Sertoma Centre Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Intern (Former Employee) –  Matteson, ILMay 23, 2018
Just don't work here. It's not like how the description or many of the other reviews are saying. Clients aren't treated properly. The management have their picks of employees who they care about more than others.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to name
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Qmhp
QMHP (Former Employee) –  Matteson, ILApril 19, 2018
Great department. Great team work culture; job is flexible; a lot of learning and development opportunities. I liked my supervisor and team and I like to see my clients be successful. Room for advancement.
Pros
A lot of paid time off between PTO and Holidays; also flexible hours
Cons
No short term disability
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sertoma is a great place to work at.
H.R. Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Alsip, ILMarch 17, 2018
My typical day consists of answering phones
I was able to take various classes.
Management was good.
Sertoma is a much family oriented enviornment
.
Pros
if you ever needed a question answered someone was always there.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t do it!
QMHP (Former Employee) –  Matteson, ILMarch 17, 2018
Do not apply here!!!! Can’t get much worst than cmhc! There is a high turnover here for a reason!!! Dysfunctional, drama filled, unprofessional and catty!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling and tough at same time
Special Events Manager (Current Employee) –  Alsip, ILFebruary 26, 2018
It's great working at a place where so many people care about the consumers and their welfare. Our DSPs are phenomenal and put their heart into their jobs. The only downfall is having a lower salary. Since we are a nonprofit it is difficult to pay people what they are worth.
Pros
Caring environment
Cons
lower pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People--Great Services
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Alsip, ILFebruary 20, 2018
The people at Sertoma are great to work with and committed to providing the best consumer services. Programs are always looking at ways to diversify and make current programs better.

While the work is challenging at times, we still make time to have fun.
Pros
Fun activities, friendly people, pro-active staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful work with great staff
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Alsip, ILFebruary 16, 2018
I am currently employed with Sertoma. Sertoma is a good stable agency with great long term staff, and meaningful work with consumers. Pros: Staff are dedicated to the mission and philosophy of the agency. Staff have been here for a long time, some upwards of 35 years. The staff genuinely care about the consumers and have their best interest at heart. Good supervisors and directors. The Cons: Sometimes there is no communication between departments which creates a stressful work enviornment. Overall this is a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong mission and supportive family of staff, donors, volunteers, families
Director of Development (Current Employee) –  4343 West 123rd St, Alsip, IL 60803February 14, 2018
Sertoma Centre has a strong mission to assist people with disabilities in living self-sufficient lives as contributing members of their communities. The mission is very evident in the culture of the organization as all work collaboratively with a large group of volunteers, donors, staff and family members. All share a strong commitment to helping those served to help themselves and live self-sufficient lives. It is just a great place to work, and at the end of the day you feel you have really done something that has a tremendous amount of value and purpose.
Pros
Hours, dedicated staff, good benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sertmona is a good company
Service Facilitator (Current Employee) –  Alsip, ILFebruary 14, 2018
Large organization with multiple departments. Room to develop and grow; internal transfer opportunities and internal promotion opportunities. Great culture of team work. Good feeling to work with individuals to strengthen their independence and help them in a community setting.
Pros
Casual work environment
Cons
Can be challenging at times but this is when you learn the most
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great agency to work for. Offers flexibility and encourages growth.
Programming staff (Current Employee) –  Alsip, ILFebruary 13, 2018
Great place to work with others who share passion for our agency's mission. I have learned a lot from co workers and mentors.
I feel I can freely share my ideas with program leadership at the agency.
Staff is invested in serving our consumers and dedicated to continued growth.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
DSP (Direct Support Professional) (Current Employee) –  Alsip, ILJanuary 3, 2018
I work as a DSP and I enjoy assisting individuals achieve success. It is a great feeling to help others. The consumers are friendly and have unique personalities. They enjoy interacting with staff and the staff enjoy them. They brighten your day.
Pros
Casual work environment.
Cons
Every once in a while things can get intense.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to Gain Experience in the Mental Health Field
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Matteson, ILDecember 20, 2017
All weekends off and a great work schedule. Competitive wages for a non profit. All of the supervisors are very informative. I have leaned a lot about working with the MI population.
Pros
Higher paid than other companies, great work hours
Cons
Can be stressful career without proper self care
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply at sertoma!
A Discruntle Employee (Former Employee) –  IllinoisDecember 4, 2017
Sertoma Centre provides positions that are underpaid! The Mangement Team lack integrity, tact, education and skill. This is an environment where everyone is looking for someone to blame. There is ZERO accountability within the entire organization. The CEO has NO Idea what goes on in the company! Save yourself the stress and do not step foot in any Sertoma facility!
Pros
Unconcerned Supervisors
Cons
Unconcerned Supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dsp
DSP (Direct Support Professional) (Former Employee) –  Alsip, ILNovember 13, 2017
I work at Sertoma for 6 years. I enjoyed working with the individuals. I assist with daily living skills, money management and community outings and activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sertoma is a good and fast paced work field.
H. R. Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Alsip IL,60803October 14, 2017
Sertoma was a great place to work.It gave me the tools and companionship from others to move forward..Sertoma provided a clean and sanitary environment,
Pros
Friendly place to be at
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good
DSP (Direct Support Professional) (Former Employee) –  Alsip, ILOctober 9, 2017
Management is very unprofessional, ignorant, rude, and so is other staff, not a good place to work, but if you do work there, use as a stepping stone.

The pay is a joke, couldn't wait to get out of there.
Pros
A job
Cons
Pay rate and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  IllinoisFebruary 14, 2017
A day consists of being a working coordinator, supervising the staff, and making sure the buildings and grounds are up to standard, The company is very professional, understanding and holds true to its mission & values. The most enjoyable part of the job is the interaction and assisting the patrons.
Pros
Paid lunches & breaks
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff
DSP (Direct Support Professional) (Current Employee) –  AlsipJuly 10, 2016
Its a great place to work but the pay sucks there the management should be more friendlier towards staff and consumers. Some are afraid of the population we service then others feel their titles allows them to look down on the little man that does the hands on day to day operations
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work not a good place to work
Transportation driver (Current Employee) –  Algonquin, ILJuly 7, 2016
No hours,no benefits, no appreciation for your work what so ever this job is only for someone who is retired no room to grow
Pros
Free activities
Cons
Alot of down time no hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start in mental health field.
Mental health worker (Former Employee) –  Matteson, ILDecember 31, 2015
Sertoma Centre Inc is a good place to start in the mental health field. They offer benefits to their employees who work full time.
Pros
Diverse experiences
Cons
Taking work home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sertoma Centre. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 30 reviews
56
411
35
23
15

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture