Seneca Family of Agencies Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seems good on paper...falls short in practice
Family Support Counselor (Former Employee) –  San Rafael, CASeptember 1, 2018
Worked here for over a year. Work place environment was a little too much like high school for my taste, however most people are there for the right reasons. Some flexibility with work schedules, some late nights (after 6pm) depending on families. A lot of meetings every week. At times can seem a bit disorganized. Definitely underpaid for the amount of work it takes to actually do a good job. The best part of the job is getting to work with the youth and their families.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
September 6, 2018

Seneca’s mission is to support youth and families through the most difficult times of their lives, and we’re proud to have an agency filled with mission-driven staff. We create positions that have flexible schedules intentionally so that we can serve children and families at the time of day that is most convenient for them. The community we serve is always shifting and it is important to shift to meet their needs. One example of this is evidenced by our intentional focus on creating diverse, equitable and inclusive work environments in Marin County. Thank you for your time with us and good luck in your future! Lauren Crutsinger - Executive Director of Solano, Marin & Sonoma Programs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaAugust 31, 2018
My Seneca team makes coming to work every day fun, and I’ve always felt supported even during some of the more challenging or stressful times. If you’re looking for a supportive and rewarding workplace, Seneca is the place for you.
Pros
Great Culture, 4-5 weeks PTO, good benefits, lots of opportunities for growth.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
September 4, 2018

It’s wonderful to hear that you have been having a great experience here at Seneca! We place incredible emphasis on making sure that we create a workplace that is inclusive, supportive and fun. Keep having a great time and thank you for all the incredible work you do! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a very good experience working for Seneca, I only wished it could have been a permanent postion
Triage Nurse (Former Employee) –  Oxnard, CAAugust 15, 2018
I was only employed by Seneca for a short time. I was employed by Nursecore as a contracted employee. I have only good things to say about Seneca, they provided good training and made their mission statement very clear and what they had as a goal for their employees and their patients. It was very rewarding for me as I had never worked with adolescents in crisis situations before. Coming from a background where I had no father (he died when I was 9) I could relate to the problems and situations that teens and pre-teens were going through and it made me more sympathetic to the problems that they face.
Pros
Help with situations that I was uncertain about
Cons
no one told me it was not a permanent position
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
August 17, 2018

We are glad to hear that you had such a positive experience working with our Ventura programs, which are one of Seneca's newest programs. We have contracted with NurseCore to help us ensure we have adequate nursing staff to support the youth we serve. We are sorry that there was a miscommunication regarding the term of employment, but would appreciate your feedback on how we could have been clearer in describing the term of your employment. If you are open to discussing, please reach out to me directly at paige_chan@senecacenter.org or 323-326-6287. We also encourage you to check out our job opportunities page and apply for nursing positions with our Ventura program when we are hiring. Thanks! Paige Chan, Executive Director of Southern California Programs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Behavioral Interventionist (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAAugust 9, 2018
The staff is amazing! Management can be redundant, and top heavy.Each division has it's own unique feel and rules which can be frustrating to some staff.
Pros
Supportive, Inspiring youth
Cons
Stressful, rules are not followed consistantly
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
August 13, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I agree, Seneca staff are some of the most dedicated and mission driven people that I’ve ever had the privilege of working with. Thank you for echoing our mission of supporting and inspiring youth and families through the most difficult times of their lives. Seneca is an organization that has enormous impact and a wide scope of services throughout California and Washington. In order to maintain consistency, we need to have a management team that works as one unit while also maintaining individuality within their programs. This allows us to continue to move forward as one group and also pivot as needed dependent on the needs of each program. Best of luck to you! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and Great Purpose
TRANSLATOR/ SUPPORT COUNSELOR/ COMPLIANCE TRAINER (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAAugust 2, 2018
Great motivators, really helping people

very stressful and hard on workers, just because you are working with client that is harder to work with. Overall it was a great experience.
Pros
care about workers
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
August 6, 2018

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us! While this work is undeniably difficult, it is wonderful to hear that you felt connected to your coworkers and as though there was a culture of caring. If there are any other thoughts you’d like to share to help inform Seneca’s work here in Seattle, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at lihi_rosenthal@senecacenter.org. Lihi Rosenthal - Executive Director, Washington State

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture meets mission meets excellence
Anonymous (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaAugust 1, 2018
Seneca has one of the strongest cultures of empathy, diversity, equity, and inclusion that I have ever seen. They believe in unconditional care and will not stop providing service to any child or family regardless of their situation. They walk the walk and talk the talk. I feel incredibly supported as a member of the greater team and am grateful for their desire to make this a great experience for all staff here. Seneca is one of those organizations where it's not rare to see people that have worked here for decades. It is now obvious to me, why.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
August 2, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and for being a part of the wonderful culture that you speak of. I’m proud to hear that you feel fully supported in doing whatever it takes to help the children and families that Seneca serves. Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to gain clinical experience
Therapeutic Behavioral Services Coach (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 30, 2018
If you are interested in working with children and families, Seneca is an amazing place to work! I learned immensely from working with my clients and my talented coworkers.
Pros
Supportive environment, emphasis on providing the best client care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
August 2, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I’m glad to hear that you were able to gain clinical experience and also build strong relationships with your coworkers during your time here. Good luck to you in your future! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Values for Community Support
Staff (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 16, 2018
This company offers great support for schools and communities.
A typical day includes working with staff to support students with mental health challenges or behavior challenges at a given school.
Management is poor and unorganized.
Workplace culture is unpredictable.
Hardest part of the job is lack of management skill set.
Most enjoyable part of the job is collaboration with school staff and other Seneca support staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
July 18, 2018

Thank you for your feedback! Our primary goal as an agency is to work in close partnership to support schools and communities through our lens of Unconditional Care. As an agency we provide ongoing training, professional development and support to all staff, including those in management positions. However, we always welcome feedback and are open to hearing ways that we can continue to improve our practices. If you’d be willing to have a call, I’d welcome an opportunity to hear more about your experience and how we might improve the overall experience. You can reach me at 206-900-5752. Carrie Russell, Clinical Director/Director of School Partnerships

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional Management
Case Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAJune 29, 2018
After informing my manager that I was leaving the organization, they continued to criticize my work in a belittling way until my last day. Extremely unprofessional. In addition to that, there was very little communication between executive and leadership teams so admin staff were stuck with delivering bad news.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
July 9, 2018

I’m sorry to hear about your experience. Our administrative staff are an essential part of our agency. Their role in supporting our programs is valuable. When our team members feel supported it contributes to how we’re able to provide needed services to the communities we work in. I’d like to have an opportunity to hear more about your experience and how we can be more supportive to our team. You can reach me at 510.725-5727. Sandy Hobson, Quality Assurance Director

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pick your program wisely.
Health Information Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 4, 2018
Poor management at one program, really makes it difficult to enjoy your job when you have a manger who constantly brings you down. Moral is low, no follow through, absentee manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
June 6, 2018

I am sorry to hear of your experience in SF. I hope that we are always striving to improve our services for families and our support of our teams. I would love to hear more about ways in which we can strengthen our approach and my door is always open. I believe that when our staff feel successful and joyful in their jobs, it translates to better service for the families who are at the heart of our mission. Mark Nickell, Regional Executive Director

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bay Area, CAJune 2, 2018
Seneca is a great place to work because the people who work here are caring, compassionate, open, and understanding. They are able to be firm but kind. Seneca is a non-profit but you are still paid relatively well, and they offer great benefits. Your experience can differ greatly depending upon your job title. People in direct care have different stresses than those in admin or admin support roles, but everyone is valued. They understand that plans can change, and they can help you find another position within the agency if you no longer wish to work in your current role. There is also opportunity for growth and greater learning through training/classes within the agency. The environment can be stressful, but there are people with whom you can talk.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
June 4, 2018

It is always wonderful to hear directly from our staff! Having been with Seneca for almost a year, I have been able to witness firsthand what you are talking about. I agree that Seneca is a caring and compassionate agency that values each and every employee. Thank you for doing the work you do and for being a part of the Seneca family. Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start and learn!
Clinical Therapist, AMFT (Current Employee) –  Bay Area, CAMay 24, 2018
Amazing leadership at the site where I worked. I really appreciated the encouragement to bring your ideas to the forefront and collaborate with your coworkers. The therapist stipend also help support the learning and training experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
May 29, 2018

Thank you for your insights – we always encourage feedback from staff, and appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We pride ourselves in creating a collaborative workspace, and value the opinion of every member of our team. Thank you for the work you do each and every day! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An agency driven by values, sustained by incredible staff.
Executive Director/Administrator (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CAMay 11, 2018
As a long-term employee (17 years), I have found my home at Seneca. I chose Seneca because I wanted to work for an organization with strong values, clear vision and effective services; and I stayed because of the kids, their families and my colleagues. The work is challenging, the clients are inspiring, and the staff are unconditionally committed. Having moved between several positions in direct services and then to administration, Seneca has also proved to value my professional development goals by supporting external trainings, grad school scholarships, reimbursing for licensure costs, helping with professional certifications, and creating ample opportunity for promotion and advancement.

I came to Seneca looking for experience in the field before grad school; what I found was a career that I hope to never leave.
Pros
The values, treatment approach, staff and clients.
Cons
The value of the work the staff do can't be overstated, and the pay can't possibly reflect its impact.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
May 16, 2018

We’re so happy to hear you’ve found your home here at Seneca. It is wonderful that you’ve experienced the incredible culture that has been created amongst the staff, and also that your professional development included movement throughout our many programs. This is something we value as an agency, as we believe it makes for a stronger more comprehensive understanding of what it is that we do. Without loyal and decided staff such as yourself, we wouldn’t be the agency that we are today. Thank you for being you, and for being a Senecan.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great agency, low pay
Health Information Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAMay 10, 2018
Honestly, this agency hires some of the greatest individuals. The work is heavy but the support and resources to help get you through are always available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
May 16, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review – it’s always great to receive feedback from our wonderful employees (like you!) that you describe above. Most importantly, thank you for supporting children and families through the most difficult times of their lives. Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Petaluma, CAApril 17, 2018
One of the best places to work. The management team is incredibly supportive and the community is fantastic. There are great benefits and heavy promotion for self-care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
April 19, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and for being a part of the great team you speak of! Lauren Crutsinger - Executive Director of Solano, Marin & Sonoma Programs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive, Caring and Collaborative
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, CAApril 13, 2018
Seneca Family of Agencies believes in a strengths-based approach to their relationship with clients as well as staff. The atmosphere is collaborative, positive and committed to excellence. Staff develop strong relationships within their teams and management is dedicated to maintaining a constructive work environment where everyone feels valued and recognized for their work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
April 18, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and for pointing out the culture we’ve built here in Solano County. Over the past two years we’ve been focusing on strengthening our work environment, creating strong collaborate teams, and being intentional about showing our appreciation. Our work isn’t possible without one another! I am happy to hear you felt valued and recognized for your work, and wish you the best of luck in the future. Lauren Crutsinger - Executive Director of Solano, Marin & Sonoma Programs

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative and supportive environment!
Intervention Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington StateMarch 7, 2018
The work that Seneca is doing in Washington State is innovative and necessary! There is never a dull moment and flexibility is key as the agency keeps expanding. A typical day looks like greeting students in the morning, building community and relationships in the classrooms, teaching content to a wide-range of learning capabilities, supporting students during lunch, dance, recess, and any extracurricular activities, and collaborating with colleagues and the Leadership Team to prepare for continued advancement within the school.

There are a lot of challenging parts to the job, but that is what makes it so rewarding. I have worked in other school environments before, but nothing compares to the "whatever it takes" mindset that Seneca fosters to help support success in ALL of the youth and communities that we serve.

I am proud to be part of this empathetic, flexible, and hardworking team. There are always obstacles and challenges that need to be overcome, but people do it with a sense of compassion, determination, and a problem-solving approach.
Pros
PD opportunities, supportive coworkers
Cons
Inconsistent leadership, lack of some resources
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
March 15, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us so we can continue to learn and grow. Working with youth and families is never without its challenges, and it’s reaffirming to hear you are finding the support and inspiration to persevere even in the face of adversity! Lihi Rosenthal - Executive Director, Washington State

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Culture/Opportunity to develop skills
Mental Health Counselor (Former Employee) –  Bay Point, CAMarch 5, 2018
I was fortunate to work under a great supervisor. I grew a lot during my time at Seneca and that is one reason that I would recommend the job to others who are starting out in the mental health field. It is a great place to get your foot in the door and get experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
March 9, 2018

I appreciate you for taking the time to write a review. It’s always great to hear from former employees and I hope that you’ll continue to keep in touch. I’m happy to hear you felt supported by your supervisor, and were able to grow as an employee within your role. Best of luck in your career moving forward, and know that you’ll always have support here at Seneca. Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to make a difference!
Student Support Counselor (Current Employee) –  Washington StateMarch 1, 2018
This agency does what it takes to help children and families. Working within a school setting, it is always fast paced with a steep learning curve, however, everyone from managers to coworkers are motivated to help everyone succeed. A typical day comes with helping students in the classroom, playing in recess or dance, collaborating with the bigger team and navigating situations to help meet students needs. It can be challenging, but highly rewarding. No day looks the same and people go above and beyond to make sure staff get what they need, even when situations out of the norm occur. There are a lot of opportunities to move up within the agency and is a place I am constantly learning and growing at.
Pros
Collaboration is emphasized, a lot of room to grow and learn.
Cons
Being a "start up" program can be hard- but rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
March 5, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are excited to hear you are finding a career with Seneca rewarding and productively challenging! Lihi Rosenthal - Executive Director, Washington State

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAFebruary 26, 2018
Seneca is a supportive work environment with dedicated and dynamic leadership. I had an extremely positive experience working here.

The two best things about working at Seneca are:
1) The Mission - Seneca works with the kids with some of the most complex needs in the state, providing much-needed services to some of the most challenging cases. Simultaneously, Seneca is running dynamic, evolving, creative programs focused on early intervention within local schools and communities. Being a part of the work that is done here is more than a job - it is a calling for most employees which brings us to...
2) The People - the employees hired here are remarkable individuals, bright, intelligent, kind, and compassionate. If you work here, you will love your coworkers.

Entry level pay is low compared to a corporate job, but equivalent if not more than other nonprofits in the area. Employees receive annual reviews & annual performance based raises.

Burnout is real, but there are supports and resources in place including access to counseling services and 4 weeks (4 weeks!!!!) of PTO that you are encouraged to take throughout the year.
Pros
The best coworkers, the best kiddos, and the best leadership out there.
Cons
See review.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Seneca Family of Agencies
March 9, 2018

We are so happy you enjoyed your time at Seneca! While reading your review, it became very clear to me that you are also one of the bright, remarkable individuals that you speak of here. We spend a tremendous amount of time working with our staff to create a supportive, kind, inclusive and happy workplace and it’s great to hear that was your experience. We are always encouraging our people to follow their dreams, even if that takes them elsewhere, and we will always be here for any who want to come back and continue to support the Seneca mission! Nathaniel Foster, Chief Advancement Officer

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Seneca Family of Agencies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 66 reviews
536
415
313
22
10

See reviews about

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.6

3.4Personal Development

4.0Career Opportunities

3.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight