Shaw Construction Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety work area i love
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, NCSeptember 3, 2017
It was a nice experience i lern on the company how to run all the durt equipment the safe way for all the crew and i love the nice way they take care for the people i would like to find a job like the one
Pros
Nice breaks
Cons
Nice work area
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to work for and got a lot done
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Jenkinsville, SCAugust 8, 2017
enjoyed working for Shaw actually cared about their workers acted as if we were people not just a number in the company. I REALLY appreciated that but unfortunately they were bought out.
Pros
great company to work
Cons
not as of a big of company as some others
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job if you want to relocate.
Rigger's Helper (Former Employee) –  Newburg, MDApril 26, 2017
This job was in Maryland and I did not get to come home every weekend.
The job was good, had good pay and supervisor was good to work with.
Large company with plenty of work.
Pros
good pay, good supervisor
Cons
Too far from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Carpinteria, CADecember 6, 2016
Great company to work with and get experience do you work right and you a job just For me was just to far to travel to work every day I use to travel 1 he and a half
Pros
not much
Cons
most of the work is 45+ mins away
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Pipefitter Assistant (Former Employee) –  Denver, NCOctober 14, 2015
Shaw construction was a good company I enjoyed my time there, I wish it could have been longer. They could work on management and how they pick people to stay on full time. Overall good company.
Pros
Give aways
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Construction Worker (Former Employee) –  Freeport, ILSeptember 1, 2015
My typical day was waking up at 7 am and heading to the work site. i think one of the hardest parts of this job was the clean up after the demolitions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
By far the best place to learn how to use your hands, build, and make an impact you can see
Pipefitter/Welder/Boilermaker/Rigger (Former Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXAugust 17, 2014
We would work 10-14 hours a day, which was not ideal. The foreman and management were helpful for the most part. I learned about most all tools, metal working, cranes and rigging, boilers, welding, and more. The hardest part was the seven day work week and the travel. I would be gone for months at a time.
Pros
The money, using my imagination to build
Cons
The hours and lack of breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working in your own business.
Owner (Current Employee) –  Portales, NMJanuary 17, 2014
Times are rough here in New Mexico and business is not well.

Over saw the start of my own business from the ground up. Just need a better paying job with insurance. etc.
Pros
Owner
Cons
Workmans Comp Insurance, location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor supervision
Warehouse Foreman and Industrial Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, VAJanuary 1, 2014
Work for this company on two different locations. Both experience the supervision performed their job poorly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed being employed by The Shaw Group
Maintenance Mechanic/Fitter/Welder (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCDecember 2, 2013
Received work orders, went to work, supervisors realized we were professionals and allowed us to do our jobs
Pros
great benefits, family oriented
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
little pay and bad attitudes within the management
Foreman/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Yorktown, VAOctober 23, 2013
This company is not a very resourceful one. it seems to me like everyone is more worried about holding people down at the bottom than advancing people worthy of it to optimize there potential and production.
Pros
health benefits and work truck
Cons
pessimistic manamegement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Shaw was a good employer
millwright (Former Employee) –  Fulton, ARSeptember 3, 2013
A day with Shaw could be a building project, a training day, repairing an item. You never knew. This was the thing that I loved about my job.
Pros
wages, people, challenges
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Journeyman Electrician (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, VAAugust 24, 2013
Shaw (CB&I now) offered me advancement in all manners of the job. they offered great safety incentives and made sure everyone was treated equally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shaw is an excellent company to work for.
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Foulton, ARJuly 17, 2013
Shaw treats their employees very well. At least once a month they provide a full catered meal to all employees.
Pros
Good benefits and pay
Cons
Traveling
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of helpful management
Materials Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cliffside, NCJuly 8, 2013
learned the logistics of construction, how to manage shipments to and from job sites around the country.
Pros
independence
Cons
pricey medical benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved The Company
Class A Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Convent, LaJuly 4, 2013
Learned a lot working there, and I miss the guys who I worked with so many years ago.
Pros
Work evironment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Carpenter Helper (Former Employee) –  VermonJune 5, 2013
Long days at being a carpenter helper and carrying scaffolding poles, Great co-workers, Carrying 13' scaffold poles up a full flight of stairs
Pros
none
Cons
no per diem
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work invirement
Maintenance Millwright (Former Employee) –  Tonopah, AZMay 20, 2013
great place to work, good people safe plant stressed safety as a core value. good pay good friends just no job security
Pros
safe work atomousphere
Cons
so many different procedures for the same task
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent first job experience
INDUSTRIAL LABORER (Former Employee) –  st. paul VAMay 7, 2013
I had an experience that would last me a lifetime. I learned a lot working hands on and in class.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productiive
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Port Arthur, TXApril 25, 2013
Safety meeting at the start of each day at work, I successfully completed the course of instruction and application requirements for lean construction. Management worked with you and your co workers knew their skills. The hardest part of the job was getting the material for the job on time. Being told the you were doing a good job.
Pros
monthly safety meals
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shaw Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 41 reviews
517
417
37
20
10

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
3.9Culture