Shake Shack Employee Reviews for Prep Cook

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 734 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shake shack
Cook/Prep (Current Employee) –  Orange, OHAugust 8, 2019
Shake Shack is a nice job it’s fun and outgoing and it’s eager it was a fun first job for me the employees our outgoing and funny and just love there job the managers are nice and fun and approval
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth your time
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAMay 28, 2019
This job is not for someone who has adult bills. They hire you as full time but you barely get 20-25 hours. Management sucks, everyone wants to be a boss no one wants to be a leader.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cook/Prep (Current Employee) –  Orange, OHMarch 17, 2019
Nice place to work. Fun environment!.. I love goin to work and doing What needs to be done...it just feels so good to work there and the food is so goood.
Pros
No free lunch
Cons
30 min breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and fun place with a 70's touch.
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 6, 2018
My day begins with the morning shift, which requires to set up and prep for the rush.Sometimes it could be stressful due to the fact of some employees and management could not handle the pressure of the rush, but overall I liked working at shake shack.
Pros
fun enviorment
Cons
cutting hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Shake Shack
Cook/Prep (Current Employee) –  West Hartford, CTAugust 9, 2018
You come into work, and are immediately thrown into the swing of things. I was never properly trained in any station, and management looks for reasons to fire people. They have a very high turnaround, with people quitting or getting fired for no real reason. The managers don't care if you are sick, or have health issues. They don't review the tapes when employees state that something has been stolen from them, which has happened numerous times. Managers share your personal information with other employees, and everyone acts like they are in high school, consumed by a ton of drama.
Pros
60% discount on meals
Cons
poor management, long hours, short breaks, scheduling issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Prep cook / cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 26, 2018
Always had opportunities to grow and that’s the most important thing can grow fast knowledgeable trainers and felexible schedules. Great food and great discount also
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miami beach employees were the one to make the job fun and exciting
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLJanuary 17, 2018
The employees at the shack made it exciting to work there but after 6 years with no growth or raises i felt like it was my time to leave and find other opportunoty's.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work enviorment
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 7, 2017
Loved it here, wish I didn't have to leave. The staff and management got along great and work was always done and correct.
a really great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but over worked
Prep/Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Jf Kennedy Ap, NYDecember 2, 2016
Great environment to work but end up getting over worked for little pay.Co workers got along with each other is a positive that kept the day going. Being to work at 4 in the morning was not
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Forced to work past your shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tis' the Struggle...
"Prep Cook-Cashier" (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMarch 31, 2016
Working at Shake Shack was different. They expect newcomers to adapt to the work environment QUICKLY. The thing is, I know that every workplace requires speed when it comes to working. But for a newcomer, they should have a little more leniency, considering the fact that it was my FIRST JOB. I did not like the management team because I felt as though the manager herself was not polite. I felt as if what I did was not good enough for her, and I couldn't make her pleased with my efforts.
Pros
Sampling
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shake Shack
Fryer/ prep cook (Former Employee) –  Lexington, ILOctober 16, 2015
The hardest part of my day was dealing with my boss and the greatest part of my day was the free food we got. I would on a daily basis make sure the cooler was stocked and provided safe food to the public
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report

See more Shake Shack reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shake Shack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 734 reviews
5230
4210
3175
254
165

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

4.1Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight