Seneca Family of Agencies Employee Reviews

Showing all 86 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Support Counselor (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAJanuary 23, 2019
Great entry level mental health position. Decent options for advancement and very supportive colleagues and supervisors. Work is difficult but often rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
January 31, 2019

Thank you so much for reflecting on your experience working at Seneca. I agree that our coworkers and shared mission are one of the most rewarding aspects about working at this organization. Thanks again for your time and energy in serving families going through the most difficult times in their lives. With Gratitude, Mark Nickell - Regional Executive Director

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
. I consider my colleagues and support staff to be more like my family. This work environment is very team-oriented. We rely on each others strengths
Mental Health Counselor (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAJanuary 13, 2019
My favorite thing about this job is working with kids. I am able to use my creativity on a regular basis to inspire and influence the kids in a positive manner. I also get to experience joy when I am able to witness students grow and improve. I enjoy community gatherings, rewarding the kids with incentives and watching kids be kids.
Pros
Benefits, variety of positions (opportunities for advancement), staff incentives
Cons
Partnerships can be challenging, unpaid breaks during school year, high turn over rates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
January 15, 2019

First off, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I truly believe that Seneca is a special place, and I am thrilled to hear that your colleagues have become like a family to you. Due to the myriad of service we provide, we are often partnering with many different external entities. We pride ourselves on creating strong and lasting partnerships. But with any partnership, it takes work and thoughtfulness. We always try to make sure that both sides are getting what they need. At the end of the day, the most critical point is that the children and families we serve are thriving through the continuum of services we provide. Finding a rewarding career where you experience joy and get to use your creativity on a regular basis is very important – I’m happy to hear you’ve found that here at Seneca! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love coming to work every day!
Development Officer (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaJanuary 7, 2019
Seneca hires the best of the best. I truly feel privileged to work alongside the people Seneca hires. I've felt appreciated and valued as Seneca employee, something I rarely felt at my last organization. I'm thankful for ongoing training about mental health and pushing me to seek personal growth opportunities.
The pay is competitive to other nonprofit salaries and the benefits are amazing. I can't say enough good things about this company. I've referred multiple friends to work here.
I adore the children and families we get to serve at Seneca. Seneca truly is an expert in the field of mental health, foster care, and adoption. I love getting to share when people ask me about the organization I work for.
Pros
Flexible schedules, great staff, supportive environment, training opportunities, decent amount of paid time off, amazing cause
Cons
Lack of strategic planning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
January 10, 2019

It’s wonderful to hear that you are enjoying Seneca’s workplace culture, and taking advantage of our awesome referral program. Way to go! From your review, it’s clear how well you align with Seneca’s mission and values. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selfish Reasons to Work at Seneca
Grant Writer (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAJanuary 4, 2019
First and foremost on a selfish level, Seneca has been a wonderful employer to me. Starting in an entry-level role with little other work experience (and none in the non-profit/social services sector), I have learned a huge amount and had the opportunity to work closely with an interdisciplinary team of direct service providers (support counselors, clinicians, occupational therapists, etc) and administrative staff. This was the perfect position for me, given the chance it presented to get a sense for many different viable career path options. Informal interviews with co-workers for my first year on the job helped me to narrow my focus to the career path I am on now within Seneca. Every step of the way, Seneca has supported my professional growth, even hiring me into my dream job and providing a professional development scholarship to build my skills in that area.

The selfish reasons to work for Seneca are important for any prospective employee to know; the agency's mission to improve outcomes for children and families speaks for itself! Each day of work has a purpose.
Pros
Benefits, professional development opportunities, career advancement, mission and purpose
Cons
Flexibility required; not for someone looking for a routine 9-5 desk job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
January 10, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! It is wonderful to hear from employees who feel that Seneca has given them a place to grow professionally and develop their own path. Seneca employees are some of the most creative, mission-driven, and passionate people I’ve ever met. Thank you for being a part of the Seneca family! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth and Development
LEAD HEALTH INFORMATION SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CADecember 12, 2018
Seneca Family of Agencies provides genuine care and services to it's clients and offers a wonderful culture of growth and development for employees to develop as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
December 13, 2018

At Seneca, we always welcome feedback. Thank you for taking the time to provide yours, and for being a part of that wonderful culture that you speak of. Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I found my work family here at Seneca Family of Agencies!
Administrative Support (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAOctober 8, 2018
At Seneca you will work alongside bright and compassionate people. The support I received came from not only my supervisor, but also my peers. Office culture is dependent on your office/program, but no matter what program you land in, you can expect to find Seneca employees to be smart, caring and kind individuals.
Pros
Amazing coworkers, flexible schedule, room to grow and strong learning environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
October 9, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Here at Seneca, we welcome people that value diversity and exercise teamwork and collaboration. I’m thrilled to hear that you’re experiencing your colleagues as the smart, caring and kind individuals that our recruiters look for in prospective employees. Thank you for being a part of the Seneca family! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits & Fun Atmosphere
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atascadero, CASeptember 28, 2018
The most enjoyable part of this job is the fact that most days, it really feels like a family. At times it can be dysfunctional, but for the most part, it's a lot of fun. The benefits are incredible - 4 weeks paid vacation, full healthcare, and the opportunity for pay increases annually.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
October 1, 2018

It’s wonderful to hear that you have been having a great experience here at Seneca! We place incredible emphasis on making sure that we create a workplace that is inclusive, supportive and fun. Keep having a great time and thank you for all the incredible work you do. Tina Lehman - Program Director, SLO Clinic

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Collaborative and Supportive Work Environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CASeptember 19, 2018
I have never before worked at an organization (especially one this large) where the employees are so well vetted. The mission of this agency is quite apparent in the passion and dedication of its staff. From upper management to entry level positions, everyone is always willing to lend a helping hand.
No two days are alike, and at times the workload can seem unmanageable - but the ability to maintain open lines of communication and the willingness of others to provide support means no challenge is insurmountable.
The benefits available at Seneca are hands down the best (and most cost effective) benefits I have ever received in my professional career. Seneca obviously cares deeply about their staff, and that makes coming to work every day a joyful experience.
Pros
The culture of the organization; dedication of staff.
Cons
It's difficult for a nonprofit to offer competitive wages in the Bay Area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
September 21, 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I’m happy to hear that you’re experiencing this workplace as the supportive, joyful, dedicated, and mission-driven organization that Seneca strives to be. Thank you for being a part of the Seneca family! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seems good on paper...falls short in practice
Family Support Counselor (Former Employee) –  San Rafael, CASeptember 1, 2018
Worked here for over a year. Work place environment was a little too much like high school for my taste, however most people are there for the right reasons. Some flexibility with work schedules, some late nights (after 6pm) depending on families. A lot of meetings every week. At times can seem a bit disorganized. Definitely underpaid for the amount of work it takes to actually do a good job. The best part of the job is getting to work with the youth and their families.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
September 6, 2018

Seneca’s mission is to support youth and families through the most difficult times of their lives, and we’re proud to have an agency filled with mission-driven staff. We create positions that have flexible schedules intentionally so that we can serve children and families at the time of day that is most convenient for them. The community we serve is always shifting and it is important to shift to meet their needs. One example of this is evidenced by our intentional focus on creating diverse, equitable and inclusive work environments in Marin County. Thank you for your time with us and good luck in your future! Lauren Crutsinger - Executive Director of Solano, Marin & Sonoma Programs

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaAugust 31, 2018
My Seneca team makes coming to work every day fun, and I’ve always felt supported even during some of the more challenging or stressful times. If you’re looking for a supportive and rewarding workplace, Seneca is the place for you.
Pros
Great Culture, 4-5 weeks PTO, good benefits, lots of opportunities for growth.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
September 4, 2018

It’s wonderful to hear that you have been having a great experience here at Seneca! We place incredible emphasis on making sure that we create a workplace that is inclusive, supportive and fun. Keep having a great time and thank you for all the incredible work you do! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Want to know more about Seneca Family of Agencies?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a very good experience working for Seneca, I only wished it could have been a permanent postion
Triage Nurse (Former Employee) –  Oxnard, CAAugust 15, 2018
I was only employed by Seneca for a short time. I was employed by Nursecore as a contracted employee. I have only good things to say about Seneca, they provided good training and made their mission statement very clear and what they had as a goal for their employees and their patients. It was very rewarding for me as I had never worked with adolescents in crisis situations before. Coming from a background where I had no father (he died when I was 9) I could relate to the problems and situations that teens and pre-teens were going through and it made me more sympathetic to the problems that they face.
Pros
Help with situations that I was uncertain about
Cons
no one told me it was not a permanent position
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
August 17, 2018

We are glad to hear that you had such a positive experience working with our Ventura programs, which are one of Seneca's newest programs. We have contracted with NurseCore to help us ensure we have adequate nursing staff to support the youth we serve. We are sorry that there was a miscommunication regarding the term of employment, but would appreciate your feedback on how we could have been clearer in describing the term of your employment. If you are open to discussing, please reach out to me directly at paige_chan@senecacenter.org or 323-326-6287. We also encourage you to check out our job opportunities page and apply for nursing positions with our Ventura program when we are hiring. Thanks! Paige Chan, Executive Director of Southern California Programs

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Behavioral Interventionist (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAAugust 9, 2018
The staff is amazing! Management can be redundant, and top heavy.Each division has it's own unique feel and rules which can be frustrating to some staff.
Pros
Supportive, Inspiring youth
Cons
Stressful, rules are not followed consistantly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
August 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I agree, Seneca staff are some of the most dedicated and mission driven people that I’ve ever had the privilege of working with. Thank you for echoing our mission of supporting and inspiring youth and families through the most difficult times of their lives. Seneca is an organization that has enormous impact and a wide scope of services throughout California and Washington. In order to maintain consistency, we need to have a management team that works as one unit while also maintaining individuality within their programs. This allows us to continue to move forward as one group and also pivot as needed dependent on the needs of each program. Best of luck to you! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and Great Purpose
TRANSLATOR/ SUPPORT COUNSELOR/ COMPLIANCE TRAINER (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAAugust 2, 2018
Great motivators, really helping people

very stressful and hard on workers, just because you are working with client that is harder to work with. Overall it was a great experience.
Pros
care about workers
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
August 6, 2018

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us! While this work is undeniably difficult, it is wonderful to hear that you felt connected to your coworkers and as though there was a culture of caring. If there are any other thoughts you’d like to share to help inform Seneca’s work here in Seattle, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at lihi_rosenthal@senecacenter.org. Lihi Rosenthal - Executive Director, Washington State

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture meets mission meets excellence
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaAugust 1, 2018
Seneca has one of the strongest cultures of empathy, diversity, equity, and inclusion that I have ever seen. They believe in unconditional care and will not stop providing service to any child or family regardless of their situation. They walk the walk and talk the talk. I feel incredibly supported as a member of the greater team and am grateful for their desire to make this a great experience for all staff here. Seneca is one of those organizations where it's not rare to see people that have worked here for decades. It is now obvious to me, why.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
August 2, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and for being a part of the wonderful culture that you speak of. I’m proud to hear that you feel fully supported in doing whatever it takes to help the children and families that Seneca serves. Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to gain clinical experience
Therapeutic Behavioral Services Coach (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 30, 2018
If you are interested in working with children and families, Seneca is an amazing place to work! I learned immensely from working with my clients and my talented coworkers.
Pros
Supportive environment, emphasis on providing the best client care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
August 2, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I’m glad to hear that you were able to gain clinical experience and also build strong relationships with your coworkers during your time here. Good luck to you in your future! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Values for Community Support
Staff (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 16, 2018
This company offers great support for schools and communities.
A typical day includes working with staff to support students with mental health challenges or behavior challenges at a given school.
Management is poor and unorganized.
Workplace culture is unpredictable.
Hardest part of the job is lack of management skill set.
Most enjoyable part of the job is collaboration with school staff and other Seneca support staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
July 18, 2018

Thank you for your feedback! Our primary goal as an agency is to work in close partnership to support schools and communities through our lens of Unconditional Care. As an agency we provide ongoing training, professional development and support to all staff, including those in management positions. However, we always welcome feedback and are open to hearing ways that we can continue to improve our practices. If you’d be willing to have a call, I’d welcome an opportunity to hear more about your experience and how we might improve the overall experience. You can reach me at 206-900-5752. Carrie Russell, Clinical Director/Director of School Partnerships

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional Management
Case Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJune 29, 2018
After informing my manager that I was leaving the organization, they continued to criticize my work in a belittling way until my last day. Extremely unprofessional. In addition to that, there was very little communication between executive and leadership teams so admin staff were stuck with delivering bad news.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
July 9, 2018

I’m sorry to hear about your experience. Our administrative staff are an essential part of our agency. Their role in supporting our programs is valuable. When our team members feel supported it contributes to how we’re able to provide needed services to the communities we work in. I’d like to have an opportunity to hear more about your experience and how we can be more supportive to our team. You can reach me at 510.725-5727. Sandy Hobson, Quality Assurance Director

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pick your program wisely.
Health Information Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 4, 2018
Poor management at one program, really makes it difficult to enjoy your job when you have a manger who constantly brings you down. Moral is low, no follow through, absentee manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
June 6, 2018

I am sorry to hear of your experience in SF. I hope that we are always striving to improve our services for families and our support of our teams. I would love to hear more about ways in which we can strengthen our approach and my door is always open. I believe that when our staff feel successful and joyful in their jobs, it translates to better service for the families who are at the heart of our mission. Mark Nickell, Regional Executive Director

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bay Area, CAJune 2, 2018
Seneca is a great place to work because the people who work here are caring, compassionate, open, and understanding. They are able to be firm but kind. Seneca is a non-profit but you are still paid relatively well, and they offer great benefits. Your experience can differ greatly depending upon your job title. People in direct care have different stresses than those in admin or admin support roles, but everyone is valued. They understand that plans can change, and they can help you find another position within the agency if you no longer wish to work in your current role. There is also opportunity for growth and greater learning through training/classes within the agency. The environment can be stressful, but there are people with whom you can talk.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
June 4, 2018

It is always wonderful to hear directly from our staff! Having been with Seneca for almost a year, I have been able to witness firsthand what you are talking about. I agree that Seneca is a caring and compassionate agency that values each and every employee. Thank you for doing the work you do and for being a part of the Seneca family. Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start and learn!
Clinical Therapist, AMFT (Current Employee) –  Bay Area, CAMay 24, 2018
Amazing leadership at the site where I worked. I really appreciated the encouragement to bring your ideas to the forefront and collaborate with your coworkers. The therapist stipend also help support the learning and training experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
May 29, 2018

Thank you for your insights – we always encourage feedback from staff, and appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We pride ourselves in creating a collaborative workspace, and value the opinion of every member of our team. Thank you for the work you do each and every day! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Seneca Family of Agencies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 86 reviews
544
426
313
23
10

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

3.7Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight