Shake Shack Employee Reviews in Chicago, IL

Found 20 reviews matching the search See all 735 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food
CREW MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 11, 2019
Shake shack is one of the best jobs I had. There were rules like most jobs!. Being passionate about everything I do kinda landed me in a tight position!. But I will defly recommend shake shack to anybody!. Depending on work ethic you can definitely get 40 hours and the pay is good!. Sometimes it can be drama filled depending on management team or team members.
Pros
Discounts, pay, paid time off
Cons
Immature managers and some team members.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I didn’t want to leave shake shack
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 11, 2019
shake shack was my favorite job ever. I’m very upset that i left because i really loved that job. i would love to go back any day and any time. everyone was so nice and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good until the GMs real personality showed.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 28, 2019
When SS River North first opened it was great .
After about 6 months it became stressful and about how fast you could kiss butt and move uo to trainer .
Pros
Payday on Wednesday
Cons
Short breaks incredibly bad management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace but experienced mistreatment
Team Member/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 5, 2018
Be careful and keep things professional even when management chooses to do the opposite.not somewhere i would want to be for more than a year. They arent big on advancement unless it benefits them.
Cons
Bad Management and Unprofessionalism
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Managment
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 11, 2018
The managers don't like when you come in with previous work experience. They take it as a threat. I was told I came in too cocky but I came in willing to learn. I cant help I already knew most of what they showed me!
Pros
Loved the team I worked with!
Cons
Have no experience or you will make enemies
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 5, 2018
One of the best companies to work for. fit right in like family. wish i never quit this job. Great benefits , Managers are very understanding to your personal life.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Rush hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship was great
Shift Manager Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 17, 2018
Was a shift manager intern. Overall, this was a great internship to get an understanding of the daily operations of a worker but also get some management training and experience. Was also able to meet with the area director and the CEO. The only downside was that the internship was split 75% learning the daily operations and 25% with management training. This isn't bad, but since the internship is only 8 weeks I would've liked more time on the management side. Maybe extend the internship another week or two.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 6, 2017
I enjoyed working for this company it was a very fast paced job. A typical day at work was very fun. I nejoyed working with the team. It was a family oriented company.
Pros
60% Lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 17, 2017
I think the shack is an over all fun and great place. The employees are usually friendly and inviting. The guest are even more friendly. It overall was a fun and learning experience.
Pros
Health care, dental and vision care, 60% off meals
Cons
Shorts breaks, no payed holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 13, 2017
the managers were mean they over worked you a lot made u stay late and miss your bus and couldn't find away home but other then that they made it fun for their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at shake shack
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 13, 2017
I enjoyed working for shake shack. working there showed me how to work as team member. I liked working with my co workers and being able to communicate with the guests to make sure they leave shake shack satisfied.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job ever.!!!
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 22, 2017
I love my job... The team is amazing... The managers are amazing... We are a family and we make sure we take care of each other When a team member hurt we hurt as one... I love it.
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shake shake
Crew Member/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 26, 2017
This job is overall one of the best places I work for thus far. They are flexible to your life. They respect and appreciate their employees. The communication skills are a little off, but overall I love it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Haphazard settings
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 18, 2016
The team was still fairly new as was the management so a lot of kinks needed to be worked out. I left the job due to a manager but overall the job was fun,fast paced, and great the monetary compensation also was good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its fun
Team Member turned CROSS Trainer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 17, 2016
I had an overall good experience working here. The management is friendly and easy to get along with. Just be careful of the team members because there are people that are just miserable and can't stand to see others succeed and be happy.
Pros
60% off lunch
Cons
No free lunch, sometimes give long hours and little breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employees, Managers no good direction or help
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 31, 2016
not a good working experience. go into an hostile environment with managers who do not want to work with you. did not like the company or the management team.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no team effort
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Hospitality work place
Team Member (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 5, 2015
We have our busy days and we have our slow days but we make sure that when we get those out of nowhere rushes we get the job done .
I learn to be a good part of the team
Its a lot of different personalities but we all manage to get along at some point.
The hardest part of the job is that its to easy and very challenging.
The most enjoyable part of the job is at the end when were closing is knowing that we had a successful work day.
Pros
free soda and 60% off on lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment while very demanding
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 21, 2015
Fun, great place to work with great management but like many food service hospitality services/industry, there is a big turnaround in employees. Work hours became very demanding and was typical to get overtime because of employees having no-shows. Management is great though because they were able to adjust timely and professionally with various work scenarios.
Pros
Easy to move up the chain in management and lots of flexability
Cons
High turnaround in employees and few management squabbles
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
TEAM MEMBER (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 17, 2015
I loved this job the pay was great my co-workers were nice fun and friendly and the managers rock they always worked around my school schedule
Pros
free lunch
Cons
shoet breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

See more Shake Shack reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shake Shack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 735 reviews
5230
4210
3176
254
165

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

4.1Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight