Shake Shack Culture reviews

Found 161 reviews matching the search See all 802 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shake shack is a great place to work
Cashier and Team Member (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 13, 2019
Shake shack was my favorite place to work the team was my second family the managers were my second family as well everyone is so nice the guest are amazing and they have great discounts I’d recommend them for a job to anyone who ask
Pros
They’re very welcoming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Store Trainer (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAOctober 8, 2019
Shake Shack is a progressive company. Not only is the food great but the culture between corporate and the actual restaurants is healthy. Easy to get promotions and fun place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people and culture
General Manager (GM) (Former Employee) –  Westbury, NYSeptember 30, 2019
Incredible company that puts people first. Beloved brand growing very quickly in many markets around the country. Very competitive compensation and a strong work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its intense & lively
Grill Cook/fry cook (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 29, 2019
This company's culture & atmosphere are unique i was comfortable while sort of home away from home so to speak i enjoyed my co-workers & some of the regulars i came to know
Pros
Employee discounts
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and great place to work very enjoyable
sales (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 13, 2019
what i learned at shake shack was leadership skills and hospitality.
A typical day at work is usually very smooth and enjoyable .
The most enjoyable part of the job is being a cashier.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNSeptember 12, 2019
this job is amazing. worked here when i was 15 and i loved it. a little stressful but i still loved it. managers are very cool and understanding. its amazing there. you'd love it for a first job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Quality, Fast Paced
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Boston, MA 02210September 10, 2019
At this job you would gain alot of great skills you would need in other great jobs
Great skills multitasking & greeting customers
Great skills in problem solving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Central Valley, NYSeptember 10, 2019
Enjoy working with the staff we support one another and we bring lots of humor and fun to the work place. Managers and staff are always there and willing to help employees. excellent team work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job ever
Manager (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 10, 2019
No home life, managers are trash at managing, lack of communication, no guarantee you will be scheduled 40 hours, horrible culture. Just DONT APPLY!!.
Pros
None
Cons
Working for this company is a CON
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Quality Hospitality
Shack Trainer (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 5, 2019
I loved working for Shake Shack because of the culture! As well as our hospitality and work environment. Very family like environment, was always tough to get through our lunch and dinner rushes. But we would always make ends meet by working together.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hospitable and fun place to work, with decent pay.
Cashier/Food Prep (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 27, 2019
I learned hospitality,everyday you learned something new.Management always made sure you were doing okay throughout your whole shift there.There really wasn't a hard part of the job,I say when it was slow to find something to do. The most enjoyable part is that you have trainers and the management team to help with whatever you didn't know.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just Ok
Team Member (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 21, 2019
The culture was portrayed one way, but what ends up happening is everyone is overworked, especially managemnt. It seemed easy in theory to become a trainer, but there was a lot of managers putting it off, not training people on other stations when they asked to do it, and just overall a lot of passive aggressive behavior. Ive seen some inappropriate behavior/favoritism from management as well that was uncomfortbale to see. There are many team members who continuosly dont do their work and who others have to pick up the slack for, but even when managemet has been told the behavior doesnt change and it sours the mood when going to work. The excitement I had working there was waned a lot. The discount is fairly solid, but I dont think that makes up for the lack of hours and still very low base pay considering some of us are doing 3-4 stations without the designation of "trainer"
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shake shack
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYAugust 10, 2019
Shake shack was one of my first jobs and it also helped me get into the hang of having a job . The job culture was beautiful meeting a variety of new people everyday , having healthy checks , meeting famous people it was an all around great job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No.comment
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 29, 2019
Shake shack is a fast paced restaurant. Who have multiple employees of diverse cultures. It is a great place to.wotk however they don't care about anything else but u working and getting there ontime. Family duties they could care.less.and work u 2 death if u let them. Put UR foot down.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Little Italy, CAJuly 26, 2019
At first it was very exciting to work here. They made orientation fun and exciting with informational power points but also fun activities to get to know your coworkers. They hired to many people at my site and not many people got the hours they intended on getting. At times the guests can be drunk and rude to you due to the location. it is an okay place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at shake shack
Cashier and Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLJuly 24, 2019
I love the atmosphere, I love the tourist, I one the setting I love my employees and managers just everything about this job is amazing once you get use to working in the fast paced environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Culture
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 22, 2019
Cool uniforms. Great company culture. Fast-paced and great opportunities for growth. Terrible closing hours (2:15AM depending on location and business needs). Great for people with strong interest in quick-service/hospitality and hardworking individuals.
Pros
60% discount for employee meals
Cons
short breaks, mgmt expectations, high employee turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, good pay but not worth the excessive STRESS!
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 21, 2019
Shake Shack has a great company culture and takes cares of its employees when it comes to benefits and pay. However it’s definitely WHO you know when it comes to growth and promotion. Management across the board is extremely cliquish so good luck being promoted if you’re not friends with the right people. I wouldn’t recommend, not worth the sleepless nights and endless frustration.
Pros
Benefits/Pay
Cons
Growth Potential minimal
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I give it a big thumbs up
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 10, 2019
I give it a really big huge thumbs up is a very great business the managers are committed to work with their staff it's one of the best jobs I ever had
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Paramus, NJJune 24, 2019
They take the time to train you thoroughly, it is a very high level of energy, it is a fun and interesting work environment, they will compliment your hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shake Shack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 802 reviews
5250
4225
3190
260
177

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.7Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP35%
In the Top 35% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Shake Shack.

Powered by Comparably