Shaffer Trucking Employee Reviews

Showing all 30 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best trucking companies there is
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  NebraskaFebruary 21, 2018
I loved working for Shaffer Trucking, and would still be there if not for DOT regulations that have me off the road for a year for medical reasons. I usually ran between 2300-3000 miles a week for my full weeks, practical route miles. The pay was great, even before the raise at the first of the year. The terminal personnel were great to deal with and were upset that I was leaving, even though the company was forced to terminate me due to the DOT regulations. I did not live close enough to a company facility to go into an office position, or that would have been an option, though they do want me back after a year if I haven't found something to keep me home. The terminals are nice, with facilities for the drivers to use that make it well worth it to stop there instead of fighting the truck stop crowds for parking when you are needing to shut down for the night when near one. And unlike some companies, they do not force you to go through a "safety lane" where you may lose the load you are under because they find some minor problem that is going to take them several days to fix and it is not necessary to do the work right away.
Pros
Top pay, practical miles, newer equipment with inverters
Cons
Dispatch is sometimes a little slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Refrigerated Freight Carrier
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  east of mississippiFebruary 5, 2018
Make sure what you and your recruiter agree to, Operations have the authority to make happen, otherwise, all dispatch personnel were professional individuals to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
OTR Tractor Trailer Driver (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEFebruary 4, 2018
We really enjoyed working their. The pay and benefits were great. The staff was easy to work with and very friendly. They understood if a driver needed just a day off while out on the road.
Pros
Pay, benefits, friendly staff, understanding
Cons
home time
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
CDL (A) Driver (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEJanuary 16, 2018
it's good job. i dont want to post anything and am just typing to continue to the next part, but yes this was a good place to work while it lasted and thats good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent/low miles
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEDecember 26, 2017
Mileage pay is good, but getting enough miles to make it count was always difficult...dispatch and fleet management were apathetic and unresponsive. Payroll and benefits were unreliable - drivers must monitor compensation carefully to ensure proper payment.
Pros
Nothing special
Cons
Care about company numbers, not much for drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was not happy with this company
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  New Kingstown, PADecember 9, 2017
I was told that i would have time home then it changed, was told that i would get certain amount of miles per week but only got that many twice in amount of time i worked for them
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great company but they have flaws as any company does
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEOctober 9, 2017
dispatched on night an weekends needs improvement . better communication. drivers have enough to dill with as far as traffic an weather conditions but to add more stress an frustration on that do the fact that a dispatcher have no clue in what there doing or just not helpful at all.
Pros
great pay
Cons
low miles
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
supervisor Ruth Boles (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NESeptember 26, 2017
nice working place can complain nothing about them my boss was always there when I need it her help like any other job it has it's up's and downs good company
Pros
good pay and co workers
Cons
48 states
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Company
Over the Road Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, NE 68528July 18, 2017
If you dont mind being an over the road trucker, This is the company to work with forever. They are fantastic and always get you home when you need. If it wasn't for family issues I would stay with them
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly ran, dont pay for extra stuff.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEFebruary 4, 2017
Fired for following too close, wanted 4 seconds behind... own cruise control only does 3 seconds... so what do you do?
Give you new trucks but cheapest possable. You have to buy fridge from them, and power inverter from them. So before you start you owe them money. You have to buy a pin lock and backdoor lock that only fits a few of there trailers. Trucks goverend at 62 mph. If you go over 70 down hill, you are called to the carpet
Pros
Sounds like it pays well, but does not.
Cons
Poorly ran, new trucks, but bottom of the line.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company. Needs newer trucks
Driver (Current Employee) –  DeLand, FLDecember 28, 2016
Just like the title says. Trucks are older and they give you thoghs till they sell the old ones. People are good. Keep you moving.
Pros
Good people.
Cons
Old trucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very forgiving and workable
Commercial Driver/Tractor Operator (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, NENovember 9, 2016
They're a great company to work for. They're very understanding and work hard to make sure that you are constantly moving. I regret very little or nothing at all from working there...
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 13Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Almost 15 years in great company
Driver (Current Employee) –  Lincoln NebraskaApril 29, 2016
The breakdown Department is so bad it's disgusting it takes hours sometimes if you get a call back on a flat tire God help it if you're broke down on the road and need a motel it could take all night you on hold for hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 42No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Diesel Mechanic / Parts Counter Person (Former Employee) –  New Kingstown, PAMarch 1, 2016
Great place to work, I met a lot of great people. now this site is making me type more but I have nothing more to say on this matter
Pros
always someone willing to help, pay was ok
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 10Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEOctober 12, 2015
its a good place to work if you have an excellent driving record but you must maintain that record in order to keep the job..
dispatchers are fairly decent but not always on top of their game are willing to push you as a driver beyond your limit and will keep doing that if you let them
Was this review helpful?Yes 51No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging driving position for a fantastic trucking company!
OTR Company Driver (Former Employee) –  New Kingstown, PAAugust 31, 2015
My typical day at work was to receive a dispatch, travel to a location and be loaded by shipper, plan trip for delivery (including miles, fuel, and time), follow company and DOT rules and regulations while transporting freight to a consignee on time and safely! The most enjoyable part of the job was a sense of independence and the hardest was being alone!
Pros
Excellent Dispatch!
Cons
Alone
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 26Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, solid company
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  NationalAugust 11, 2015
As with any OTR position, there will be challenges. My one and only reason for leaving was to be home for my young daughter and my family.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Home time
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great 1st job with great trainers
Driver (Current Employee) –  Lincoln NebraskaAugust 6, 2015
For someone fresh out of school there is no better place to start your OTR career than Shaffer/Crete. Once your first six months is in the pay jumps and you are on your way. They do not pull any punches, what they say they do and they are a very secure company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  New Kingstown, PADecember 13, 2014
done my routes got home when I needed to I got paid good as I done my job, had no issues with dispatch
II really enjoyed this company,
dispatch switched everything went down hill! I didn't get miles I needed, had to train dispatcher how I needed to run my time. Got a better offer and gave notice
Pros
enjoyed the job till the dispatch switched
Cons
scimped on miles
Was this review helpful?Yes 63No 13Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place
CDL Driver (Current Employee) –  New Kingstown, PAOctober 1, 2014
Not a too bad of a place to work. You are dispatched daily. Much depends on freight.
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 25Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shaffer Trucking. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 30 reviews
512
45
37
26
10

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Shaffer Trucking Reviews by Location