Shaw Industries Employee Reviews

Found 914 reviews matching the search See all 918 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encourages Team Work, offers competitive Benefit Packages including Relocation assistance and Bonus Incentives
Technical Manager (Former Employee) –  Dalton, GANovember 15, 2018
Great Opportunity to be a part of something new and exciting. Invited to share new ideas and mentor relationships. Seem to value older people and their experience - no hurry to force people into early retirement. Offer sign-on bonus
Pros
sign on bonus and performance bonus
Cons
relocation settlement dept has issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay
Relief Operator (Former Employee) –  Chatsworth, GANovember 14, 2018
Good pay good supervisees I liked my job but it was a temporary position I wish they would of hiredme bfore I had to find another job. Good benefits great place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees
Technician (Former Employee) –  Central, SCNovember 13, 2018
Great working with people i worked with. I also loved my job very much. Liked working with tools and machines. My knowledge of extrusion machinery is a plus to any emploeer
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management doesn't care about employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone is out to see you fail.
Lift Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  Adairsville, GANovember 11, 2018
I wouldn’t recommend anyone working at Shaw. It’s a bunch of drama. Everyone sleeps with everyone. People think they are better then everyone else. Management doesn’t do anything.
Pros
Money
Cons
Coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Twisting Operator (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCNovember 10, 2018
I would not recommend anyone to work in the twisting department at this plant. Training is very poor, it is a very stressful environment if you’re not trained properly. Other departments have it a lot easier than you will. You’ll be constantly moving and working like a slave while you see the people in the heatset department standing in the same spot for 12 hours. If you run out of tubes you have to go all the way back there to heatset to get them all the while they’re standing in the same spot for 12 hours and you have 225 positions you have to maintain that will breakout. When you get packages from extrusion you have to pull the tail and tie you own weaver knot, if they send you a package with no tail on it they want you to use it anyway which will guarantee you a breakout on the position you use it on. When you sent your packages to heatset you have to pull the tail and tie half of the weaver knot for them like the people working in heatset are babies. You will get sent bad packages from extrusion that look like they’re good packages until it gets to the end and it will breakout on you. The managers don’t care when you get sent bad yarn but God forbid you send something a little off to heatset. When extrusion sends you your yarn they come in these 5’ by 5’ cages stacked about four rows high and it is really bad on your back and arms to get them out when you get to the bottom of the cage and you have to try and pull them out. I wouldn’t recommend this job and this stressful situation to even the most evil person that I know.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Stressful environment, poor training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
diverse group of people to work with
cloth doffer (Current Employee) –  Chickamauga, GANovember 9, 2018
we make carpet backing and send it out to customers which make me proud to be working for this company. Knowing we are a part of the carpet industry makes me enjoy what I do.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Kent, WANovember 5, 2018
Working for Shaw was extremely stressful. They have poor management and high expectations for workers. There is also no room to move up in the company.
Pros
The pay rate
Cons
The management, work performed, and culture of the warehouse
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard worker
Genral Laborer (Former Employee) –  United StatesNovember 3, 2018
Genral labor show me what to do an i will learn quick an do my job right an stay bussie and i all wayes have to be doing some thing dnt like to stop working iif thears work to be done i finsh it just the way its suposed to be i dont like quiting when job not finshed i will work over if i have to to finish my job then i will clock out thats me
Pros
No smoking on property
Cons
Ten minute brake
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was the lead electrician on third shift but never was compensated , had to train everyone.
Electrician A (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe Springs, CAOctober 31, 2018
this company is very fast pased i had to be on my toes, working with live voltages and training everyone and not getting compensated, very funny some of the people in charge where trained by me...
Pros
i was there a long time ago maybe things changed
Cons
they process carpet, not sure if they will survive change
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and unorganized
Hard Surfaces Expediting Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Denver, CO 80238October 31, 2018
Working for Shaw on a daily basis had its perks but most of all it was unorganized and stressful. Lack of communicating important information was a detriment to the flow and was often frustrating. The fact that corporate would make all autocratic decisions leaves employees feeling helpless and unable to perform their duties due to management ignorance and neglect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ehs tech
Compliance Specialist-EHS Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Cartersville, GAOctober 30, 2018
inspect and keep records of fall protection equipment
Inspect and keep records of the emergency action plan.
Check flammable cabinets
Conduct weekly pellet audits
Conduct and maintain our storm water program
Pros
flexible time
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work
SPECIAL ACCOUNT REP. ADMIN (Former Employee) –  Dalton, GAOctober 25, 2018
I worked here for 5 1/2 years and this job was fairly easy but did little to compensate for sick leave. All in all I enjoyed the experience more than I enjoyed the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Human Resource Rep (Former Employee) –  Clinton, SCOctober 24, 2018
Great place to work, working with great people whom want to see you succeed and prosper. Team environment. Hires from within before hiring outsiders. Great working hours and referral bonuses given. Retention bonus given and always off on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Oriented, Innovative, looking forward
Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Dalton, GAOctober 23, 2018
Great place to work. Management and Corporate are always looking at ways to engage associates. Safety is of high concern at all times. Great training for associates who wish to get ahead.
Pros
Good Pay, good environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok if you know the right people
Utility relief (Current Employee) –  Dalton, GAOctober 22, 2018
Probably ok to work for if you are willing to kiss butt or if you don't speak your mind. At my last 2 plants, counting the current one, management was/is poor and some tend to show blatant favoritism.
Pros
Decent pay rates for most jobs
Cons
They hire upper management based on education and they have NO experience in the actual job field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Business services specailist (Former Employee) –  daton, gaOctober 22, 2018
I would rather not provide a review, i do not feel that my work from 10 years ago at this location would be adaquate for the current company that Shaw has grown into since i no longer work there
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a ok company to work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  LaFayette, GAOctober 21, 2018
Management was poor in many ways and you really didn’t get to get a lot of overtime when u want it. Work was slowing up a lot and workers where getting laid off randomly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Fork Lift Driver, Pole Hytser Driver, Operator (Former Employee) –  Ringgold, GAOctober 20, 2018
Had a lot of fun at this job. The cultural was great and the people that I worked around we're awesome. The management team we're also good and responsive to any of the employees needs
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not bad for a manufacturer
Sidematch Feeder (Former Employee) –  Franklin, NCOctober 19, 2018
Shaw is a decent company to work for. Pay is fair just not up to the cost of living for this area. Turnover rate is high due to them blindly hiring everyone and anyone. That would be my biggest concern. Having to work with people who was just there to work. They disregard safety and/or respect. Shaw does give many opportunities for advancement and the management is pretty good. They make notice of people who work hard. Upper management is also ok. Could use some improvements in Human Resources. Seems to be disorganized.
Pros
Decent Pay, Great working environment(except the few airheads), advancement opportunities, benefits
Cons
Human Resources, Down Time (equipment failure)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safe
Warper Operator (Current Employee) –  Calhoun, GAOctober 19, 2018
Friendly environment very helpful management not a very noisy environment , relaxed atmosphere , affordable food for lunches and breaks . friendly overall
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shaw Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 918 reviews
5347
4319
3158
255
139

See reviews about

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

3.3InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight