Shenandoah University Employee Reviews

Showing all 63 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Box Office Associate (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VAMay 15, 2019
If you're a minority this may not be the place for you. Although there mission is inclusivity it may take a lot of growing pains and patience to see the change come through. Unfortunately the Winchester community isn't or wasn't at the time I was employed with Shenandoah University to reflect the opportunities that are available. You have to ask the right questions to the right people and hound them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good for student employees
Information Desk Attendant (Current Employee) –  Winchester, VAMarch 19, 2019
I have heard good things about higher positions at shenandoah. However, work study employees are not paid well but still expected to act like we work in a CEO office. The management is strict over the little things and crack down hard when they feel like it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shenandoah University
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Winchester, VAFebruary 26, 2019
Amazing School to work for and study at. Researched Medicaid expansion, education, immigration, and infrastructure for the Congresswoman, which helped ten constituents directly and over fifty constituents indirectly
Engaged in discourse on educational policy with government officials, school administration, and business owners
Served as the secretary to the Congresswoman (i.e. recorded meeting minutes, scheduled meetings)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work/life balance but....
Office Manager, Accreditation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VAFebruary 25, 2019
If you are looking to grow professionally as a staff member, sadly this is not the place to grow professionally. The university is wonderful institution with an emphasized value on learning but has a hard time retaining strong employees that usually leave for other institutions.
Pros
Work/Life Balance, Educational Benefits
Cons
Pay, Benefits, Professional Development for Staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work environment
Chemistry and Mathematics Tutor (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VAJanuary 2, 2019
As a student tutor I was given flexible hours that I set for myself which was a great benefit. My supervisor was friendly and very easy to work with. I would work for Shenandoah University again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conducive for higher learning
Preconception Health Researcher (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VAOctober 29, 2018
Development of an enduring passion for learning
Commitment to self-reflection and personal development
Respect for diverse cultures, experiences, and perspectives
A celebration of creative performance, expression, teaching, and discovery
Cultivation of leadership to advance positive change and growth
Dedication to citizenship, professional services, and global outreach
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great university for the arts
Scenic Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VASeptember 30, 2018
Work study jobs are very fair with hour's and pay is alright. The work environment is fairly relaxed most of the time. the people are all great and fun to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfortunate work culture.
Associate Director, Occupational Therapist (Current Employee) –  Winchester, VASeptember 24, 2018
The hybrid program is an amazing learning platform and the students dedicated.

The program requires you to travel to two campuses. But you do receive mileage for this travel.

I have learned so much about ACOTE and higher education.

The work culture is not conducive to various opinions or personalities.
Pros
Hybrid program
Cons
Coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VAAugust 19, 2018
Fairness was given when possible for time off,
Worked 10 hours shift and times varied from 2 am or 4 am to afternoons.
Dealing with college students. You have to cater to them.
Pros
Camaraderie with officers
Cons
Had to go into student dorms
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SU is family
Head Volleyball Coach (Current Employee) –  Winchester, VAAugust 1, 2018
The environment at SU is a close family one. I feel very happy going to work. The job that I do is flexible and I have the ability to be with my family when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respiratory Care Clinical Instructor
Clinical Instructor (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VAJuly 31, 2018
Clinical instructor for Shenandoah University Respiratory Care students. Educated students on how to provide Respiratory Care for patient population at Winchester Medical Center / Virginia Hospital Center
Pros
Contract position with flexible schedule
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wow!
Special Projects Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VAJune 5, 2018
I have learned so much from Shenandoah University. It was great being able to build my resume from Shenandoah and being able to learn new skills. I would not have changed my experience for the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place ever
Rather Not Say (Current Employee) –  Winchester, VAMay 31, 2018
Love working here! Just come in get the work I need to get done listen to students and help them grow. Management and supervisors are always here for me and others.
Pros
love it all
Cons
dislike nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working experience
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VAMay 27, 2018
The job I held was temporary but I enjoyed working with my direct supervisor and the benefits were good, average pay. I would recommend this employer to anyone seeking employment,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adorable
Physical Therapy Mentorship (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VAMay 22, 2018
I observed many children here. It was so great to see these kids grow, even just the little bit that I saw. Everyone was great and friendly and willing to help me with anything I needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Front Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VAMay 16, 2018
it was very relaxing to say the least. All you have t do is check people in and do your HW and you will be fine. We have monthly meetings as well. good place to work.
Pros
easy
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shenandoah University
Adjunct Professor School of Arts (Current Employee) –  Winchester, VAApril 26, 2018
Great Leadership. The Dean was an amazing person and the students are vibrant and loving. The campus is peaceful and quiet. Very nice place and there is no traffic communing there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overview
Current Employee (Current Employee) –  Leesburg, VAApril 2, 2018
Love working with the students of SU.
follows some of the federal holidays and has some of its own.
tries to be inclusive.
it is an average place to work - nothing special.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shenandoah University is offers an excellent work environment. Employees are encouraged to increase their educational level through employee benefits
Family Nurse Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Winchester, VAMarch 14, 2018
Shenandoah University is a proactive, innovative, ever-advancing student setting which offers many cultural experiences to both students, staff and faculty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Institutional Work Study program
Student Employee (Current Employee) –  Winchester, VAMarch 12, 2018
Shenandoah offers a great program that allows students to have an income while pursuing their studies. I am typically tasked with various activities throughout the biology department. Typical work includes organizing, cataloging, cleaning labs, and prepping materials for labs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shenandoah University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 63 reviews
538
412
39
24
10

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

3.5InHerSight Score

3.4Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

3.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight