Shari's Cafe and Pies Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 251 reviews
Ratings breakdown
563
465
388
222
113
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 251 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working envirenment
Cook and Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Puyallup, WAAugust 15, 2018
Good Place to work. Great team.
Great Management
Easy going environment
laid back personalities
they are willing to learn and adapt for their customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good with people
Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Scottsbluff, NEAugust 14, 2018
I really like the job. When I work they are nice to me and they do not arguing with people and they are good people at the work place they do not play favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at sharis cafe & pies!
Dish machine operator (Former Employee) –  Kelso, WAJuly 30, 2018
Overall I enjoyed working at sharis very much. You become close to your coworkers and management feel like family as well. Everyone works hard equally for the most part. Great discounts and pay.
Pros
Lunches, getting to know regulars, relationship with coworkers
Cons
Can be fast paced non stop at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped me when I needed it.
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Lebanon, ORJuly 16, 2018
Shari's has provided me with a steady income for 2+ years now. I will always appreciate the skills I learned there. The most enjoyable part of the job is the steady, continuous work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All in All awesome place to work
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Medford, ORJuly 12, 2018
like I said just an awesome place to work the people I worked with are like family and are still like family management was good. Just reducing their hours a week that they work to one day a week is b*******terrible treatment of Veteran employees at Sheri's
Pros
Food, people
Cons
Horrible treatment of the older employees the ones that have been there is terrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAJuly 5, 2018
If i did not have to leave due to back issues i would still be there. They are family oriented. As long as you do your job management is happy. Works with your schedule
Pros
Hours, money, great place to work
Cons
Bad management at willows pond
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work expected. not enough time or help to do it
Cook (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDJuly 3, 2018
Sharis in Boise runs different than the rest, the restaurant is yours to sink because there is no help in sight. Not for cooking or for clean up. your the captain of your ship and it will go down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady job, poor management
Host, DMO (Former Employee) –  Sherwood, ORJune 20, 2018
General Manager would lie to his staff and post the next week of hours for everyone sometimes a day before we were meant to work them, as well as change hours around without telling anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn waitressing
Server (Former Employee) –  Clackamas, ORJune 18, 2018
This is a competitive restaurant in the sense that there is not normally a hostess so you are responsible for seating yourself and if you are not on the ball you may lose tables to a more competitive/experienced coworker. That being said many people working there would rotate who got tables next. If you can keep a smile on your face, and are a quick learner/good at time management this may be a job to consider.
Pros
discounted meals
Cons
inconsistent schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job if you're thinking about a diner
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Bend, ORJune 17, 2018
some of the best people I've ever worked with. 10/10 would suggest applying there, great hours, great pay, if you work in the back you get free meals, like full on dinners for lunch
Pros
free lunch, good hours and good pay
Cons
you can't leave till they think you're good to go
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i liked working there but..
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Medford, ORJune 12, 2018
two of the managers were unnecessarily mean to me and never gave me any hours so I was forced to find another job. other than that it was a fun upbeat job and I loved my coworkers. It got really stressful sometimes when it was busy
Pros
fun, upbeat, lots to do
Cons
mean managers, had to work on thanksgiving and christmas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible to work for
Server (Former Employee) –  Twin Falls, IDJune 11, 2018
i worked graveyards. told them i wouldnt be able to do it for long because of my three children and because i dont do well with graveyards. they reassured me it wouldnt be for long maybe a month or too. i was stuck on graveyard for close to 6 months. on top of that servers only make 3.25 an hour and you have to claim all your tips.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job quick paced
Server (Former Employee) –  Port Orchard, WAJune 2, 2018
I loved working at Shari's it was quick paced, friendly employees, over it was an amazing job and I would definitely go back if it wasn't so far away.
Pros
great staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot to like
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Oregon City, ORMay 26, 2018
Management was fair to all employees, and supportive of their staff.

Hours were always available - and pay was decent.

Time off requests were handled fairly.
Pros
free lunches, time off or additional hours on request.
Cons
short breaks, few paid benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managment
Server (Former Employee) –  Idaho Falls, ID 83402May 17, 2018
The restaurant and most of the management were ok to work for but there were some things there that were to competitive and there were some of the management that made no since about things they did or said.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace,
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Aloha, ORMay 6, 2018
As a cook it was a fast pace chaotic at times. Learning and memorize the menu ,practice to move quick with accuracy. It sucks when you can't relay on your co workers to show up on time or even at all. Don't be surprise if some walk out on the middle of a chaotic rush. The job will follow you home with the stench of burnt tar on your cloth, you'll have night mares the first couple weeks of the printing machine printing out an infinite amount of tickets for you to cook. On your days off must likely you'll be called. So I recommend silencing your cellphone. At time I would work two shifts. 12+ hours. Raises could come at ease if you're an asset to the company. Cuts and burns will accrue. At times strange activity may happen in the restroom must likely you'll be ask to handle the situation. After all you're the big scary cook. It aims all bad the first cab be great people or rude. You get one free meal delicious and you learn how to cook.
Pros
Hours, benefits, one free meal or discount
Cons
Rude costumers, sketchy people at night, fast pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty decent place to work
Dishwasher and Food Preparation, Hosting (Former Employee) –  Bremerton, WAMay 3, 2018
Shari's is not a bad place to work, hard to work with a few superiors but others did their job fantastically, Very fast paced work, and you cant slack even for a second or you will get overrun.
Pros
$10 off lunch at work and a 20% discount when not working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sharis
ASSISNTANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Beaverton, ORMay 3, 2018
sharis is a good place to work
You will be on your feet for most of your shift
management is really great
the hardest part is how long you are on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It Pays To Be Friendly
Restaurant Server (Former Employee) –  Medford, ORApril 21, 2018
You never get bored working here. The place is pretty hopping all the time and they have you running constantly. It was a little intimidating at first, but a good experience.
Pros
Discounted meals
Cons
Lots of employee drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work gets you nothing thrpugh this. Company
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Bend, ORApril 21, 2018
Working here sucked management doesn't care about anything and the only benefit you get is sick pay-and regardless of how many sick hour you earn the company will only pay for 40 a year and keep the rest
Pros
Too many hours
Cons
No respect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shari's Cafe and Pies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

1.7Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

1.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight