Shire Employee Reviews

Found 433 reviews matching the search See all 489 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Performance driven culture
Pharmaceutical Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  PANovember 14, 2018
Shire has always been a performance driven culture and an aggressive company. Takeda merge is pending January 2019; thus changing name, culture and everything.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
High turnaround
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company; work/life balance / freedom to make imdependent decisions.
QUALITY ASSURANCE - CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Lexington, MANovember 13, 2018
The workday is completely focused on doing your job. Praise and criticism are given appropriately and frequently. Excellent environment; workspace, location, cafeteria is excellent, and a subsidized Starbucks!
Pros
Independence, work/life balance, well respected
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working here
Manager, Global Supplier Quality (Current Employee) –  Bannockburn, ILNovember 9, 2018
Shire is a great company with many benefits. I am just currently looking for what is next when I want to do what I am doing full-time from a different location. With the Takeda purchase - not necessarily knowing what the future holds.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked on a passion project for kids requiring-implantable spinal docks
Clinical Trial Associate (Former Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 7, 2018
This was a very fast paced and high-energy environment, this allowed an employee to reach his/her full potential. No ideas were shot down without proper vetting. This was a true testament to the mission driven culture produced by Shire.
Pros
beautiful campus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changes not for the better
Sr Manufacturing Technician / Work (Current Employee) –  Covington, GANovember 2, 2018
Upper management are out of touch with things that are needed to do our job in a safe and efficient manner. Many times we voice our concerns where our concerns are rarely heard. Add that to the poor work/life balance, this is a company I definitely wouldn't recommend.
Pros
Teamwork
Cons
Terrible Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Quality Assurance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Covington, GANovember 2, 2018
Shire Covington could be an excelent place for career growth for people with experience and young people to start their careers and within company.
Unfortunately management is terrible. Most of manufacturing management are not qualified for these positions and they cannot perform their responsibilities and depend too much on others, leaving their groups practically with no support. Hiring process is based on friendship or for people with talking skills. Promotions are not based on employee performance. HR doesnt follow their own rules when people apply, all depending of who it is. The culture is terrible and it makes good employees feel unvaluabled.
Pros
New site, good technology
Cons
Bad culture, Extreme poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Senior Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lexington, MAOctober 30, 2018
Shire is a great place to work and I love the culture. So many different and amazing people to work with from all over the world.

I've learned a tremendous amount from working at Shire and Ive meet some very interesting and very smart individuals.
Pros
Very Flexible
Cons
sometimes it can be a little too quiet
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lame duck session with pending Takeda acquisition
Manager (Current Employee) –  Lexington, MAOctober 26, 2018
Many people have given up already, and only the most critical business activities are continuing in any sort of productive manner. The company never really learned to operate as a large company following the Baxalta acquisition and it shows, with lack of process discipline (especially in corporate functions) and many people who clearly are in over their head in running their business function.
Pros
Competitive compensation and benefits, flexibility to work remotely part of the time
Cons
No discernable company culture, absent or apathetic senior management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership Lacking and a Toxic Culture
Associate Director (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MAOctober 17, 2018
It is unfortunate what the organization has become.

It is not a culture that welcomes new ideas and if any challenges exist within management, they are not addressed.
Cons
Hr
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 17, 2018
u learn a lot , management is good if your good with them. Some times there is a lot of down time due to machines not working property. The most enjoyable part is when u get paid.
Pros
good people to work with
Cons
favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much focus is place on perception rather than results of the deliverable.
Engineering Services (Current Employee) –  Thousand Oaks, CAOctober 16, 2018
Management has poor long term vision and unrealistic goals.

Majority of the personnel are required to attend multiple daily update meetings - rendering a good portion of the site ineffective for most of the morning during the week.
Cons
Nepotism; Strong-arm tactics
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A n average company
A positive & energetic leader (Former Employee) –  Exton, PAOctober 15, 2018
An Ok place to work. When company was small, innovation sprit was high, as new leadership came up with a primary focus on make bottom line look better, things just went worst from bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My location no longer there
Quality Assurance Technician (Former Employee) –  Owings Mills, MDOctober 15, 2018
The Shire location in which I worked is no longer in existence. It was purchased by another company and there are no jobs available to provide review.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unstable
Sr. Manager, Market Research, Hematology (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 21, 2018
There was too much turnover and management thinking was not clear. Communication between various roles was sub-optimal. Administrative procedures were complicated. However, i was given an interesting, challenging project to work on.
Pros
Salary was OK.
Cons
Takeover of Baxalta was chaotic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent starting salary, fun environment.
Senior Plasma Center Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INSeptember 10, 2018
Enjoyed my time there. Did not enjoy the management team I worked with. Loved the donors, loved the pace, loved the work. But after two years of doing the same job, I needed more responsibility and purpose. My management team was not willing to offer me those things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of moving parts
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bannockburn, ILSeptember 7, 2018
With 2 mergers/buy outs in less than 3 years, nothing is consistant. There is so much change is procedure, ethics, etc that you can't keep up.

Management is never on the same page.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average company
Materials Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Chesterbrook, PAAugust 24, 2018
Good aspects, aspects in need of improvement. Several positions held, there is encouragement for finding your strengths and a role that fits them. Lots of office politics, behind the scenes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of change with merger
Specialty Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  New York StateAugust 24, 2018
Company is being purchased and there is currently a lot of uncertainty and cost cutting. Leadership has changed the culture of the company de-valued what was once a great culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
QUALITY CONTROL ANALYST IN CHEMISTRY (Current Employee) –  Social Circle, GAAugust 21, 2018
I can honestly say that shire is a great company to work for. You learn a lot of assays rather quickly but that keeps you on your toes. The company is really professional and makes you feel appreciated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience as a contractor at Shire
QMS Lead - Contractor (Current Employee) –  Lexington, MAAugust 20, 2018
I had a great experience as a contract writer at Shire. The position required me to work with many functional areas and most groups were great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shire. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 489 reviews
5134
4143
3121
249
142

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Women's ratings

3.5Fairygodboss Score

38%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

88%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss