SGS Employee Reviews

Found 147 reviews matching the search See all 452 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity
HR Coordinator (Former Employee) –  CairoSeptember 24, 2018
Good Environment and very nice atmosphere at work which can help you focus on your work , and provide you with weekly conference with all SGS team all over the world
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gossip and backstabbing
Lab Analyst (Former Employee) –  East Syracuse, NYSeptember 20, 2018
Be careful with the coworkers you share stuff with because they will gossip about your resume, transcripts or personal life wife others. Her name is the similar to Homer Simpson's favorite beer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment
lab technician (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, NJSeptember 14, 2018
SGS is a very loose regulated environment with minimal supervision and a lot of room for improvisation. I had a good work experience however, its what
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need new management
Tankerman (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LASeptember 7, 2018
Management is terrible. Would have been a decent place to work if not for that. Decent pay and usually decent notification for being on call. Was just asked to go more that could be expected of a person
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promises that weren't kept, almost no training...
Off lease auto inpector (Former Employee) –  Mid- Atlantic RegionAugust 2, 2018
I was employed as a off lease inspector, after 2 1/2 months of work they furloughed me, with no notice, no comp pay, saying that the work in my area has slowed down too much and I was last hired. Up to that point I had made top 10 producers in the Region the last month of employment, said I was doing well. They make a lot of promises about training ( I had a week of classroom, which was mainly policy, and 2 days of field work with another employee, then was let go to figure it out myself, I was promised TWO WEEKS with a trainer in the field, NOT TWO DAYS...) It was not a good experience for me. The process started in January and ended in June six months of my time wasted!
Pros
working on your own.
Cons
Not enough training. Old equipment that always has issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not a bad job supervisor makes it bad
Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Plaquemine, LAJuly 19, 2018
Short breaks
Supervisor treat u bad
Its hot as ever u don’t be having water
Cant have your phone to check on family
Get one break n thats a 25 min lunch break
Got to ask to go get water
Got to ask to go to the bathroom
Got to ask to do anything
Cons
Short break only a 25 min break outta 14 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gainful experience
GC Chemist (Former Employee) –  Deer Park, TXJuly 13, 2018
SGS was the starting point for my career. It was a great experience working for such a company because of all the instruments I was exposed to. I was also able to experience a supervisor role while at SGS.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life
Lead Operator (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJune 26, 2018
Management only thinks of themselves. Learned how to unload and load rail cars. A typical day consist of hurry up and wait. No morale in the work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to say
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJune 18, 2018
I have nothing to say. I do not feel like management stood up for me as a contractor. The hiring process attempted to be streamlined but there were all sorts of issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SGS Review
Invoice Specialist (Current Employee) –  Deer Park, TXMay 30, 2018
SGS is a wonderful environment to work in. Unfortunately, it doesn't provide the advancement I need at this point in my life where I am ready to embrace my greatest potential in my career path. Management is understanding and friendly daily, I am thankful for their patience and kindness. I have learned so much about the oil industry and I know it will be very helpful no matter what career path I may go down.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible job, they offer you fulltime work but if you are lucky you will get 5 hours per week.
Automotive Inspector (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXApril 29, 2018
I will never recommend working for this company. They will lie to you like there is no tomorrow :/. You will get hired full time but will get if any 5 hours per week. You will use your vehicle to go to appointments and put miles and miles. Not worth it.
Pros
Work from home, mobile
Cons
No hours, last minute hours are given, no benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company Ever!
Expendable Position (Former Employee) –  Rutherford, NJApril 25, 2018
Where to start...

Extremely poor management
Highly toxic and backstabbing environment
zero training
sweatshop

No one cares about anything but themselves, especially management.

Everyone constantly in CYA mode.

Run, don't walk away from this company.
Pros
none
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INApril 24, 2018
Very poor management terrible communication i was hired but it took them weeks if not months to get me started i really wasted so much time they pretty much lead me on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Chief Engineer (Former Employee) –  ChinaApril 24, 2018
the culture in SGS is quite good and the working procedure for my perspective field is modern.

as an chief engineer in SGS, I worked with a team of project management, as well as the technical support of the plant construction. main job on that role is review the technical document and management procedure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Automotive inspector, (Former Employee) –  MassachusettsApril 22, 2018
Great job. Lots of independence until they don't need you. When that happens you get dropped like a hot potato. Management was great but they're fed a line of bull to keep everyone motivated.
Pros
Independance
Cons
Weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a volume production working place.
Kwikee E-Commerce Photographer (Former Employee) –  Chino, CAApril 4, 2018
Employee need to punch in & out 4 times a day.
I have learned image for e-Commerce has different requirement than catalog.
Management at photo studio is fine, no conflict.
Workplace needs to keep clean & well organized.
The hardest part of the job is finding a closer parking from building entrance and get to the bathroom.
The most enjoyable part is most people are pretty knowledgeable, and sharing experiences at break time is fun.
Pros
work place is designed efficient and comfort.
Cons
Short lunch break and bathrooms are too far to walk to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a lot of walking and a bunch of bs
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Palo Pinto, TXMarch 25, 2018
The hired a bunch of people and then they laid them off so the wouldn't have to pay them unemployment .and now it looks like there hiring more people .should keep the people they had
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Had to walk a long way to inspect cars in the rain
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good job; other than bad weather a sweet job
Inspector of lease return vehicles (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 12, 2018
Good company to belong to. A lot of teamwork and general effort to succeed. The best managers come up from the ranks. Those who didn't don't have a clue as to what goes on in the field.
Pros
Advancement available; good benefits
Cons
Don't cross the upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is fun to work in sgs all the time
Senior Chemist (Former Employee) –  Carteret, NJMarch 8, 2018
In SGS I learned lot like Octane and Cetane and how to analysis the Gas and Jet fuel and how meet time limit for sample to give result to customer and to management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not in Business anymore
Data Entry Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bartlesville, OKMarch 5, 2018
This job was a challenge and not really a bad place to work. But the business got bought out by an international company and then they laid off many of there employees after the buy out.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SGS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 453 reviews
5145
4110
390
242
166

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight