Seneca Family of Agencies Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great agency, low pay
Health Information Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAMay 10, 2018
Honestly, this agency hires some of the greatest individuals. The work is heavy but the support and resources to help get you through are always available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
May 16, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review – it’s always great to receive feedback from our wonderful employees (like you!) that you describe above. Most importantly, thank you for supporting children and families through the most difficult times of their lives. Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Petaluma, CAApril 17, 2018
One of the best places to work. The management team is incredibly supportive and the community is fantastic. There are great benefits and heavy promotion for self-care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
April 19, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and for being a part of the great team you speak of! Lauren Crutsinger - Executive Director of Solano, Marin & Sonoma Programs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive, Caring and Collaborative
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, CAApril 13, 2018
Seneca Family of Agencies believes in a strengths-based approach to their relationship with clients as well as staff. The atmosphere is collaborative, positive and committed to excellence. Staff develop strong relationships within their teams and management is dedicated to maintaining a constructive work environment where everyone feels valued and recognized for their work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
April 18, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and for pointing out the culture we’ve built here in Solano County. Over the past two years we’ve been focusing on strengthening our work environment, creating strong collaborate teams, and being intentional about showing our appreciation. Our work isn’t possible without one another! I am happy to hear you felt valued and recognized for your work, and wish you the best of luck in the future. Lauren Crutsinger - Executive Director of Solano, Marin & Sonoma Programs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative and supportive environment!
Intervention Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington StateMarch 7, 2018
The work that Seneca is doing in Washington State is innovative and necessary! There is never a dull moment and flexibility is key as the agency keeps expanding. A typical day looks like greeting students in the morning, building community and relationships in the classrooms, teaching content to a wide-range of learning capabilities, supporting students during lunch, dance, recess, and any extracurricular activities, and collaborating with colleagues and the Leadership Team to prepare for continued advancement within the school.

There are a lot of challenging parts to the job, but that is what makes it so rewarding. I have worked in other school environments before, but nothing compares to the "whatever it takes" mindset that Seneca fosters to help support success in ALL of the youth and communities that we serve.

I am proud to be part of this empathetic, flexible, and hardworking team. There are always obstacles and challenges that need to be overcome, but people do it with a sense of compassion, determination, and a problem-solving approach.
Pros
PD opportunities, supportive coworkers
Cons
Inconsistent leadership, lack of some resources
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
March 15, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us so we can continue to learn and grow. Working with youth and families is never without its challenges, and it’s reaffirming to hear you are finding the support and inspiration to persevere even in the face of adversity! Lihi Rosenthal - Executive Director, Washington State

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Culture/Opportunity to develop skills
Mental Health Counselor (Former Employee) –  Bay Point, CAMarch 5, 2018
I was fortunate to work under a great supervisor. I grew a lot during my time at Seneca and that is one reason that I would recommend the job to others who are starting out in the mental health field. It is a great place to get your foot in the door and get experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
March 9, 2018

I appreciate you for taking the time to write a review. It’s always great to hear from former employees and I hope that you’ll continue to keep in touch. I’m happy to hear you felt supported by your supervisor, and were able to grow as an employee within your role. Best of luck in your career moving forward, and know that you’ll always have support here at Seneca. Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to make a difference!
Student Support Counselor (Current Employee) –  Washington StateMarch 1, 2018
This agency does what it takes to help children and families. Working within a school setting, it is always fast paced with a steep learning curve, however, everyone from managers to coworkers are motivated to help everyone succeed. A typical day comes with helping students in the classroom, playing in recess or dance, collaborating with the bigger team and navigating situations to help meet students needs. It can be challenging, but highly rewarding. No day looks the same and people go above and beyond to make sure staff get what they need, even when situations out of the norm occur. There are a lot of opportunities to move up within the agency and is a place I am constantly learning and growing at.
Pros
Collaboration is emphasized, a lot of room to grow and learn.
Cons
Being a "start up" program can be hard- but rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
March 5, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are excited to hear you are finding a career with Seneca rewarding and productively challenging! Lihi Rosenthal - Executive Director, Washington State

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 26, 2018
Seneca is a supportive work environment with dedicated and dynamic leadership. I had an extremely positive experience working here.

