Shell Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 5,178 reviews
Ratings breakdown
52K
41.6K
3961
2309
1252
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 2,463 reviews matching the search See all 5,177 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Broomfield, COJuly 19, 2018
Job was spent restocking organizing no proper training was done. I only worked weekends. My time spent here was relaxing on most days but quick paced at times there are no designated breaks
Cons
No time for bathroom breaks customer can walk in at any point
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Minus The Boss
Gas Station Attendant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Palmer, TX 75152July 19, 2018
I worked nights there which it had its moments, ups and downs, lack of manpower for training a new night clerk sucked and the manager hitting on me constantly is partly why I chose to leave there. So its a gamble there at shell
Pros
night position
Cons
manager sexually harasses you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Chino, CAJuly 18, 2018
Family company with nepotistic practices, but the company was okay to work for. They did not pay you much but it's an okay job if you're going to school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place of work was great
WORK PACKAGE TECHNICIAN RAM-POWELL (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 18, 2018
The atmosphere on the location was family as we were on a remote island producing oil and gas, We had many of extra activities to do once off shift, watch movies, play ping pong, karaoke nights, corn hole games, etc., but during the day was get up run reports check on employees needs and meeting after meeting with main office. Some were between meetings was trying to get work done, balance to platform budgets, order supplies, walk down jobs, manage warehouse inventory, process new work requests into work orders estimate hours to perform the work and create a budget for the job task. Contact vendors for quotes for the jobs.
Pros
401K was great, pension, healthcare providers
Cons
Stressful, always adding more work than any one person can accomplish in a time period.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced and fun!
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Hastings, MIJuly 18, 2018
Overall i love shell. Ive just outgrown it. There isnt very much room for growth. Im only part time and i want more hours with better pay. I enjoy climbing the ladder and consistaly trying to improve myself. With shell once you learn how everything works that is pretty much that. It is deffently a very fast paced setting. You have to be self motivated because everyday is different and you need to be able to adjust differently to different days. As well as use your time wisley. Smiles and welcoming is very big there!
Pros
Fair pay, flexable schedule
Cons
No lunch break, no benefits for part time employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and lots of autonomy
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 18, 2018
Shell expects you to do your job, and they value diverse approaches in getting the job done. They offer very competitive pay for the jobs that they offer, but they expect a lot in return: its not uncommon to see folks sending e-mails and odd hours (especially if you are in management)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place sucks STAY AWAY
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJuly 18, 2018
I worked st shell for abour 2 months and in August 2016, my daughter was diagnosed with cancer. Called my manager let him know what’s going on, and I can provide drs note and whatever he needed, he still has the audacity to ask if I can come in for my next shift left him a vm told him I needed to talk bout the situation, nope no return call. All he cared about if I can come in and work. This place is a joke, joke on wheels. They need better management
Pros
None
Cons
Not compassionate rude disrespectful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Marcellus, MIJuly 17, 2018
I was a stocker at first then moved up to cashier. The people I worked with are nice people the town was nice people also . I didn't mind the job at all was just time to move on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work at night shift
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJuly 16, 2018
I work the night shift at 6 pm and 6 am in the morning I cleaning all the store also I help the people for this transfer money the management is very smart
Pros
free dinar
Cons
short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a decent job
Cashier Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 16, 2018
It was a job. You stayed busy, the hours we're flexible if you were in school. Management made sure you were trained well before putting you by yourself
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Overnight shift is lonely
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paste
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Niles, MIJuly 16, 2018
I liked working with the public and staying busy and my coworkers were very easy to work with. There was always so.ething to do I don't like standing around I liked to stay busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Information
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bradford, PAJuly 16, 2018
Shell is a good company to work for with opportunities to advance within the company. You can relocate and move throughout the organization from down stream to mid stream to upstream. As well all over the world.
Pros
Advancement, Expatriate opportunities
Cons
Easy to get caught in an Asset Sale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its pretty good, slow at times
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Orangeburg, SCJuly 16, 2018
I enjoy working for she'll, I just need more money then what I'm making..The only reason I would leave for another job is for more pay. The job is paying my bills but I need more because once my bills are paid that's it..Kinda hard living pay check to pay check, but overall shell is a great store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was terrible. My boss and some coworkers were very hard to deal with
Full Service (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 15, 2018
Even though this job was awful, I worked hard every time I went in. It’s who I am, and my hard work was never recognized. The owner of the particular Shell I worked at didn’t even know my name, and I talked to him on several occasions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't go back
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 15, 2018
The manager was very dirty minded and I didn't like working alone with him. The asst manager she was very nice I had no problem with her. I loved my custome's and the work I done though. The Manager was the only down fall.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INJuly 15, 2018
Some what enjoyable, sometime I couldn't wait to leave to go home. Counting the cigarettes was the hardest, learned nothing. Different kind of workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it meet alot of differnt people
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 14, 2018
love Mondays, mostly because the day flies by in a flash. On a given day, during the early hours you will find me speaking to the clients, finding out – proactively – what their priorities are for the week, meeting with team for half hour to communicate the clients’ needs
Pros
fun plac to work
Cons
manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa que se destaca por su limpieza y servicio al cliente.
Cajero (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRJuly 14, 2018
Gasolina Shell es una empresa excelente y de ambiente laboral muy cómodo.
Pros
Incentivos
Cons
Horario rotativo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
computer working fun working and hard a little
Production operator (Former Employee) –  philippinesJuly 14, 2018
I want to a get job for helping my family and myself to build my own house and want to be rich i finding a job for easy way like this i want a job like a computer working
Pros
Anything
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work environment
Manager (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, PAJuly 13, 2018
Shell was an easy environment to work at. We worked alone yet we all were pretty motivated to make the place the best it could be! We strive for the best there! No one stood still. We all had the understanding that there at a gas station we had to keep cleaning or it would fall apart lol! We all got along and helped each other at all times. that means that if someone needed to call off there was always one of us to be there or if the person had a hard day we would leave little inspirational notes and sometimes would have even their work done for them if they were the opener the next morning! It just was a great place to work and i miss it there actually!
Pros
Work alone
Cons
It changed owners and it was hard to get used to!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport