ServiceMaster Employee Reviews for Custodian

Found 76 reviews matching the search See all 2,223 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool nice workplace
Custodian worker (Former Employee) –  United StatesMarch 20, 2019
By thy sending u to an warehouse to do work it cool cause da other people around u brace u n thy work hard and role wit da flow because of u being yourself
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Custodian worker (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 8, 2019
The manager wasn't right use to talk bout ppl to other workers in they played with ur money every 2 weeks I don't feel like that's a stable working place period
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Custodial Worker (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCFebruary 21, 2019
Company wasn't bad, just used as a way to re-enter the work force. Direct supervisor was lazy, but fair with his people. I would not go back to the company, but I have no ill feelings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving it
Custodial Worker (Former Employee) –  Gwinner, NDJanuary 30, 2019
I love working for Service Master. They always treat you like family and help you fit what job you can handle. Never once take advantage of you and is always there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment was nice always clean . Really nice people who work there. And they work with you as far a schedules, they know life happens.Great company
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Pearl, MSDecember 7, 2018
Environment was nice always clean . Really nice people who work there. And they work with you as far a schedules, they know life happens.Great company with great work ethic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCOctober 27, 2018
Was a great job when my children were younger,it provided much flexability. Pay wasn't terrible,but with contract work it wasn't always long term or stable. No benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Custodian/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEOctober 23, 2018
l have learned about that job alot .how l do it faster and easy steps .and learned how much the team work is useful. and also working at hard weathers such as the cold and hot weather and get use to it .
Pros
no comment
Cons
no comment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with
Custodian/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAAugust 20, 2018
Can work collaboratively or alone. I enjoyed everyone I worked with. However, this is a cutthroat place to work, as everyone wants to advance. A lot of jealousy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaned Commercial Buildings
Custodial Technician (Former Employee) –  Wahpeton, NDAugust 8, 2018
I enjoyed working for serviceMaster of Wahpeton ND but i had to quite it because I didn't get enough hours to support me and my parents and we also moved to Arizona
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Custodian Worker (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAAugust 6, 2018
it was a wonderful place. you clean business and office space. sweeping buffering waxing floors. vacuuming dusting emptying trash and cleaning up after others
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Boss
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Coldwater, MIJuly 23, 2018
Great place to work for, relaxed atmosphere, fun to work for great teamwork, all got along well. Very informative meetings, worked together and got the job done. Boss was one who would get right in there and work with employees.
Pros
Enjoyable place to work for
Cons
Low wages, no benefits8.00
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean up the FedEx building
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 3, 2018
This is not a job for people with kids and have bills. You live from pay check to pay check. This job is for retired people. You don't move up in the company no matter how long you been there. And you get a raise like every four to five years
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didnt care for the pay
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  MarylandJuly 3, 2018
there were not enough hours the pay wasnt enough the commute was complicated and the management wasnt.as helpful the customers were really rude and mean
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of advancement and management
Custodian/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Hillsville, VAJune 25, 2018
I realized I was going nowhere with that job and wanted to get out of there before another year passed by and I was still working the same dead end job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed
Custodian/Assistant (Former Employee) –  octorara, paMay 14, 2018
It was a relaxing environment at times. Coworkers were nice and so were the managers. The collaboration was key in this field of work. This job is good for people who like routine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive enviorment, with career advancement
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Foley, ALMay 9, 2018
Would highly recommend Service Master
Will make a great part time job
You mainly work by yourself at a steady pace. Comes in handy for holidays or a vacation
Pros
Work by yourself
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Newport News, VAMay 9, 2018
Good company to work for. The management team is understanding. Service Master is a professional and outstanding company. Service Master will make sure you are not far from home when they give you and assignment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work
Custodian/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 24, 2018
fun to work, treat employees with respect and very courteous, fair. its just a cool place to work overall and I would recommend anyone to work there...
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a job to make ends meet.
Custodian Worker (Current Employee) –  Greenville, MSApril 17, 2018
A good if they would give you more hours and raises.I only got a quarter raise in the last year and a half.I like the idea that i do not have no one standing around while i do my job.I have my own keys and when I get there all employees is gone home,so I work at my own pace.
Pros
Work at your own pace
Cons
no enough hours or money
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours, great bosses, friendly co workers
Custodial Engineer (Current Employee) –  Champaign, ILMarch 31, 2018
I would recommended this job to anyone that is looking for a nice chill do it at your own pace job. This job is nothing but cleaning & is almost a make your own schedule job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ServiceMaster. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,223 reviews
5625
4600
3573
2193
1232

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at ServiceMaster.

Powered by Comparably