The two best things about working at Seneca are:
1) The Mission - Seneca works with the kids with some of the most complex needs in the state, providing much-needed services to some of the most challenging cases. Simultaneously, Seneca is running dynamic, evolving, creative programs focused on early intervention within local schools and communities. Being a part of the work that is done here is more than a job - it is a calling for most employees which brings us to...
2) The People - the employees hired here are remarkable individuals, bright, intelligent, kind, and compassionate. If you work here, you will love your coworkers.

Entry level pay is low compared to a corporate job, but equivalent if not more than other nonprofits in the area. Employees receive annual reviews & annual performance based raises.

Burnout is real, but there are supports and resources in place including access to counseling services and 4 weeks (4 weeks!!!!) of PTO that you are encouraged to take throughout the year.
Pros
The best coworkers, the best kiddos, and the best leadership out there.
Cons
See review.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
March 9, 2018

We are so happy you enjoyed your time at Seneca! While reading your review, it became very clear to me that you are also one of the bright, remarkable individuals that you speak of here. We spend a tremendous amount of time working with our staff to create a supportive, kind, inclusive and happy workplace and it’s great to hear that was your experience. We are always encouraging our people to follow their dreams, even if that takes them elsewhere, and we will always be here for any who want to come back and continue to support the Seneca mission! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great paid time off, training and advancement opportunities.
LICENSED SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Bay Area, CAFebruary 5, 2018
Best organization I’ve ever worked with. They “ practice what they preach” and are focused on honest, compassionate communication between coworkers, managers and families. Great paid time off, training and advancement opportunities.
Pros
Good PTO, benefits, salary is average.
Cons
On call crisis situations can be draining
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
March 14, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review, highlighting your experience and Seneca’s principles & benefits. I’m happy to hear you mention our innovative trainings and opportunities for advancement; providing professional development for our staff is incredibly important to us. Thank you for supporting our programs in the Bay Area! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Pay, High Stress, Great Growth Opportunity
Staff (Former Employee) –  Southern CaliforniaJanuary 13, 2018
Seneca is a great place to grow professionally. The fast pace keeps you on your toes. Staff are expected to perform exceptionally. Because the agency is a non-profit, pay is low.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
January 16, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. We continue to make it our highest priority to recognize our staff through competitive wages in the field, along with growth opportunities. Best of luck to you in your professional career. Josie Aye Roemhild - Executive Director, Orange County Programs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Analyst (Current Employee) –  San Leandro, CADecember 12, 2017
I love working at Seneca. I work in administration and my team mates are simply the best folks to work with. They are kind, collaborative and hard working. There is no drama and everyone is really team-oriented and caring toward one another. My boss really sets this example and furthermore recognizes my professional accomplishments and encourages me to grow and succeed within the company. As a working parent, I love that my boss (and Seneca overall) places such a high value on family and work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
December 21, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I also believe that Seneca employees are incredibly kind and fantastic individuals. It sounds like your work environment and connection with your team has created a wonderful office culture. It is great to hear that you feel recognized, and encouraged in your role – thanks for sharing! And we look forward to hearing about your continued success. Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing coworkers, face-paced rewarding work, unsupportive management team
Family Support Counselor (Former Employee) –  Santa Clara County, CANovember 21, 2017
Everything about this position and agency is great except for the management at Santa Clara County. Extremely rewarding work with amazing youth and families. Must desire to work in a fast-paced stressful environment, but the colleagues felt like family, and I always felt supported by my team members. I learned an immense amount - learned how to write treatment plans, other clinical documents, mental health notes, counseling skills, strengths-based/ trauma- informed approach... Lots of great training and professional development opportunities. If you get a supportive supervisor, the job is great, but the management turnover has been off the roofs since I started in 2015, and many of the managers have consistently been unhelpful, had poor boundaries, and involved in management politics/ drama which was a huge challenge for me in the work environment. There is a lack of transparency between management and direct care staff and oftentimes decisions were made by management that directly impacted direct care staff negatively and we were not provided with rationale or opportunities to have our feedback heard. They talk a lot about being open to feedback but it definitely seemed more talk and less a reality of the management team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
January 30, 2018

Thank you for your critical input regarding the managers in Santa Clara County programs. As a manager, I am grateful when someone offers critical feedback so that I (and we) can continue to improve and grow. I also agree that the colleagues here at Seneca are what make this such a special place to do this complex work. Thanks again for these reflections on your experience here. Employee reviews are a critical component in our effort to maintain a stance of continuous quality improvement. Mark Nickell • Regional Executive Director, Santa Clara County

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
Mental Health Counselor (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CANovember 1, 2017
I absolutely love my job. There is nothing I would change about it, except for the fact that I wish there were more sites in the San Joaquin Valley so I could be closer to home!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
November 16, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience – I always love hearing feedback from staff! I’m glad to hear that you are happy in your role, and I will strive to continue to provide you with anything you might need to continue to do so. Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and inspiring place to work
MFT Registered Intern, Therapist (Former Employee) –  Orange County, CAOctober 26, 2017
My previous work at Seneca Family of Agencies provided me with not only comprehensive and complex clinical training, but with the opportunity to work in a variety of arenas (i.e. individual and family face to face sessions with ages 3-20, facilitating groups including positive discipline and pathways to permanence, participating in family team meetings, transition planning for foster youth, etc.). My experience in advocating for my clients in foster care has provided me the experience of advancing my communication and team building skills. Management and staff are incredibly supportive and caring. Could not have asked for a better work environment.
Pros
Pto
Cons
Medi-cal documentation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
November 16, 2017

I would like to give a heartfelt thank you for taking the time to write this review! I am so glad that you felt supported during your time at Seneca, and especially pleased to hear that your time here helped you to develop strong clinical and professional development skills. I wish you the very best of luck in your future! Josie Roemhild - Executive Director, Orange County Programs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rigorous but amazing place to work
Non-Public School Clinician (Former Employee) –  Concord, CAOctober 10, 2017
Worked with a unique population of students to provide mental health counseling. Collaborated with the family, educational staff as well as community partners to ensure all around support for the clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
October 12, 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. This work is often as challenging as it is rewarding. We are so grateful for the work you did and your continued support of our community. Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling work and a great place to grow
Administrative Support (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CASeptember 14, 2017
Freedom to propose new ideas/express creativity. Management team is very supportive and encourages personal growth. Flexibility to transfer around between departments to find the best job fit for you.
Pros
Career growth, flexibility, great values, good leadership
Cons
Heavy workload but they work with you to help find a better balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
October 2, 2017

Thank you for your insights – we always encourage feedback from staff, and appreciate you taking the time to write this review. At Seneca, we encourage interdepartmental growth to help our employees work toward their passions. We believe that good leadership starts with supporting our staff to be the best that they can be. Thank you for sharing your experience! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough work but rewarding
Transition Age Youth Clinician (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, CAJuly 31, 2017
A great place to start. The mission is basically serve all who welcome help. Opportunity for clinical knowledge growth if you have the time. Fast paced and heavy clinical documentation. Very rewarding when clients make progress. It does exist even with the odds are against you. I'm sure they would absolutely pay more if they could, but pay is low for the amount of work done. Highly recommended if you are ready for a challenge in making a difference.
Pros
Co-workers are a team like no other, super supportive of each other. The mission of Seneca is one of a kind.
Cons
Work-life balance is greatest challenge. Can lead to very fast burn out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
September 11, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience and for supporting Seneca’s mission. We are currently in the process of significantly reducing clinical documentation, have restructured the program to create more manageable caseloads, and strengthened our on-site training and mentorship opportunities. We also have an increased focus on supporting staff to intentionally balance their work and personal lives. As a Management Team, we are working hard to recognize and address signs of burnout early and effectively. By staying attuned to these signs, we have adapted to create a strong, well-connected, and rewarding office culture that results in an increased ability for us to balance the demands of the work we do . Thank you for joining us to serve the youth and families in our community and for helping us learn along the way. Lauren Crutsinger - Regional Director, Solano & Marin Programs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult yet rewarding work with some of the best people you'll ever meet
Family Support Counselor (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAJuly 23, 2017
This job requires a dedicated, open, and honest person. The work we do with youth is incredibly difficult and emotional. The work culture is very nurturing and rewarding. Everything about this company is strengths-based and aims to educate and train staff to the best of their ability. This is an amazing organization for someone who is just starting their career in mental health as it offers a platform to really develop your own skillset.

As any company - there is always room for growth but Seneca really strives to continue growing, changing, and improving.
Pros
Dedication to self-care, recent increase in compensation, great benefits
Cons
Non-profit salary, staff turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
August 8, 2017

Thank you for sharing! I’m so happy to hear that you have found the culture, training and professional development opportunities beneficial. I agree that turnover can be impactful on staff, and improving retention is one of our top priorities. Recent salary increases have had a positive influence and we are dedicated to finding more ways to improve our retention. Puja Satwani - Executive Director, Santa Clara County

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Health Information Specialist (Current Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAJuly 18, 2017
Management is very supportive of work/life balance. My schedule is pretty flexible and supervisors do not micromanage. Because our office is not near the corporate office, opportunities for growth are limited. Also, due to being funded by a county contract, the pay scale is not what I wish it was.
Workplace culture is wonderful
Pros
flexibility, lack of micromanagement, great support from management
Cons
limited opportunities for growth in my deparment, pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
July 31, 2017

Thank you for being a part of our team and for adding your positivity to our work culture. I’m glad to hear you feel support, yet also autonomy in your role! One priority of mine is to continue to ensure that all employees in Southern California experience opportunities for professional growth and development. I would enjoy sharing these opportunities with you, and also how we can enhance your learning experience in your current position. Josie Roemhild, Executive Director of Southern CA Programs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best culture you'll find
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  San Leandro, CAJuly 10, 2017
I worked at Seneca for almost two years and it was incredible. If you want to have an impact, create lasting friendships with your coworkers, and genuinely be excited to go to work everyday, Seneca is the place to be. Employees are motivated, managers are leaders, and the culture is warm, fun and engaging.
Pros
Lots of training, great management, cool culture
Cons
Pay is what you'd expect for a non-profit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
July 18, 2017

It’s so great to hear from one of our awesome recruiters. So thrilled to know that your time with us was not only engaging and fun, but you were able to move forward professionally. I know that you took that cool culture with you to your new workplace, and they are lucky to have you. Keep connected to your Seneca family! Lori Slominski, Director of Human Resources

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Leandro, CAJune 7, 2017
I really enjoyed working at Seneca Family of Agencies. Everyone is so dedicated to the cause, and it is refreshing to see people working so hard towards something that they believe in. At Seneca, I felt empowered as an employee. My manager was amazing, and she entrusted me with projects that helped me grow as an employee. I was also able to attend seminars for professional development. My manager and coworkers were respectful and hard-working. Even though the culture was fast-paced, I rarely felt overwhelmed because I had the support of my coworkers and manager.
Pros
good professional development opportunities, good work-life balance
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
June 14, 2017

I appreciate you taking the time to write this review – thanks for the feedback. This work can be fast paced and I’m glad to hear that you felt supported and empowered during your time here. I would agree that we get to work with the most incredible, hardworking, mission-driven individuals that this field has to offer!

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Seneca Family of Agencies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 54 reviews
530
413
310
21
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.3Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.6

3.4Personal Development

4.0Career Opportunities

3.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight