SGS Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 430 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5141
4107
388
234
160
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 138 reviews matching the search See all 430 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to say
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJune 18, 2018
I have nothing to say. I do not feel like management stood up for me as a contractor. The hiring process attempted to be streamlined but there were all sorts of issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SGS Review
Invoice Specialist (Current Employee) –  Deer Park, TXMay 30, 2018
SGS is a wonderful environment to work in. Unfortunately, it doesn't provide the advancement I need at this point in my life where I am ready to embrace my greatest potential in my career path. Management is understanding and friendly daily, I am thankful for their patience and kindness. I have learned so much about the oil industry and I know it will be very helpful no matter what career path I may go down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible job, they offer you fulltime work but if you are lucky you will get 5 hours per week.
Automotive Inspector (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXApril 29, 2018
I will never recommend working for this company. They will lie to you like there is no tomorrow :/. You will get hired full time but will get if any 5 hours per week. You will use your vehicle to go to appointments and put miles and miles. Not worth it.
Pros
Work from home, mobile
Cons
No hours, last minute hours are given, no benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company Ever!
Expendable Position (Former Employee) –  Rutherford, NJApril 25, 2018
Where to start...

Extremely poor management
Highly toxic and backstabbing environment
zero training
sweatshop

No one cares about anything but themselves, especially management.

Everyone constantly in CYA mode.

Run, don't walk away from this company.
Pros
none
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INApril 24, 2018
Very poor management terrible communication i was hired but it took them weeks if not months to get me started i really wasted so much time they pretty much lead me on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Automotive inspector, (Former Employee) –  MassachusettsApril 22, 2018
Great job. Lots of independence until they don't need you. When that happens you get dropped like a hot potato. Management was great but they're fed a line of bull to keep everyone motivated.
Pros
Independance
Cons
Weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a volume production working place.
Kwikee E-Commerce Photographer (Former Employee) –  Chino, CAApril 4, 2018
Employee need to punch in & out 4 times a day.
I have learned image for e-Commerce has different requirement than catalog.
Management at photo studio is fine, no conflict.
Workplace needs to keep clean & well organized.
The hardest part of the job is finding a closer parking from building entrance and get to the bathroom.
The most enjoyable part is most people are pretty knowledgeable, and sharing experiences at break time is fun.
Pros
work place is designed efficient and comfort.
Cons
Short lunch break and bathrooms are too far to walk to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a lot of walking and a bunch of bs
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Palo Pinto, TXMarch 25, 2018
The hired a bunch of people and then they laid them off so the wouldn't have to pay them unemployment .and now it looks like there hiring more people .should keep the people they had
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Had to walk a long way to inspect cars in the rain
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good job; other than bad weather a sweet job
Inspector of lease return vehicles (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 12, 2018
Good company to belong to. A lot of teamwork and general effort to succeed. The best managers come up from the ranks. Those who didn't don't have a clue as to what goes on in the field.
Pros
Advancement available; good benefits
Cons
Don't cross the upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is fun to work in sgs all the time
Senior Chemist (Former Employee) –  Carteret, NJMarch 8, 2018
In SGS I learned lot like Octane and Cetane and how to analysis the Gas and Jet fuel and how meet time limit for sample to give result to customer and to management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not in Business anymore
Data Entry Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bartlesville, OKMarch 5, 2018
This job was a challenge and not really a bad place to work. But the business got bought out by an international company and then they laid off many of there employees after the buy out.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't consider this organization.
Inspector/Auditor (Former Employee) –  PAFebruary 19, 2018
Clueless management. No advancement. Constant chiseling of compensation. 7 years and only two raises after having to take 5% cut during a slow period. Net no raise, while cutting mileage and stealing hours for "commute".
Pros
Customers were generally friendly.
Cons
Compensation and incompetent management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Years ago there was no room for advancement & the salary was subpar
QA Monitor (Former Employee) –  Lincolnshire, ILJanuary 30, 2018
The company was great in collaboration. The salary for the amount of work was subpar. Many people left due to the low wages, therefore there was quite a high turn around. This had added stress on the employees because they had to train and complete their tasks efficiently.

Most people didn't receive a promotion beyond 5 years, the highest was 13 years. There was no opportunity for growth.

After I left the company, I made this known in my exit interview and within a year the structure changed and a lot of my former colleagues received a deserved promotion and had the ability to learn new things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledge gain
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  KuwaitJanuary 28, 2018
SGS is very secure and competitive workplace, I have learned a lot working with people from different cultures. i have taken different roles in the organization also i had a chance to boost my career by taking time to continue my education in the management domain.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment to work
Chemist (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, NJJanuary 27, 2018
Stressful environment to work. Lots of politics. For people with career oriented, no growths for those people. Management very poor. They changed managers every year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Dayton, NJJanuary 16, 2018
for an entry position in the field of chemistry its not a bad place. you do learn a lot about the culture and do get hands experience with different types of instruments.
Pros
bagels on pay day
Cons
management can be hard on you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Real Training
Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Mason, OHJanuary 8, 2018
Fairly easy to catch on but no real training just sat with a person who been there less than a year to train, One very rude shift lead and overall not well mannered people in dispatch and other departments made it hard to fully succeed so many different policies I don’t think anybody really knew what yo tell people. Heard the benefits and time off are really good after 90 days.
Pros
Good hours no weekends
Cons
No training
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Outbound scheduler (Former Employee) –  OhioJanuary 4, 2018
Shift leader was unprofessional. Took their role to make power moves and lied about procedures. There was no real training besides sitting next to an employee taking their calls.
Pros
Working alone
Cons
Shift leaders not being good leaders
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They Furloughed good workers. Now trying to hire new inspectors for $13.00
Off Lease Inspector (Former Employee) –  TexasDecember 20, 2017
SGS is getting there clock cleaned by Auto Vin. Losing major contracts. Lets people go only to rehire new workers months later at lower pay rate. To many desk jockeys.
Pros
Working alone
Cons
Guidlines change weekly
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CADecember 7, 2017
Fast paced a lot of incoming phone calls
Friendly management stafff and friendly employees
Lots of training and developed is involved
Room
Fo advancement is you work hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SGS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight