ServiceMaster Employee Reviews

Found 1,841 reviews matching the search See all 2,182 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough work
Sub Contractor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLApril 17, 2019
long hours, traveling alot, and hard work. The pay was decent but almost not worth it because of what you are put through. It is a very physcilly demanding job in sometimes extrame temps.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and good learning experience
Cleaning Technician (Former Employee) –  Marshall, MNApril 15, 2019
Hours ranged quite a bit
An Enjoyable place to work
Good communication within company
Quality of work was at forefront
A wide range of great people to work with
Pay was dependant on the job/work you did
Work was considered Full time-temporary
No benefits though
Pros
Great place/people to work with and flexible scheduling/work
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth City, NCApril 14, 2019
Poor management. Poor pay. Lack of communication and lack of sleep. I worked 40-50 hours and would only make $200 (if lucky) per week. Didn’t have a day off. Had to drive my own car to locations and use my own gas. I was was driving around 400 miles a day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of training for the production workers
Project Management (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOApril 11, 2019
Poor upper management demonstrative skills. Lack of skilled. Workers that are productive. Lack of high technological equipment and old system. No creativity
Pros
Company will not fire you.
Cons
Short breaks, long hours, salary work schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, time consuming.
Float Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAApril 9, 2019
Very stressful workplace. Alot is required of you for the work and the amount you get payed. No matter how hard you clean they complain and make bigger messes than the previous.
Poor management.
Pros
No Pros
Cons
Pay rate low, Poor management, To much required of you, no steady hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work little pay
Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVApril 8, 2019
Hard work little pay
Inequality between coworkers.
No health benefits
No vacation or paid time off
Long work commute plus work involves driving 80 % of the work day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was my own.boss basically worked 3rd shift or can come in any time after 6 pm to do my job
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 5, 2019
... it was easy did over night cleaned 3 floors of offices was alone did it in 6 hrs or less can get there any time after 6 pm till 6 am to go clean .........
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Customer Service/Relations Representative (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 4, 2019
I really enjoyed working for the company, it allowed me to work from home for over six years. I would return to work for the company, the only reason I left was because of my degree opportunity
Pros
Benefits
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Leadership
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 4, 2019
Very solid company with clear goals and expectations. Overall, this was a great place for me to really begin my corporate career. I enjoyed my boss and colleagues.
Pros
Management
Cons
growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEApril 4, 2019
Very easy and nothing to worry about. I would clock in and get to work and finish either before or on time because there is nothing that will distract you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good on paper
RECONSTRUCTION MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Green Bay, WIApril 3, 2019
The jobs offered through servicemaster promise things that aren't delivered. They also set expectations of advancement and promotion that don't get followed through on. Overall most of the coworkers are enjoyable to work with, however they all share the same company sentiments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out fine.
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Frederick, MDApril 2, 2019
Work was good. Flexible hours

started working with a team and eventually had 5 buildings to myself. pending of the contract was pending what day I worked. I liked the management and my supervisor. My supervisor was active and helpful.

Management and supervisor shifted and it went downhill from there. they eventually let me go when I was taking a vacation, telling me I didn't fill out proper paperwork that I didn't know of and was never given when I asked for coverage for certain days.
Pros
Flexible Hourse
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the job
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Paragould, ARMarch 31, 2019
I loved my job. But I was only there like a year. The reason for this is because the supervisor I started with quit. The new one came in and wanted me to change everything and gave me less hours to do it. I told him general cable wouldn't go for it. So he didn't like that I told him that. So he fired me. I told him they would loos the contract if he changed anything. Two weeks after he fired me they loosed the contract.
Pros
Love the work
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Lead Technician (Current Employee) –  Auburn, MEMarch 31, 2019
please feel free to reach out to me regarding particular questions. very difficult to get a set number of hours-very variable. can not plan too much ahead since you will not know your schedule day to day. makes it difficult for work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company!!!
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Eugene, ORMarch 31, 2019
Horrible company to work for. I didn't like the work so I quit but they never even paid me for the time I did work! I left 3 voicemails in the office and nothing! They did send out my tax return papers, but never my check!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Collections/ Terminix (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 28, 2019
Needs more transparency. Work conditions were fair. Just feel there needs to be more structure within the company. Everyone should be given a fair chance for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work!!!
Floor Technician (Former Employee) –  Paragould, ARMarch 28, 2019
They will lie to you about your pay. They told me I’d start between 10.50 and 12.70 and then started me at minimum wage. I got a raise after 90 days but it was only 25 cents. I was worked so hard at one point that I was blacking out on my feet following a 20 hour shift with only one 20 minute break. They say they offer benefits but give nothing. No dental, medical, 401k, nothing. They will lie through their teeth to get you roped in and then try to make you believe they are your only choice for employment. DONT WORK HERE I worked overtime every week and still couldn’t even afford a small rundown apartment.
Pros
You make friends sometimes
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the job for me too unorganized and childish games are played.
Technician (Former Employee) –  St. Charles, MOMarch 27, 2019
The service master I worked for the managers were very sexist and there didn't seem to be room for advancement. I enjoyed the excitement of something new daily.
Pros
Interesting jobs sometimes.
Cons
Unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Enjoyable Team
Janitorial Worker (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSMarch 26, 2019
I loved working for Them in Meridian. I enjoyed my Supervisor and team. They're willing to do what they can to Help you with succeeding in your work.I would recommend anybody to work for a Company that has alot of Morals about there Business.
Pros
Great Team Managment
Cons
Temp Job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience/ lots of hours
Lead Technician (Former Employee) –  Concord, CAMarch 26, 2019
If you are willing to work this is a great job if you dont mind working long hours and plenty of overtime at all hours of the day and night, they have an on call schedule that can get very hectic
Pros
Hours/ experience
Cons
On call
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ServiceMaster. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,182 reviews
5612
4593
3566
2188
1223

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight