Sharkey Transportation, Inc. Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stayed busy daily...
Parts Specialist (Former Employee) –  Quincy, ILJune 10, 2018
I was enjoying the career there....but had no room for advancing. The people are really nice to work for and good pay. I didnt like my drive to work and had to find something more practical.
Pros
1 hour lunch break
Cons
No 401k
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work.
MECHANIC (Former Employee) –  Galesburg, ILApril 14, 2018
always something new to do from day to day. i would recomend anyone to work here. Although the hours are long every other week it still has a great balance between work and home scheduling.
Pros
safe work place
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company To Work For
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  MidwestApril 5, 2018
I've been Working As a Female Truck Driver For Sharkey Transportation Since 2009 And Im Still Here And its 2018 I Plan On This Being My Retirment Company.
What I Love About Them is They Care About Us Our Well-being Making Sure We Get Our Miles Our Home Time Time Off When We Need It.
I'm Very Hapy Here So If You Are Looking For A Good Company Sharkey Transportation Is The Place.
Pros
They Care About Their Drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get your own truck
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Quincy, ILJanuary 30, 2018
I start between 7-8am until work is finish, a normal work day is 10-12 hours, weekend is extra. The hardest part of my job was working in the winter be it gets so cold.
Pros
Paid lunch everyday
Cons
You Have to get your oil change every 3 month and you have to Drive to Quincy IL.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut corners shop
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Quincy, ILJanuary 12, 2018
Poor management lack of promotion no training opportunities
Shop doesn't abide by OSHA regulations and requirements
NO CDL required to work here any body can drive a vehicle out of the shop or in.
Pros
uniforms provided
Cons
Management and unsafe work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of sharky
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Quincy, ILNovember 1, 2017
They where a great company. They would give you any time off you need it is not paid time off though . Free health insurance. Home every weekend. Drop and hook load mainly
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work. Extreamly Driver Friendly!
Regional Driver (Current Employee) –  Central ILAugust 31, 2017
Best company for Communication. Ive had 2 great DM's and they Have a Driver Liaison if you have any concerns. If you need a something they take take care of it. ( special day off, more miles, extended time.) they will work with you. Pay is Consistent... You have to work for it though... Benefits / Ins is 100% premium paid....
the Coverage is great in my area no complaints. IM home every weekend.... I guess the thing I love the best is Im treated like a person / not a Commodity!
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive yet fun
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Quincy, ILAugust 16, 2017
one thing that i liked about Sharkey Tranportation was that it was a rather easy job when you got the hang of it and it was fun while we made sure work got done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed and poorly paid
Long Haul Driver (Former Employee) –  Quincy, ILAugust 13, 2017
Skarkey promised guaranteed minimum pay. While working there, I rarely made over the guaranteed minimum. I spent more time sitting in truckstops waiting for dispatchers and planners to find loads than I did actually driving. Their equipment was outdated, underpowered, and worn out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours
Driver (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 17, 2016
Great hours and home time and average work hours per day 6 but no benefits given. Pay is not great but for the hour one works is ok.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organized reputable company.
Fleet Manager (Former Employee) –  Quincy, ILJanuary 14, 2016
Great work environment with open communication from all branches throughout the chain of commands.

Organized flow of management both through drivers as well as internal positions.

Most enjoyable part of working for the company was the ability to manage a fleet of determined hard working drivers.

The hardest part of the job was staying stimulated as the position was very monotonous with a lot of down time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 12Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee support lacking
Billing Clerk (Current Employee) –  Quincy, ILSeptember 21, 2013
Should have better benefits, pay and support for the hard
working employees that are there
Pros
None
Cons
Benefits are poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 13Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Equipment is Old
Dispatcher/Planner (Former Employee) –  Quincy, ILJuly 29, 2013
Old Computers and also the Equipment that the Drivers use (Tractors and Trailers). Not a well organized company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over the road
Over the Road Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Quincy, ILMarch 12, 2013
I have enjoyed many years on the road, but would love something where I am home more often.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 32Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emplyees accept you fast and learn very quick
mechanic (Former Employee) –  Quincy ,ILNovember 17, 2011
they have two shifts days and nights. Tool venders come to buisness. Alot of good people to be around have a good time.
Pros
layed back enviroment
Cons
hardley any benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sharkey Transportation, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 16 reviews
56
43
34
22
11

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.6Culture

Sharkey Transportation, Inc. Reviews by Location