Shake Shack Employee Reviews in Manhattan, NY

Ratings by category
Found 22 reviews matching the search See all 703 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace. Communication always needs to be high while in the kitchen. It’s cool because you get to meet many different types of people.
Trainer (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJanuary 27, 2019
I like working here at shake shack because it’s fast pace, and you get to meet many different types of people. Only thing is that the management has trouble scheduling people in a way that people don’t have to go on break so early, and the shift is usually short staffed.
Pros
60% off of lunch
Cons
Short breaks, No breaks if You work 6 hours or less
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for college students
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJanuary 22, 2019
Close work environment which provides for friendly fast paced work environment the location I was at was the “Flagship” location located in the center of a park so sometimes hours and varied and work either slowed or picked up drastically
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and optimistic job
Server (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYNovember 18, 2018
It was great, loved my time e there wish my situation could've been better so I could've stayed working there but things happen, overall awesome place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to workn
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYSeptember 24, 2018
If I could of stayed at this job I would of but it was only temporary for me if you can’t work in a fast paced environment this job is not for you if you have attitude this is not for you
Pros
Great management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized franchise
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYSeptember 13, 2018
SS was fun until the new girls made me out to be a bully, so I ended up resigning. Personally going through too much outside of work to endure the bs*
Pros
some staff members were cool
Cons
bad management, lack of communication, unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I strive to remain cheerful and positive most of the times at work.
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYAugust 31, 2018
Effectively communicates expectations.
Excels in facilitating group discussions.
Pros
n/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No support from management
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJuly 18, 2018
Management often be littles team members and do not allow certain people to move up. The job sometimes is a good place to be at but other times it’s just horrible.
Pros
60 percent discounts
Cons
Barely get breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast work place.
Cook/Waitress (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJune 22, 2018
In order to be able to be heard you have to speak up because the managers will through you on a station train you and leave you there forever. Because it’s packed and they don’t have time to check on everyone unless you insist that you are ready for a new station.
Pros
60% off lunch.
Cons
30 min breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast-paced working environment
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMarch 8, 2018
Fast paced
Communication is key
Management is there when you need them
Culture is very warm and home feeling
No hard part
Making meals for our guests
Pros
Discounts on lunch breaks and in other shacks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier/Trainer (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYFebruary 22, 2018
It was fast movement, everyone was super cool. I enjoyed working with my yeam. The most enjoyable part was expo and bun . I think if youre a hard worker this is a great job
Pros
free lunch, good hours
Cons
burns
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A work place you can learn so much from and you stay busy.
Crew Member/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJanuary 2, 2018
You stay busy so time goes by so fast. And the staff is full and packed so there is always help and different engery. Aspire you to want to succeed and be great at any assignment. And the pre- meal meeting are motivating.
Cons
Bad break area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good vibes
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYDecember 26, 2017
The shake shack i worked at was always busy. The line would be out the door downstairs. I learned to have great hospitality and to always upsell. I learned to be quick paced .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shake shack
Team Member/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYNovember 13, 2017
Typical day at work was overcrowded very fast paced its so much going on and ive learned so much about hospitality and fast food industry and dietary needs , management was ok I suppose could have been way better , job culture was fone hardest part was being skilled at ever station cleaning and being attentive to customers and cooking , most enjoyable was the food!
Pros
60% Off food the food
Cons
Fast paced seriously fast
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYNovember 1, 2016
i learned a lot at shake shack, a typical day at work i would get on a station they assigned me to and so on,management is okay, i enjoyed my experience there.
Cons
unpaid breaks, no free meals
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun environment
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYOctober 16, 2016
Working at Cozy Cuts for Kids was a great experience. Being a team member at the company really showed me a friendly and fun staff. It's something I would like to do again.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23rd street was horrible
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYOctober 10, 2016
managers was bad didn't care what you did didn't pay attention to you. people was getting rob left to right and managers only laughed at you. you get in trouble for little things and that not ethical. other than the managers the job was amazing and i would love to work at a different location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a fun workplace
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMay 15, 2016
very fast paced, everyones friendly, very beneficial in many ways also gives you many chances on where you work well depending where
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJuly 20, 2015
It was an okay job situation. It didn't fit my needs and almost required that if you wanted to make any sort of more money you'd have to want to be in the company for a long term period of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work environment
Linecook (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJune 29, 2015
It was a family environment. everyone helped everyone. when help was needed it was there, no questions. The job was pretty demanding with time management where guests were served. Meeting people from all over the world was the best part.
Pros
sixty percent off lunch and incentives for being a great team member.
Cons
new management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, lots of hours, cool co-workers
Team Member/Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYNovember 6, 2014
Management pretty rude and never helped just gave orders but other then that it was a awesome day everyday, just work along with team members and get the job done for the most part, exciting to see so many guest in such a awesome environment from timesqaure, and 60% off the food was awesome during our lunches! Learned how to work with a team, work fast but efficiently and much more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shake Shack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 703 reviews
5226
4201
3167
252
157

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

4.1Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight