Shake Shack Employee Reviews for Crew Member

Found 39 reviews matching the search See all 732 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  New York, NY 10016March 8, 2018
I loved Shake Shack. The only thing i did not like was the poor management. Im a hard worker so i don't complain and take initiative. I just feel like it is a lot of favoritism and it does not really matter how hard you work. I feel like the managers just scared of people coming into the job and outshining them. People get fired every week but the job pays well.
Pros
discount lunches, weekly pay, met cool co workers, experience, clean
Cons
bad managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, great benefits
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 8, 2018
Management could've been better, but the job was great. Enjoyed working here, the only hard parts would be the rushes we'd get; trying to keep up but other than that it was an amazing job.
Pros
discounted food, $12/hr, healthcare, dental care, weekly pay
Cons
hours differ, sometimes a lot sometimes a little
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing experience
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 26, 2018
It was a really fun enviornment to work in. Everyone helped each other out and the management team was amazing. If i didn't leave for school I'd still be working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A work place you can learn so much from and you stay busy.
Crew Member/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJanuary 2, 2018
You stay busy so time goes by so fast. And the staff is full and packed so there is always help and different engery. Aspire you to want to succeed and be great at any assignment. And the pre- meal meeting are motivating.
Cons
Bad break area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Crew Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 13, 2017
All the employees work very hard and get a long for the most part but when over loaded the management often panicks and reacts irrationally putting pressure on employers creating a tense work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive workplace with Moody mangers
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 13, 2017
My days at the shack were sometime cooking in the kitchen and other time I would walk around talk to guests and make sure everything was to their satisfaction.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once great company now in decline
Crew Member/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 1, 2017
overall, shake shack is a pretty good job to work at if your tryna find something temporary, although the management there could be a bit better in my opinion
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 17, 2017
I think the shack is an over all fun and great place. The employees are usually friendly and inviting. The guest are even more friendly. It overall was a fun and learning experience.
Pros
Health care, dental and vision care, 60% off meals
Cons
Shorts breaks, no payed holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potential to be fun but management is terrible.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Winter Park, FL 32789August 25, 2017
Beware, management loves to pick favorites and make the work experience miserable for everyone else. If you're too quiet, it's an issue. Talk to much? Same thing. The managers lead you to think that they care about your personal life. In reality they wouldn't care if you had a funeral to attend and had to call out, you would still be punished for it. Maybe it was just my shack, but these are things to look out for if you plan on working here.
Pros
Pay rate is great.
Cons
Management, no paid breaks, no team work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great place to work...
Crew (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 17, 2017
I worked here so far for 2 years and recently I have dreaded going into work. Managers would rather appreciate their personal "friends" and play rather than do their job. Broken promise after promise. Been told that they will work with whatever happens in my schedule but when the time comes there is no budging. New management is not management.
Pros
10.50 and hour for fast food type work, was a good enviroment, key word WAS
Cons
short breaks, they forget about breaks a lot, broken promises.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 5, 2017
Shake Shack is regularly a very busy place, a lot of customers usually go from morning to night. Shake Shack consist of a lot of active work to do. Employees need to handle things in a quick and neat pace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, upbeat environment
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Darien, CTMay 9, 2017
the company overall was a great company and had plenty of good things to offer as far as advancement, however, it was a brand new store with fairly new management so the conducting of the store wasn't the most professional.
Pros
advancement abilities
Cons
pay for lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
popular
Crew Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMarch 23, 2017
Shake Shack is a popular place foro people so it stays usy 24/7. Theres always something for you to do to stay busy. You get to interact with different guest each day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shake shake
Crew Member/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 26, 2017
This job is overall one of the best places I work for thus far. They are flexible to your life. They respect and appreciate their employees. The communication skills are a little off, but overall I love it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace!
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PADecember 16, 2016
Woooowww!! I miss it at the shack we had fun, this job is very welcoming to not only their employees but to their customers to they know how to have fun and still do business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a fun workplace
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYMay 15, 2016
very fast paced, everyones friendly, very beneficial in many ways also gives you many chances on where you work well depending where
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yea, It's Okay!
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVApril 14, 2016
Worked up to 3 stations for over 6 months and never got any further than that. Seems like the Management care more about the Money coming in, than they Workers. Yes, there are lot of Great Workers there, but when will the favoritism ever stop? I got tired of the Lies, Broken Promises and Excuses from the Management. So, I left and went elsewhere. This place really needs a big turn around fast!!!
Pros
Great learning experience & Good discounted employee meals
Cons
Favoritism, No Discipline
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Crew Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 3, 2016
Shake shack teaches you hospitality with demanding customers. This company was a great opportunity being that it was my first job. This job thought me how to multi- task and how to be a team player.
Pros
hospitality
Cons
leaving the job late
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report

See more Shake Shack reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shake Shack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 732 reviews
5230
4210
3175
254
163

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.7Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP35%
In the Top 35% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Shake Shack.

Powered by Comparably