Shake Shack Employee Reviews for Crew Member

Found 37 reviews matching the search See all 703 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So not worth it.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Christiana, DEJune 25, 2019
I worked at the Shake Shack for about five months, and boy was that too long! Management was horrible! None of them were ever on the same page when it comes to rules, regulations, and organization. There are SOOOO many negative things I could say. I left voluntarily which included putting in my two weeks notice, but they tried to claim they fired me. -__-

I literally called the corporate office and fought for my rights and reported my unfair treatment. I was even physically assaulted by coworker for no reason! It was a very hostile environment and bullying was a severe issue.

Overall, do not waste your time with this restaurant. You're better off at a McDonalds.
Pros
Discounted food
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its alright
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV. Strip LocationApril 26, 2019
Labor intensive job,doing more than 3 station a day and The only reason Ive been their so long (4 years)are the employees well some of them u get along andu build a bond but other than that its all lies and don't expect to move up at all unless your from the outside
Pros
Free 11 dollar meal a day and the employees some u get along with like their your family
Cons
1 break 10 minutes, no advancment, allot of lies, labor intensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
food
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLApril 16, 2019
Great place to eat. Everything is made fresh nothing is from yesterday. No left overs very clean and professional. always thinks of the customers before themselves. all in all great burger place. Better than Five Guys definitely.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm relaxing environment.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 15, 2019
Shack Shake was a cool place. It was a friendly environment. Everybody knew each other and respected each other. People would bring their dogs for special doggie treats. We made our guest feel at home shack!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s okay
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNMarch 9, 2019
I actually did not like shake shack . I was always on the grill the pay was coo for the time being but not to be slaving over no grill all day when we are supposed to change stations .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick and fast, but stressful as well
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 21, 2019
You have to keep up with a lot of things going on there. It builds a strong sense of responsibility and structure. but you have to have the endurance to push through
Pros
good job
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my experience at shake shack
Crewmember (Former Employee) –  691 theatre districtOctober 30, 2018
My experience at Shake Shack was unpleasant. The environment was very stressful. I often left work very drained and annoyed. The people I worked with were friendly, but the manager was very disrespectful and racist.
Pros
60% off your meals and they give you hours
Cons
the workers acted like they were in high school still
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIOctober 2, 2018
Can be very hectic sometimes but the crew members do a good job of helping out. Some of the management sucks to be honest, they like to boss us around for no reason at all.
Pros
60% off food on break
Cons
Only 30 min breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
about shake shack
Crewman (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDSeptember 17, 2018
it was a fast food spot not really into fast food but I enjoy learning how to prep food and putting smile on people faces hard part was putting rite amount on the plate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 12, 2018
fast paced, entertaining, weekly pay, diversity. Racist general manager, was not very friendly. District manager is his best friend so nothing never changed that was something that was very annoying. The job itself was very self explanatory, not hard at all enjoyed working there and the community of Afro Americans and Hispanic working together and sticking together. Kind of segregated work place though.
Pros
weekly pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but not fun not somewhere I would plan on working for a long time
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNJuly 17, 2018
I liked shake shack until they started slacking on a whole bunch of stuff the people was good just not a job I planned on staying at forever or even a couple months
Pros
Money
Cons
Grilling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment, but a fun one
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 3, 2018
MY location is a high volume one, meaning that learning can be very stressfull and repetitive, but the employees are fun and management is willing to work with you
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better Everything
Crew/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MN 55425May 15, 2018
Uncoordinated Staff, Really Nasty Attitudes, Really Bitter Staff, Very Unsanitary Food, I Really Like The Place And The Food But The Staff Gotta Get Go
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 11, 2018
Beinv in the middle of New York the job was very stressful. Large amounts of customers and orders. Almost always having something or multiple things to do. Overbearing managers with poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and Cons
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 23, 2018
Potential to move up, but may not due to never enough time.

Money is decent, but is very strenuous physical labor over time.

Management does job, but can get hectic when several managers instruct one associate with several tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work
Crew Member and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 15, 2018
I worked and went to school. I am a high school student working there gave me a great opportunity. I glad to have been an employee there. There isn't any thing I can say about working there besides it was a fun environment.
Pros
nice environment
Cons
wasn't any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fry cook and server of beverages
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAApril 14, 2018
a typical day wa 7 hours or more depending on how busy i learned the fry prep and cooking them management were very nice workplace was mostly bust the hardest part was the rushes we have enjoyable was the time spent with managers and the customers
Pros
fry cook beverage surver
Cons
dont know
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was the problem
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Garden City, NYMarch 10, 2018
If the Shake Shack i worked at had better management, no doubt it would have been an excellent job, but unfortunately for me that wasn’t the case.
There’s also no free food for workers, which that’s always very frustrating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  New York, NY 10016March 8, 2018
I loved Shake Shack. The only thing i did not like was the poor management. Im a hard worker so i don't complain and take initiative. I just feel like it is a lot of favoritism and it does not really matter how hard you work. I feel like the managers just scared of people coming into the job and outshining them. People get fired every week but the job pays well.
Pros
discount lunches, weekly pay, met cool co workers, experience, clean
Cons
bad managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great benefits
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 8, 2018
Management could've been better, but the job was great. Enjoyed working here, the only hard parts would be the rushes we'd get; trying to keep up but other than that it was an amazing job.
Pros
discounted food, $12/hr, healthcare, dental care, weekly pay
Cons
hours differ, sometimes a lot sometimes a little
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shake Shack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 703 reviews
5226
4201
3167
252
157

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

4.1Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight