contractor (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 8, 2018
I worked as a contractor for this public utility. It is without a doubt the most unprofessional work environment. Management is non existent people are extremely rude.
Pros
hours are decent, location in decent
Cons
Parking Sucks, Management is absent, popularity contest
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company I've worked for.
Maximo Analyst & Developer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 5, 2018
Best of all worlds in a very beautiful city. The enterprise software I supported was the most well configured I've seen. So technically it was well done. Mostly for me it was the atmosphere. Everybody was nice. Nobody seemed stressed. Nobody was rude. The Sempra HQ had a beautiful view of the bay and the ocean beyond Coronado. It was also surrounded by many restaurants and across the street from Petco Park. The people who work there are very lucky.
Pros
Everything.
Cons
My job was just a contract; therefore, I couldn't stay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, great atmosphere
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 19, 2018
Every day has something new, fires to put out and interesting projects to manage. The wide variety of work, the interaction with the various support departments and the public/customers insures that things never get dull.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair and Ethical place to work
Project Manager / Project Controls (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 28, 2018
> Management is somewhat disjointed in that personnel assignments are sometime random and employees are not communicated with before assignments are made.
> Work hours are good and working conditions are good. Office is a new building downtown San Diego.
> Culture varies from somewhat dog-eat-dog to reasonable. Upward mobility is typical for this type of organization. Politices plays a key role.
Pros
Location, salaries, co-workers
Cons
Careers can be interrupted or redirected without warning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Business Objects Developer (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 27, 2018
Awful place to work. Poor management. They hired but did not have enough work. They treat consultants terribly. Would not recommend this company. They are not an environmentally good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay
Energy professional (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 12, 2018
great place to learn and grow. Lots of ways to move around. Many people are willing to help. Great environment and vibe. Large company feel with lots of options
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service Trainer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 5, 2018
I was specifically hired for a project not to exceed 1 year.

Pay was reasonable.

Interaction with staff and management was almost universally positive.

Don't know how Sempra would be to work for regularly, but everything I witnessed was solid and positive.
Pros
culture
Cons
none known
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The standard
Digital Services Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 31, 2018
Sempra is your typical corporate america type of company, I can sum it up very simply by stating that there was no justified reason of my lay off, the reason was I spoke out over a bad decision from management, that is all it took.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management, workplace environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work
Energy Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Chula Vista, CADecember 4, 2017
Sempra Energy is the best and awesome place to work! would recommend everyone to apply. the staff and managers are the best. friendly, helpful, kind and patient.
Pros
Great people, competitive salary, yearly bonus.
Cons
Lack of upward mobility, and succession planning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time with Sempra.
Payroll Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 26, 2017
I have nothing to add to the overall summary. Obviously my time with the company and its predecessor and up until retirement serves as evidence of a very positive experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working place
Mule ESB Developer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 9, 2017
Trust the people they work for;
Have pride in what they do; and
Enjoy the people they work with.
Achieve organisational objectives;
With employees who give their personal best; and
Work together as a team / family in an environment of trust
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut-throat Environment
Sales Manager - Northeast Commodity Sales (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, NJOctober 5, 2017
High stress, high pressure work environment. With significant micro-managing. Cut-throat culture, where favorites are treated well at the expense of others.
Pros
Many Product Offerings
Cons
Sales Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team atmosphere
Administrative Associate (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 26, 2017
Sempra is a great company to work for, with a very good work to life balance. Everyone helps out and it is a team atmosphere.
It is also in the downtown area, which makes it very easy to enjoy your work place
Pros
cafateria on site
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company comes with pros and cons
Finance/Accounting Intern (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 25, 2017
Great I had a fun time definitely has some room for improvement wish they had more work sometimes new clear path for career advancement.. Needs more to do. culture is fine a little to big for my taste. there are some very helpful people who work there.
Pros
Pay
Cons
To big
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sempra Energy
Financial Accountant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 16, 2017
Sempra Energy allowed an opportunity to learn and see things at a high level, from a bird's eyes' perspective, as opposed to seeing only a piece of the pie.
Pros
Relaxed, Work-Life Balance Environment.
Cons
Commute and traffic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment
PROJECT ASSISTANT 3 (Former Employee) –  Kearny Mesa, CASeptember 13, 2017
Negative unprofessional employees allowed to be in charge
Management reminded me on a regular basis that I was only on a temporary assignment Your odds of becoming permanent are 80% NOT and 20% possible
Pros
Allowed alot of overtime
Cons
unpleasent work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 6, 2017
Excellent company when I was there. Good benefits, interesting work, career opportunities, and excellent management team. Enjoyed every minute there and would go back in a minute.
Pros
career advancement, great pay and benefits.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company in San Diego
Principal Accountant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 5, 2017
Sempa/SDG&E is a great company to work in San Diego.
Great Work/Life balance and benefits. People rotate between different positions withing the company.
Company has a relatively new office in downtown.
Pros
Great Publicly traded company
Cons
Parking is not free
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work .
Lead / Senior Developer (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 31, 2017
nice place to work .
As I was a contractor I have to leave as project came to an end.
There is no work preassure. nice place to work. I was there for a full life cycle of this project . From requirement gathering to support.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sempra Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.6InHerSight Score

3.8Personal Development

4.0Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight