ServiceMaster Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 553 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5159
4164
3131
239
160
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 474 reviews matching the search See all 553 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad starting point
DIRECTOR OF HOUSEKEEPING & LAUNDRY (Current Employee) –  The Rio at Cabezon in Rio RanchoApril 19, 2018
Very supportive staff, but, contract signed at beginning of your employment was changed all the time with no compensation. They provide excellent guidelines and training for the managers, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable and they do not mind answering any questions you have. Pay is great to start, but there are no raises and time off is earned time. They improved by offering direct deposit to their employees which made payday a lot easier for all. Health Insurance is affordable and really good. Their training and support is great.
Pros
Health Insurances
Cons
No raise in pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked, underpaid
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAApril 18, 2018
Franchises can run however they want. I was salaried, worked a minimum of 10 hours/day and expected to be available when I requested time off. I did learn a lot about the industry, though
Pros
They are willing to teach
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor working enviornment
Corporate Talent Acquisition Specialist (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 17, 2018
Only room for growth is for those that do not challenge their behavior model because the lowest performers are those that are retainined and top performes are given serverance packages go figure. Poor leadership. HR Team is really not up to par.
Pros
flexiable schedule
Cons
micro managment. poor development for employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ServiceMaster
Consumer Telesales Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 12, 2018
Good company to work for! One of the top companies in America. It’s growing and the the job opportunities are great! I would love for the company to focus more on mentoring and developing employees to grow.
Pros
Benefits and Commission is great
Cons
Need to be more relationship oriented and not just numbers driven.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  Downingtown, PAApril 9, 2018
Service master is a good job. I liked the employees that I worked with. The cleaning sites were amazing and easy to find. All supplies were provided. Overall good work place.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chill
Cleaner/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Stevensville, MDApril 8, 2018
You just went in, did your work no big deal. Didn't have to interact with people other than maybe one or two coworkers. just as long as you can handle cleaning bathrooms and stuff it's very manageable and pretty much anyone can do it.
Pros
Alone time
Cons
Cleaning bathrooms is kind of gross...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Restoration technician (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIApril 4, 2018
Terrible place to work, mismanagement of employees and jobs and all the demand they have of you going out of town and out of state. Owners are a joke and expect you to be a robot without a brain...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started good but turned shady
Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 2, 2018
This was a good place to work 5 years ago but now it's shady and the company culture is toxic. People are so afraid to lose their jobs it's ridiculous. The company is clearly not afraid to take the easy way out and fire anyone who stands up for what's right. The environment is not worth the pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good mid-level company. Service industry business with Growth potential
Director (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 21, 2018
Company is moving to embrace new processes, systems and business culture to move into the current US business execution model.

Good leadership.

Moving HQ's to downtown Memphis in the Peabody location. A key employer in Memphis
Pros
Great potential for business growth
Cons
AHS is splitting from SVM. Downtown location will be tough to navigate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People Great Company
Accounting Administrator (Former Employee) –  Reading, PAMarch 20, 2018
Enjoyed this job greatly. The environment was great because there were great people running it.
Stressful at times but nothing that can't be handled.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for supplementing income
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSMarch 15, 2018
If you are looking for a part time job to supplement income, towards gas, possible small bill, etc., then this is a good fit. It is not meant for actually trying to survive on. Also, it works well with other jobs, as long as your main job is during day time hours, otherwise you have conflict with the hours. Minimum wage is $7.25 an hour, which is what they paid.
Pros
Supplement income, easy work.
Cons
Low pay, evening hours, low benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked what i did
Custodian Worker (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAMarch 14, 2018
Great people to work with,had an awesome supervisor.If I had a problem they handled it very well and I was satisfied never had to worry about being left down
Pros
I really didn't get anything
Cons
Just a nice company to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Servicemaster is a great place to work
National Accounts Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 13, 2018
A typical work day consist of respond and send emails, answering customer questions,preparing spreadsheets, resolve customer issues
pulling contracts. meeting with management with customer updates.
i don't have a hard part of my day. my job is enjoyable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Master
Director of Environmental Services (Former Employee) –  Downers Grove, ILMarch 6, 2018
Filling out maintenance reports, Employee schedules, staff meetings ordering products. and getting actual work done. what I learned was how important communication with upper management is. My manager was hard to get ahold of and would only come by once a month or so. the hardest part of the job was getting things done with much help from upper management.
Pros
Thr pay
Cons
Very little help from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Christian based and Christian owned company!!
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Grenada, MSMarch 6, 2018
Love this company and the owners, administration staff, supervisors, managers, and employees. Great place to work. ***********************************
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taken too seriously
Lead Technician (Current Employee) –  Spokane, WAMarch 5, 2018
The job is definitely one that nobody enjoys. It’s laid back and there isn’t much for rules, but the management takes the job way too seriously but aside from that it isn’t a terrible job. You have to be willing to work with human feces
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture , but a little unfocused at the Top
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 28, 2018
Jumps on the newest technologies and supports life-balance and social work environment. But jumps to the next technology before gaining much benefit from the last improvements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for cash was told 15 made maybe 9
Disaster Restoration Specialist (Former Employee) –  Channahon, ILFebruary 21, 2018
Awful place to work poor management, employees were all family so they could never do anything wrong and treated people like garbage. Poor training little to none. Bosses son worked there and was sent with us on jobs when we would arrive he would sit and talk with client then disappear for hours til job was done then show up when we are ready to leave.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice Job
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 21, 2018
I loved working for service master but it wasnt enough hours very good manager very organized I wasnt able to stay because i was still in school but I have now graduated and looking for work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love it
Treasury Associate (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 19, 2018
The workplace culture is very relaxed and laid back. Really enjoy coming to work everyday. The management is efficient and I have had an overall enjoyable experience here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ServiceMaster. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight