ServiceMaster Employee Reviews in Kalamazoo, MI

Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 2,253 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place
Janitoral tech (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 21, 2019
I work for service Master twice both times at a different place They would be better if they would actually hire people are all willing to do the job and not just there for a paycheck
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting job
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIOctober 11, 2018
The managers that I had were amazing. The hours that I worked were perfect for someone who wants to work either 2nd or 3rd shift. At the time I needed more hours but because I was still in school they could only provide certain buildings to clean only working about 16 hours a week.
Pros
Great management and a great starter job
Cons
Just not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor
Janitorial Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIMay 1, 2018
Terrible HR representatives, terrible managment team. Overall not a good company to work for. Making minimum wage and getting paid every other week on top of being managed poorly. Not a good company
Pros
Non
Cons
Most things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terriable service
Janitorial (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MISeptember 25, 2017
Unorganized and did not have everything together. The hours were terriable and did not pay enough for the jobs expected. I honestly don’t feel like the job was for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I dont recommend any one to work for Service Master.
Janitorail Tech. (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo Air ZooAugust 8, 2017
I loved working at the Kalamazoo Air Zoo very nice & interesting place to work. They are very nice people they have a lot of our history there, this is a museum.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Janitor/Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo MIAugust 8, 2017
The are suppose to be a Christian company and suppose to solve problems an they don't even do that they let the problem build up till someone gets fired or leaves the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at
Janitorial (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 19, 2016
The people are great, I enjoy working for service master with great hours and you can work by yourself or with a team. The branch managers are great and fun people to work with and outside of work. The pay is fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service master review
Janitorial Worker (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 15, 2016
Wonderful company to work for. Very diverse and community based. What I appreciate best thus far working with service master is they're very flexible when it comes to personal life, and also schooling. The hardest part of a job is always getting there but once i get to work and am surrounded by mo co-workers they immediately change my mood.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 1st job
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIMay 11, 2016
All around good 1st job. starting pay is good. They managers gives you ample building if you want to work more hours. good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Service Master in Kalamazoo
Cleaning Technician (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIOctober 10, 2015
This job entails the typical , vacuuming, sweeping, mopping, emptying of trash receptacles , dusting , and cleaning bathrooms.
I learned to work quickly and efficiently..
I loved my Human Resource Manager, who I still keep in contact with and is a good friend.
The most difficult part of the job is working quickly and efficiently. Sometimes, certain accounts required a longer block of time than what the account was allotted to do.
What I found fulfilling working for Service Master was just having a job and doing it to the best of my ability.
Pros
Having a job and working to the best of my ability.
Cons
Some of the accounts needed more time to clean than what they were contracted to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going, very helpful.
Janitor Technition (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIMarch 21, 2015
I enjoy the work that comes along with the company. My coworker's are fun to be around. They are like another family to me.
Pros
I would not trade it up for another job, another family enviroment.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees and a wonderful company to work for.
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 31, 2014
The job consisted of work starting around 4pm-12am
A lot of driving and interacting with other employees.
My coworkers and employees that I managed were all, as a whole, wonderful people.
The job did take up a lot of free time, especially in a management role but it was ok becuase the job was fun.
Pros
Lots of freedom to get work done, flexible management
Cons
Not many breaks, always changing schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun fast paced
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 4, 2014
I cleaned office buildings, vacuumed, dusted, mopped, cleaned windows with no supervision.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back work
Janitorial Technician (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIFebruary 28, 2013
I enjoy the job, its really laid back and not really stressful. The managers and supervisors are fun to work with. I am in charge of basic cleaning so its an easy job as well.
Pros
its laid back and non-stressful with a fairly flexible schedule
Cons
its almost too easy and i dont like some of the longer nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at a bank
Janitor/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIAugust 30, 2012
Cleaning finger prints, restrooms and more, some people are rude but alot of the employees are nice and easy to get along with. Team player kind of job.
Pros
alot of work
Cons
no breaks, on call
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace working.
Janitor (Current Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 11, 2012
I really enjoy working for this company. my day starts with them at 5:00pm and ends at 11:00pm. This job is really showing me how to be a detailed oriented worker which will help me with any other future job. Them most enjoyable part of my job would have to be the environment, everyone works so well with another.
Pros
flexible
Cons
would like to work more hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more ServiceMaster reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ServiceMaster. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,253 reviews
5633
4607
3579
2196
1238

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight