Shirley Ryan Ability Lab Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i did not like working there
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 7, 2018
I would not work there again they don't treat the on call the same they treat us poorly we don't get the days off that we want we get what is left over
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its Alright
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 15, 2018
Well before it change over to Shirley Ryan it was formerly Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago. So by the time the company switch over to new managment I was leaving. But overall i had great benefits in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
File Clerk (Temporary), Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 8, 2018
The Human Resources department was a nice place to work. My coworkers were easy to get along with and always found a reason to celebrate something. Even though my position was only supposed to be for 6-9 months, it lasted for to years because they didn't want to see me leave.
Pros
Benefits and positive work environment
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Work Environment
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 13, 2018
SRA Lab offers employees a highly professional and positive work environment. Their staff is supported and appreciated and all roles within this organization are recognized and valued.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good except for management, and too much favoritism
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 9, 2018
Pretty good except for management, and too much favoritism. Didn't like the commute. The environment was very stressful and not friendly. The had their little groups and would always get the best shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s like high school with grown up a new glorified nursing home
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  ChicagoMarch 3, 2018
The CNC ( charge nurse) does nothing you drown a lot the managers are team nurse. So u can’t go to them. The pay ok but they not good on the raises. When they can’t prove honest ways to get rid of u they will lie and black ball u .
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical physical therapy work
Physical Therapist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 1, 2018
It is typical physical therapy work with some drawbacks and some benefits. The new building has wonderful views of Lake Michigan and patient rooms are nice and big. The gyms are a bit confusing because different equipment are on different floors and parallel bars are hard to find.
Pros
Beautiful views
Cons
Lack of common equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive environment to work
Laboratory Technician (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 25, 2018
A great balance of a diverse working culture, a competitive facility, top first place in its category for numerous years, state of the art facility and a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to work
Financial Clearance Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 5, 2018
I have learned plenty since working here at the Shirley Ryan ability Lab formerly known as Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago. I have only been in one department however the Prosthetic & Orthotics Department is a great learning experience.
Pros
flexible work schedules
Cons
Depending on your job title/position may not be able to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive and cut throat
PCT (Patient Care Technician) (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 3, 2018
Everything is a competition and co-workers will sacrifice you to save or up lift them . The managers don't really care to much about personal lives just care if your at work.
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
co workers and management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Promising connections
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 21, 2017
The facility is large but the lack of staffing is a constant problem. The benefits are good and some of the staff are pleasant and respectful. The staff is knowledgeable in skills and they provide continuous training to improve self.
Pros
Benefits started day one for full time
Cons
breaks, proper floor st
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tedious and stressful workplace but the people there are fun and excitement
Central Supply Technician (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 11, 2017
The place is ok to work at because coworkers and staff members make it worth to show up. However management makes it hard to work. They show no interest in their employees. The pay sucks and benefits are poor.
Pros
People that work there are great
Cons
Poor management, no advancement, pay no good, benefit not good
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 29, 2017
Hard place to work no team work no type of help bad orientation did my work by my self being in orientation so I left I was not gonna loose my cna license
Pros
No help
Cons
No team work
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center dept please beware
Call Center Representative/Patient Access (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 25, 2017
I have no reviews about the company. The call center is going through a transition stage in which the new director is a snob and takes as many vacations and lunches as she wants, but is the first to act as if no one else has a life. the company overall is great but as we all know 1 bad apple can spoil the bunch and all it takes is 1. *message*
Pros
okay pay
Cons
every man for theirself, no structure in the dept
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall 5 stars
Patient Access Representative (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 29, 2017
This company it's very pro-employee. They're flexible with the hours, the PTO is great. Benefits are very decent. Lots of opportunity to grow. You get discounts in almost everything you can think of. It's a very culturally diverse and inclusive work environment, makes it even more interesting and fun to work in.
Pros
Benefits, Pto, Pay, Employee discounts
Cons
A bit of an organization issue
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Assistant Sports Coordinator Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 25, 2017
Called various people for transportation
Set up sports programs
Coordinated events
Understood hard work
Great job culture
Hardest part was learning about everyone and who they were as a person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Work Life balance
Nurse case manager rehab Unit (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 24, 2017
Mandatory on call weekends, hard to plan/get time off,no work life balance, 12 hour days not unusual, no lunch break,managers do not incorporate front line workers feedback and suggestions,even if a program is failing.. Work force is very disengaged.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult job, with rewarding opportunities.
Pediatric Physical Therapist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 24, 2017
This position is a physically and mentally demanding role. You work in a fast paced environment with little to no breaks. The outcomes are expedited learning opportunities, working with the best equipment, and an excellent resume builder.
Pros
Opportunities for advancements
Cons
Difficult work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shirley Ryan Ability Lab. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 19 reviews
56
45
32
25
11

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Shirley Ryan Ability Lab Reviews by Location