Shawcor Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Worker 1 (Current Employee) –  Pearland, TXMay 29, 2018
fun place to work every one is so friendly and nice. always make your 40 hrs or more. overtime is always provide. work late night till 12 am and still expect to come back at 6:30 am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding Job and rewarding
NONDESTRUCTIVE TEST TECHNICIAN, LEVEL II (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXApril 15, 2018
I enjoyed working for Shawcor. Very physical and rewarding job. It was a new adventure every day. Sometimes dangerous but always we always practiced safety first. Would gladly work there again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Former employee (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMarch 24, 2018
Management used to be good when this company was Desert NDT. Now that it is Shawcor, they treat their employees more like numbers than people. Many people are leaving Shawcor and management doesn't have a clue as to why. However, it is a good stepping stone for those trying to get into the industry with no experience.
Pros
Good Place To Start, Free Training.
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not productive, poor management, no intention of advancing employees.
Flex Member (Current Employee) –  Fontana, CAJanuary 10, 2018
The company would rather hire 100 temps per year than hire 10 people on to their company. Allow poor management people in lead positions. Focus on money not employee health.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place
Assistant Technician (Current Employee) –  Henryetta, OKDecember 20, 2017
good pay/benefits, but i was not given the hours/wk i desired due to overhiring by upper management and was only scheduled for 7 weeks out of the 4 months i worked for them.
Pros
good pay
Cons
terrible hiring procedure
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Pearland, TXDecember 8, 2017
Management was terrible and work environment was completely unprofessional. There are no benefits as they hire you through a temp agency. Everyone there seems to be out for themselves.
Pros
Slow pace
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Pay
RAW MATERIAL HANDLER (Former Employee) –  Channelview, TXDecember 7, 2017
this job policies are low will not hire anyone with a background ever and only pay production workers 10.00 hourly. The people there are sweet but trying to grow with this company's a no go
Pros
alot of hours
Cons
no life
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tendency to be old-fashioned
VP HR (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 27, 2017
Need to move forwards in their management of people. Dated in their approach to management styles and approach.
Limited communication of strategy and occasionally cliques would drive the comms.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
North America Accounting Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 14, 2017
The general office feeling has declined along with the price of oil as well as the addition of a Dutch president who is very aloof and non-communicative.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of travel
API Inspector (Former Employee) –  TexasOctober 24, 2017
Sat at home for the 1st 6-7 months of the year, collecting a guaranteed 60hrs per pay period. Management has gone down hill, the manager is great but he shoulders all the responsibility and ends up with a horrible lack of communication. Horrible project planning, and once it gets more then one job they cant handle it. Some of the guys I worked with were awesome, it felt like a family in the office I was located in, Benefits arent bad but not worth the headache and stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Admin Asst
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 4, 2017
Was in training to help the VP with admin things

Helped clear out the extra stuff brought over from the merging of two offices.

Started working on the new rebranding steps for the office.

This was a temporary position and I tried to help as much as i could, and it was very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
X-Ray Technician (Current Employee) –  Elk City, OKSeptember 24, 2017
The time for it took to advance in the company takes way too long. The benefits are ok but a little pricey. The communication between the district and corporate is almost non-existent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work!
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXSeptember 4, 2017
All work was done efficiently and the right way! I was definitely recommend Shawcor for any work that needs to me done in their area of work! Go get you’re pipe today!!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Film Interpreter / Assistant Radiographer (Former Employee) –  Brighton, COAugust 30, 2017
Great company to work for, my only bad experience was my car became unreliable which made me show up late five times which got me in trouble with company attendance policies.
Pros
Great job, Great management
Cons
pay is lower than what I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
CWI Inspector (Current Employee) –  Henryetta, OKAugust 17, 2017
My boss and workplace are great. Corporate culture a little lacking, but my boss really goes to bat for us in any situation we might be in. I highly recommend working for the henryetta office
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is ok just not getting hours
Level 2 Technician (Current Employee) –  Searcy, AR50April 23, 2017
It's a good place to work but the pay is not the best and hours are not there now , management is all ways changing, and some lack of communication,but over all not bad work
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
High health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just ok
Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Channelview, TXMarch 9, 2017
Poor communication with management and workers. A fair amount of time is supposed to be given if needed to work on a scheduled day off, they may let you know only hours in advance. Pay raises are non existent, at least for the last 3 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Goal Driven
Safety Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 18, 2017
Company is very involved in starting each day with a good safe attitude from all the site workers. Meetings help to address any issues from the previous day.
Pros
Free lunches, good training
Cons
No stability
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job with Travel
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 15, 2017
Amazing experience if wanting to advance and travel with hard work ethic. Mutiple locations and leading in the industry with new forms of technology. Pipeline coatings of all different kinds. Great benefits and fair salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place
Advanced Services Lead Technician (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXJanuary 22, 2017
the work just didn't come fast enough. Ended up getting laid off. The culture is not too bad and the people are very nice and polite. that in its self is a good thing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shawcor. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 67 reviews
522
412
322
25
16

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture