Shake Shack Employee Reviews in New York, NY

Found 121 reviews matching the search See all 704 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work space
Team Member (Former Employee) –  366 colombus ave, new york,nyJuly 6, 2019
located in upper west side by the museum of natural history . alot of tourist walk in . definitely requires patience and the ability to work under pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Environnment
Team Member and Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 10, 2019
Enjoyed all of my time working at various Shack locations and always found a welcoming, hardworking team that motivated me to be the best worker I could be every day.
Pros
Nice food discounts, Friendly managers/supes, fun team
Cons
Parking, no tips
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vder productive and competive place
Team Member (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 17, 2019
I enjoy working here but its very intense and fast paced especially dealing with over 100 customers a day. managers are cool and understanding but the store is nothing but drama.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced and challenging
Team Member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 13, 2019
If you are not comfortable working in a small cramp and hot environment, this place is not for you. I didn’t learn much from it but I did enjoy putting a smile on the guest face from being served properly.
Pros
Good experience
Cons
Little to no break, no water for breaks, horrible environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm relaxing environment.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 15, 2019
Shack Shake was a cool place. It was a friendly environment. Everybody knew each other and respected each other. People would bring their dogs for special doggie treats. We made our guest feel at home shack!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Advancement
Team Member (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 11, 2019
I can honestly admit that if you looking for a job that you can potentially get promoted within just a few months to a year, this is the Job for you! Definitely a place for quick advancement if taken seriously!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
incredible
Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 20, 2019
Best job ever. This is the place to grow and develoe. whatever you put in is what you get. You wanna become a manager they will work with you. You wanna travel, they will give you the correct tools and map out your growth.
Pros
You can be yourself
Cons
Dont be late
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ehh
Team Member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 27, 2019
Shake Shack it self wasn't bad. I just feel like the location i was placed was absolutely horrible . The management was disgusting and wasn't something i could take any longer.
Pros
Not Sure
Cons
Tiring, stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time
Team Member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 3, 2019
Not a good place to work at at all. very poor management very
unorganized never want you to go further in Shake Shack, to many
people doing faviortism mess, lack of hours not enough pay,
the managers get into cliques like we are in high school, people
gossip about other people, managers are very sneaky they like
to cut off your hours, they don't care if you sick our have a doctors
appointment they still want you to come in.. i would never tell anyone to apply to this job, because is just not worth it to settle for
a little bit of money.. like its to much drama.. also people like to
snitch on one another like we in grade school i got so much to say,
because it's not right at all like you doing all these hours and i am
gonna get paid less and not going to proud of the hard work i do?
no way never going to waste time
Pros
Free food
Cons
Short breaks, poor managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast paced working environment
Lead Cook (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 28, 2019
Love working at shake shack
The most enjoyable part about the job is the staff in general.
Working at shake shack its very important to keep communication going throughout the shift.
Pros
discounts on lunch, paid time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast food
Line Cook / Porter (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 24, 2019
Fast paced environment with young managers learning as we go culture was cool since we all was entry level hardest part was just learning every ingredient other than it was a great learning experience.
Pros
n/a
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick and fast, but stressful as well
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 21, 2019
You have to keep up with a lot of things going on there. It builds a strong sense of responsibility and structure. but you have to have the endurance to push through
Pros
good job
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful environment
Team member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 22, 2018
Management is very disrespectful and rude. They spend most of their time belittling their employees. Managers find any reason to yell at you and fire you. Not the type of environment to help you move up. They expect you to work hard but can’t even make sure your check comes out properly. My first check I was getting paid 6 cents an hour. How does a company this big make a mistake like that. When it came time for my second check it didn’t come on time. Shake shack could be a good place to work at they just need better management. We are all human there’s no reason for the kind of treatment they give to their workers. If your looking for a steady paycheck this is not the place for you. Your checks will consistently be messed up. You will also get fired for the littlest things. You will get oils burns if your working on the grill from the oils popping and they will not care. When it comes to this job just know your worth at the end of the day cause the way they speak to people is sad.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management but good food and discounts
Team Member (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 3, 2018
This is a great company in terms of amazing food. The food is out of this world. It's quick paced and short breaks. The management is horrible. Managers speak to you as if you mean nothing. Very rude. Favoritism is always heavy in the air
Pros
60% off all food
Cons
Rude managers, short breaks, long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shake shack
Team member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 3, 2018
Work environment that is give in that place is not for everyone, have to understand and deal with customers/guests for other countries most of the time. On your feet for most of time working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule
Team Member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 23, 2018
The schedule is flexible however the environment is challenging. Most coworkers are under 18 (that should say enough). Lots of gossiping and unprofessional activities from managers and team members.
Pros
Paid time off, flexible scheduling, healthcare if needed.
Cons
Short breaks, culture, management, pay for amount of work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shake shack review
Team Member (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 20, 2018
Honestly the company isn't a bad company. The thing I will say is bad is the managers that are there some of them are good but some have favoritism and choose to not promote you cause they either hold a grudge or just doesn't really pay attention to your hard work. They say its an equal opportunity work place but it actually not.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very excellent first job
Team Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 1, 2018
Have to be opened and determined to learn every station in and out of the kitchen. The more you learn, the better it will be and easier to move up. Gets easier when you ask all the right questions.
Pros
Can meet great co-workers
Cons
Unpredictable, lack of care at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very competitive, extremely fast paced
Team Member (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 23, 2018
While I did enjoy the weekly pay, the work environment is very stressful and fast paced. The team members could be disrespectful to one another and times and managers could be very aggressive toward you.
Pros
discounted lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and hostile work environment.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 20, 2018
Managers did not respect their team members, hot days were even hotter because we had no air conditioner, certain people were difficult to work with and the managers did not give fair work hours to everyone. Some people had other obligations and needed a certain work schedule, instead of accommodating and rearranging ALL schedules, they cut hours back and still did not meet expectations. Management was truly the only reason I did not like working there, they weren't fair, they played favorites and they had no respect for others. The amount of work we did and the treatment we got deserved way more than 13.50 an hour.
Pros
met some nice people.
Cons
management was terrible, hot days were even hotter, we were no treated like equals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shake Shack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 704 reviews
5226
4202
3167
252
157

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

4.1Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight