Sheppard Pratt Health System Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't do it
figure it out (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 14, 2018
worst place to work, management has no real experience other than those walls. lack of support and liars! its not about the healing, its about the money!
Pros
leaving
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The money is job, but the overall job is horrible
Clinic Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 13, 2018
Management is terrible, they don’t care about employees well being. Well work you if you allow them. Hours are there, but they don’t care about employees
Pros
Employees are helpful
Cons
Really no breaks, bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 6, 2018
Poor management , this was ne of the best job ive had due to lack of management i had poor lack of leadership but overall it was a great work place in all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sharphard hills
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  LaFayette, GAJune 25, 2018
Very great place to work friendly loving quiet clean fun . employees get along work together help one another laughing smile. No aruging just plan ole cool place to work. Your will make time yoy to be off if need . with no ? Ask .just return on the day u suppose d to come to work
Pros
Great place
Cons
N a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok thr the management suck they need to be trained on how to do the employees work also
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDJune 11, 2018
The management of Sheppard Pratt need to be trained on all the work that the employees do too so they can have knowledge of what's going on with the employees
Pros
Free food
Cons
Managment could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ehh
Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, MDMay 25, 2018
Worst job I have ever worked at. The pay is awful, the management really sucks, and there is no structure. Always short staffed and often mandated. It was easy to pick up over time, however even if you did not pick up extra shifts you were probably going to be mandated. No time for lunch. No time to do anything. If you like to get attacked by patients then by all means work here, but if you have some common sense I would look else where.
Pros
Over time, Pto
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful grounds, they try to uphold the principles of the founders
RN Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Towson, MDMay 14, 2018
Multi cultural workplace, frequent opportunity for advancement. I was fortunate to work closely with all members of the treatment team, learning a great deal from SW, discharge coordinators and psychiatrists, as well as nursing staff,management and educator. The chief complaint would be the time spent at a computer working on discharge summaries, group documentation and care plan development. I miss milieu management and direct care.
Pros
Good benefits, dedicated employees
Cons
High staff turnover, in particular with nursing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start
Dedicated Aide (1-on-1) (Former Employee) –  Lanham, MDMay 13, 2018
Love the kids, enjoyed staff. Learned about mental health. You must have a love for people and children with medical needs. You can learn alot and its a great start company to learn
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Licensed Clinical Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Ellicott City, MDMay 10, 2018
It was a nice place to work and that is all I can share about this company and don't feel that I need to rate all the jobs that I have had over the years,
Pros
I liked my job
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
Residential Counselor (Current Employee) –  Towson, MDApril 14, 2018
The job is relaxing and does not require alot of physical work however the hours are long and you do not recieve breaks regularly. The job offers overtime which is a bonus if this is your only source of income.
Pros
Easy work shift
Cons
No cell phones no pto and no in between breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A work day at sheppard Pratt
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDApril 10, 2018
Come in clock in get your supply. Make your way to your area and start your work. How each doctor like their office cleaned. I really was not happy with my supervisor or management. The job is really easy to me. When all your work is completed for the shift
Pros
good pay
Cons
Far to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation
Crisis Intervention Counselor (Current Employee) –  Bel Air, MDApril 8, 2018
I have worked for this company since 2000, but, have not received a raise in almost 15 years, due to being grant based.

I feel that the work that I do is very rewarding, but, also stressful at times.
Pros
Flexible time
Cons
It can be very demanding at times due to crisis situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place
Chart Preparation Technician (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDMarch 8, 2018
The department was relatively quiet, the hospital was alright, nothing too exciting to report. The work culture was mainly geared toward a team type attitude which helped make the job a little more seamless.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Ball of Confusion
Residential Resource Specialist (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 5, 2018
You will enjoy the connections you build with the youth & some co-workers. However the culture at the Mann RTC is lacking. It will leave you drained working their for a long period of time. The more work you put in and work, the more you will be left feeling under appreciated and at risk of serious burnout. You will be at risk of physical harm and at times those in positions of power may shrug their shoulders when you complain about certain conditions. I love helping the youth, however you have some youth that do not care about their treatment, their peers, or your well-being. I wish I could say more positive things, right now my co-workers and some youth are the main reasons I return to work each day.
Pros
Helping the youth, co-worker support
Cons
Upper management, pay, stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Counselor (Former Employee) –  The Jefferson SchoolMarch 5, 2018
Unsupportive management that does not get involved in the process or provide reasonable solutions to growing concerns and problems that are presented to them.
Pros
Healthcare
Cons
Low staff morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent provider of behavioral health care
Program Manager-Harford County Mobile Crisis Team (Former Employee) –  Bel Air, MDMarch 4, 2018
As an employee, it is very clear that the patients/clients/consumers are the top priority. The history and legacy of the founders is a key piece to the lasting excellence of care provided.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of structure and effective management
MENTAL HEALTH WORKER (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDMarch 3, 2018
Very fast paced, depends on your level of education to determine the level of respect you receive on a daily basis. A medical model but focuses on psychiatric help, there is a need for more influence from the psychology practitioners and less from the nursing staff unless they are psych certified.
Pros
wonderful co-workers, fun happy hours after long days
Cons
mandated to work, bad weather policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Occupational Therapist OTR/L (Current Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDFebruary 24, 2018
Variety of patients/students with various abilities and disabilities to work with; different areas of practice; challenging yet rewarding work; can learn so much
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is destroying this hospital
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Towson, MDFebruary 24, 2018
I love being a psych nurse. It is my absolute passion, however, the poor management at this hospital could suck the life out of anyone. We are constantly short staffed and are mandated to do overtime but nothing is ever done to address WHY the turn over rate is so high. The managers are unqualified, rude, and completely incompetent. Because they are all friends with the CNO they aren’t going anywhere. My personal manager was never even a charge nurse but her friend CNO made her the manager of the unit with the highest acuity in the hospital. I love my patients and I love my coworkers and it breaks my heart that poor management is running this hospital into the ground
Pros
Never a dull moment
Cons
Management seems to share one brain between the lot of them
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware
Mental Health Worker (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDFebruary 2, 2018
I would caution most people to work here. Unless you have connections or relationships within the system, you will never feel very secure especially with colleagues. My manager never backed me up when I performed all my duties accordingly. In fact, I believe certain communications were deleted or outright ignored. Working with the patients is rewarding, but it's not a one person job. It really needs to be a collaborative effort with equal respect for all positions. Save yourself and look elsewhere.
Pros
Benefits, relatively consistent schedule
Cons
Lack of teamwork, poor management, safety issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sheppard Pratt Health System. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 108 reviews
537
431
322
213
15

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.4

2.0Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight