Service Employees International Union Employee Reviews

Found 63 reviews matching the search See all 64 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with an worthwhile mission.
Part-time Policy Analyst and Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 1, 2018
A great place to work. The union has a great mission that is worth striving for. If working towards a goal bigger than yourself sounds appealing to you, then this is the place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last minute work with no communication and very poor work environment
Sr. General Mailroom Clerk (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 30, 2018
A regular day is slow paced until the late afternoon then everyone is trying to rush out at the same time. Hardest part is being there everyday. Most enjoyable part is the weekend because it gives me two days without dealing with those people.
Pros
Most Holidays off
Cons
Fellow employees who really don't want to work just complain about everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunities to improve the lives of members
Community Organizer (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJuly 25, 2018
Meaningful work helping members obtain job training, counseling and other opportunities. Management at this particular local was inept and showed favoritism to friends and relatives instead of basing judgment on job performance.
Pros
Good mission statement
Cons
Lot of uncompensated time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private employment
Community Programs Intern (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTJuly 15, 2018
I was employed by a private employer, so this review is irrelevant. Unfortunately, I have no choice but to write the review, and it has to be 150 characters.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
COMMUNITY ORGANIZER (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 24, 2018
Very good opportunity to help the community around you. Meeting people and hearing their stories was very inspiring. It easily drove the mobile meetings we had and really showed everyone that joined in, what a community that comes together could accomplish.
Pros
Excellent leader opportunity
Cons
Lots of driving in Tx heat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work,
Administrative Organizer (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAMay 17, 2018
Challenging work changing daily and opportunity to train workers and interface with employers, The work is challenging due to the large geographic area of Pennsylvania. Watching people grow is the most enjoyable part of the work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Supervisor
External Union Organizer (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 28, 2018
On of the best supervisor in the company,
• Event planner and promote local meetings
• Experience in community mobilization and training
• Explain how people can get involved
• Archive notes from group meeting
• Translation of written materials or spoken interpretation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Organizer (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 14, 2018
SEIU was a non-traditional type of job. You traveled extensively and met lots of people. The organization is built on helping people improve their lively hood by empowering them to take a stand for that cause.
Pros
Paid well, benefits, diversity
Cons
Could be stressful, not traditional hours so hard to plan around
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advance place to work educating members
Organizer (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIApril 5, 2018
It very busy, i leared the different law of the union. Everyone worked together. it's a very deverse enviorment, the hardest part about the job was completing a task at the end of the day, the most fun part of the job was seeing the suprised look on the members face when learning new information.
Pros
President always treat staff to lunch
Cons
Long breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Career Counselor/Implementation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 19, 2018
Great opportunity to provide career counseling to healthcare workers who are eager to succeed and advance in their careers. It is a rewarding place to work for but the work expectations are high and its difficult to produce the amount desired
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work!!!!!
Full-time Community Organizer (Former Employee) –  MilwaukeeMarch 12, 2018
A good place to work, it's a great organization helping the disenfranchised and marginalized population in Milwaukee county,The organization is doing positive work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Accounts Payable Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 15, 2018
For the most part, SEIU is an excellent place of employment.
Excellent salary and benefits.
It is a very political organization, so not being a political person, I tried to stay out of the politics of the organization and also of the local representing the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working enviorment
Administrative assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 23, 2018
I was an intern who only worked a maximum of 2 hours a day so there isnt much i did. I filed paperwork and performed Data Entry for the paperwork I filed. It was a great internship and it helped me build up the workplace confidence I have today
Pros
short hours
Cons
no breaks, no pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
OurDC Field Director/Action Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 19, 2018
Good place to work. Good cause to fight for justice on the workplace. Awesome benefits and pay even for domestic partners. LGBQT friendly. Management needs more mangerial training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there
Organizer in Training (Former Employee) –  Visalia, CANovember 16, 2017
I want to go back to work for them soon, I enjoyed the travel and being able to help my fellow worker.
I enjoyed meeting new people and knowing that I made a difference in thier lives.
Pros
Great benefits and pay, travel opportunities
Cons
Long hours and time awsy from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Confidential Secretary (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 6, 2017
Excellent atmosphere to work in. Great benefits. Great co-workers. Became an expert in expense reimbursement and arranging traveling using the Concur System
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting opportunity
Clerk/ Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 19, 2017
It was a good work environment. Friendly coworkers. Knowledgeable management. It was really easy to find my place within the company. I would definitely consider going back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When I worked there, we were all family.
Senior Secretary (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 20, 2017
Great place to work overall! The staff at the union believe in equality in every sense of the word. We walked and fought for people that couldn't fight for themselves. This company taught me more than any job I've ever worked. I enjoyed the family atmosphere. The old saying that there's strength in number was a great saying for this company. We were one of the largest unions in the US and we didn't mind getting our hands dirty for a good cause.
Pros
Excellent pay, hours, and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits but lack of advancement
Representative (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WASeptember 18, 2017
- great benefits for employees and family but lack of advancement
- great vacation/holiday/sick leave/paternity leave
- stressful at times especially on a Monday and the day after holiday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 6, 2017
Employees are passionate about their duties and take the time to teach new comers everything they need to know to become further the cause of the union and represent workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Service Employees International Union. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 64 reviews
523
422
312
24
13

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

3.5InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

3.9Career Opportunities

4.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight