Shire Employee Reviews

Found 410 reviews matching the search See all 465 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent starting salary, fun environment.
Senior Plasma Center Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INSeptember 10, 2018
Enjoyed my time there. Did not enjoy the management team I worked with. Loved the donors, loved the pace, loved the work. But after two years of doing the same job, I needed more responsibility and purpose. My management team was not willing to offer me those things.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of moving parts
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bannockburn, ILSeptember 7, 2018
With 2 mergers/buy outs in less than 3 years, nothing is consistant. There is so much change is procedure, ethics, etc that you can't keep up.

Management is never on the same page.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average company
Materials Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Chesterbrook, PAAugust 24, 2018
Good aspects, aspects in need of improvement. Several positions held, there is encouragement for finding your strengths and a role that fits them. Lots of office politics, behind the scenes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of change with merger
Specialty Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  New York StateAugust 24, 2018
Company is being purchased and there is currently a lot of uncertainty and cost cutting. Leadership has changed the culture of the company de-valued what was once a great culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
QUALITY CONTROL ANALYST IN CHEMISTRY (Current Employee) –  Social Circle, GAAugust 21, 2018
I can honestly say that shire is a great company to work for. You learn a lot of assays rather quickly but that keeps you on your toes. The company is really professional and makes you feel appreciated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience as a contractor at Shire
QMS Lead - Contractor (Current Employee) –  Lexington, MAAugust 20, 2018
I had a great experience as a contract writer at Shire. The position required me to work with many functional areas and most groups were great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused work force, upper management rarely interacts with staff at lower levels
Audit Manager/Lead (Former Employee) –  Exton, PAAugust 19, 2018
Upper Management never came down to the lower level to interact , decisions made at higher level, no input from staff. Staff very dedicated to the mission of the company, however, acquisition of new companies became the focus of management, tinkering with staff's career due to layoffs, post acquisitions.
Pros
Good perks
Cons
Upper management did not engage with staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmaceutical Sales
Senior Professional Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Greenville, SCAugust 15, 2018
Pharmaceutical job. Greenville South Carolina Area. 8 years experience with company. Many things have changed over the years. Gone from one product company to biotech.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Opinion
Manager Quality Systems (Former Employee) –  Bannockburn, ILAugust 14, 2018
Company mission is great. Upper management is only looking out for their selves. Never know when they are going to terminate you and never justified.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with a great environment.
Senior Plasma Center Technician (Former Employee) –  Clarksburg, WVAugust 8, 2018
I loved working at biolife in clarksburg west virginia. I worked there for 5 years and I dont regret a thing. There is plenty of room for advancement and the management is very supportive. You become family with your co workers and you become close to the donors also. It is deffinitly the best job I have ever had. If it wasn't for the hours because of me having 3 small children I would still be there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Patient Support Manager (Current Employee) –  Lexington, MAAugust 4, 2018
Great place to work, I would highly recommend it to friends and family. I've learned a great deal from Shire that will carry me me forward in my carrier.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Exton, PAAugust 2, 2018
is a great place to work, nice people and fun. Very easy to learn if you know how to search for the information. Management is very knowledgeable and willing to help.
Pros
close to my house
Cons
I never got a free lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not much to say
Consultant/Contractor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 31, 2018
a lot has changed, it wasn't a great culture after all of the changes in the past few years and now that takeda is taking over - will have to see what happens...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture
Procurement Analyst Intern (Former Employee) –  Lexington, MAJuly 26, 2018
Growth Opportunities
Sound Management
Great exposure as an intern
Worth the effort you put in at work
High Rewards
You will get your desired attention from the management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Culture is Lacking
Manager (Former Employee) –  Lexington, MAJuly 19, 2018
There is not much of a corporate culture at Shire in words only, not in action.

Lots of changes and negative environment due to pending acquisition.

Working in a lean environment.

Best part is co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn a lot about Biotech
Director, Head of Manufacturing (Current Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CAJuly 14, 2018
Good place to work and learn a lot about Biotech. International company that grew via acquisitions. A strong pipeline with a Shire manufacturing and CMO network.
Pros
Competitive Benefits and Salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work...not a good atmosphere.
Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Covington, GAJuly 12, 2018
Great benefits, great employees, great bonuses, and easy duties. Needs improvement on communication skills, management/employee interaction, work/life balance, and core values.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor integrity
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard-working people and good work-life balance.
Product Quality Lead (Current Employee) –  Lexington, MAJuly 12, 2018
Good work life balance.

Management is a bit unorganized.

Employees work hard but are not always empowered to make decisions.

Learned a lot about Quality Systems and GMP Biologics Manufacturing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Working Enironment
Manufacturing Technician I (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 10, 2018
During the time I was there, the working environment was pretty relaxed. This could have been due to the company buying out Baxalta and the closure of one of its buildings.
Pros
Relaxed environment
Cons
Layoffs and low job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Uneasy
Senior Systems Administrator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 9, 2018
Overall the company seems to have many changes going on! I am not comfortable there because there is no room for growth. They have been really transparent
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shire. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 465 reviews
5131
4139
3112
243
140

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture

Women's ratings

3.5Fairygodboss Score

38%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

88%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss