ServiceMaster Employee Reviews

Found 1,875 reviews matching the search See all 2,222 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self taught work environment
Janitor (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaMarch 17, 2019
It was late night job shifts at buildings cleaning usually two floor buildings. Not enough cleaning supplies, and low salaries for time spent cleaning.
Pros
Work alone
Cons
Far locations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great company to work for
Janitorial (Current Employee) –  Newport News, VAMarch 17, 2019
My overall review was great, I made my own hours worked alone and at my own pace. I learned a lot about commercial cleaning. It was very time consuming
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
service master
Janitorial Worker (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, NDMarch 14, 2019
great people to work for! Friendly and understanding when sick. flexible schedule made it easy to work around my full time job. only down fall was no benefits or paid time off.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
no paid time off or benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Corporate Communications /Social Media Specialist (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 13, 2019
N/A - I would like to leave this section blank. I think sometimes upper management makes decisions without asking the employee how they feel or how it will affect people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaning class rooms
CUSTODIAN (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 12, 2019
I cleaned up classrooms and wax floors and made sure warehouse is stocked.
setting up classrooms
stocking my cart for next day
vacuuming floors.
mopping halls.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It depends on the franchise owner
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CAMarch 12, 2019
hard work all day long,
little appreciation from clients,
people pushing you to
i learned a lot,
i gave this industry 10 years but it took the most of me
good money
time passes by fast
you get to control chaos
help people
Pros
time flyes
Cons
you are always working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company!
Disaster Restoration/Carpet cleaning Technician (Former Employee) –  Saint Louis Park, MNMarch 11, 2019
Great place to work!
Great summer job!
Great coworkers and fun place to work!
I remember there always being a BBQ or picnic in the summer for the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at your own pace
Detail Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARMarch 11, 2019
Job was OK once you are given a work station and the equipment that you need.. You work at own pace, and some over time if you want to work extra hours. However the over turn in upper management is so unreal they will up root you with no warning and have working across town
Pros
Pays every two weeks
Cons
high turn over rate, not stable in locating you, are keeping your hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To them we are just numbers
Lead Repair Technician (Former Employee) –  Roseburg OregonMarch 11, 2019
Plenty of hrs just no medical no advancement somebody with no experience is great communication is very low to employees and to customers employees are not trained in the field they are working in you have skills and training in the field of work they don’t pay you what you are worth
Pros
Always 40 hrs a week
Cons
No medical/ vacation/pto/advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast workimg environment
Building Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHMarch 11, 2019
Fast pace work,learn good cleaning skills the management barely was even there good work place hardest part of the job was compacting trash sometimes it james up if someone before u doesn't compact they trash makes it harder and longer for the mext person.
Pros
I like the fast pace work
Cons
To less hours, no benefits, no raise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very pleased with the management.
Senior Technician (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJMarch 10, 2019
I had a decent time working for service master my team made it worth while. Management was always confused. Nobody knows the chain of command, the office people are constantly confused and pushy.
Pros
Free lunch incentive.
Cons
Terrible hours, poor management, horrible vehicle condition.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work.....if you're one of the owner's pets.
Cleaning (Former Employee) –  Commonwealth bank financial officesMarch 10, 2019
Commercial cleaning. They are great at getting you the supplies you need.Depends on if you work day shift of notes. Days is mostly cleaning houses.....nites are mostly businesses.
Pros
No boss hanging over your head every day. You're pretty much on your own.
Cons
Have to be there 5yrs to get a week paid vacation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Custodian worker (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 8, 2019
The manager wasn't right use to talk bout ppl to other workers in they played with ur money every 2 weeks I don't feel like that's a stable working place period
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a hard job, but someone's gotta do it. Hope that someone enjoys it
Moving Crew (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAMarch 7, 2019
I got to work, and overtime was nice, and I had a friend who worked there with me, and we drove a lot, and then the work again, and lunch. Lots of fast food stops.
Pros
fun environment
Cons
stricter towards the end of working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Janitor/Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 7, 2019
Good benefits... 401K Dont like the accrued PTO. Good shift. No overtime. Good employees.... nice employees.... steady shift...took too long to receive my work badge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity
Manager of Operations (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAMarch 7, 2019
I learned a lot from this job and had a great team. I always had a lot of overtime because we were 24 hour business.




My duties included going on the jobsites getting necessary documentation (pictures,
Moisture mapping, setting up crews to complete the job, daily progress check until job
The completion of the job, & help with move backs, daily meetings on safety, and
Coordinate all documentation with my project manager. I also had to handle employee
write ups and complaints from home owner or adjusters.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Business Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Easton, MAMarch 6, 2019
ServcieMaster was a good place to work. I liked the people and they got me started in my career. They helped me advance my sales and business knowledge and got me familiar with marketing.
Pros
Good coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Finance (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMarch 6, 2019
Overall a solid company. Pay is above average. Career development needs to be improved to promote from within. Community involvement and volunteer opportunities are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced place to work
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Allentown, PAMarch 4, 2019
It's a fast paced work.
Can be left alone to work.
Have a supervisor to check on you.
Usually have to work night shift
Great people to work with
Depends on the weather if you can have off
Pros
Great people
Cons
Sometimes long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough hours and compensation
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Kaysville, UTMarch 3, 2019
The job is good and hard labor, they did not have enough counters to Times Of the year when the jobs were slow or nonexistent.
The bosses and managers are awesome and nice but not enough pay for not enough work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ServiceMaster. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,222 reviews
5625
4599
3573
2193
1232

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at ServiceMaster.

Powered by Comparably