ShopKo Employee Reviews

Found 1,542 reviews matching the search See all 1,545 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with great discounts
Customer Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NENovember 13, 2018
Friendly co workers and managers. Job not too difficult. Did not like having to call the Help Desk as it is very hard to understand the people you talk too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Retail
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Wenatchee, WANovember 8, 2018
Shopko employment was a seasonal retail job. The hours varied but were anywhere from 15 hours a week to 35 hours a week. It usually started about September and ended the following January. You are required to work holidays and sales events.
Pros
work this job while going to school or working a 2nd job
Cons
low wage and little hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WINovember 6, 2018
It was a good training ground, but it was a stepping stone opportunity that lead to bigger and better opportunities. However they do offer a ton of training!
Pros
Cafeteria
Cons
Tons of Meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highschool part time
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Monticello, ILNovember 5, 2018
i had this job throughout highschool, i didnt mind working here, a few of my friends also worked here which made it more tolerable. not bad working enviroment just was part time and had to move on.
Pros
decent working environment
Cons
benefits, hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but can cut into your family life
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Vinton, IANovember 4, 2018
Nice place to work, but having a family and shopkos schedules, it's hard to spend time with family, i definitely learned about merchandising and customer and teammate communication.
Pros
Teammate discount, amazing coworkers/environment
Cons
Not steady hours, working every holiday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for students
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDNovember 3, 2018
I liked working here. It was very laid back and coworkers were easy to get along with. My managers were also very friendly and always made sure that I was taken care of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee) –  West Bend, WINovember 3, 2018
Would stay if there was a chance for advancement. I have been overlooked several times for people younger with the same or less experience. Lots of turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Great Place to Work.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Kimberly, WINovember 3, 2018
Very fast paced environment. Almost always understaffed. Cashiers are very overworked and stressed, and are almost always asked to stay longer than scheduled. Breaks are never on time. Holidays aren’t fun to work. Customers here are the RUDEST people you will ever meet. Not a very clean store. I don’t recommend working here at all.
Pros
Managers were amazing, coworkers were very nice, always got off what you needed to get off
Cons
Fast paced, low hourly pay, inconsistent scheduling and breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced and low pay
Apparel Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  River Falls, WINovember 2, 2018
Wasn't paid very well and the work can be very brain numbing especially since I worked in a store that didn't get much traiifc. Folding clothes all day as slow as possible because if I did it all too fast, I'd have nothing to do. Only had two cashiers at the front and one or two apparel team members on the floor. Management was nice and understanding but the hours I was scheduled every week was inconsistent.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Yakima, WANovember 1, 2018
The workplace is clean and organized and the management works well with their staff. Time is managed very well and hours and days of work were very lenient.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall the coworkers were friendly except for management
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Quincy, WAOctober 30, 2018
This place wasn’t very first job friendly it had lots of stressed managers because us first job people hadn’t known everything yet and they weren’t very patient with us
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Rude management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, over worked, not properly trained, was forced to do new job requirements without training
Retail worker (Former Employee) –  Marinette, WIOctober 30, 2018
They would place me from working at night to working the next morning, lied to employees about pay raises, poor management, not trained for long, most of other coworkers were mean to other employees as well as customers, other co workers did not want to help other coworkers, favoritism was big here, etc.
Pros
long lunch breaks
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time
Salesfloor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Madison, SDOctober 29, 2018
I was able to advance in my position rather quickly by showing dedication and work ethic. Management at my location is still some of the best I've had because they didn't hover.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Milbank, SDOctober 27, 2018
At the time that iworked there you couldnt talk to the manager and she was very moody she was a hard person to suggest things to. She was never wrong and she wouldn't help out or listen.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, busy, fun.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Glenwood, IAOctober 24, 2018
It was a very casual job, not too hard to do but enough to keep me busy during my shifts. Great co-workers and management. Always had busy-work to be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Experience
Merchandise Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Waukon, IAOctober 24, 2018
Shopko is a family oriented place to work and have a great staff. The work is busy but yet rewarding.

The management staff are a fun group of people and are willing to assist with any questions the rest of the staff may have.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Janesville, WIOctober 23, 2018
I loved the job, it's a great environment but hours vary and be extremely short which is my problem with working there. There's great people working with you at all times. It's a fun yet demanding work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun workplace to work at
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Harlan, IAOctober 23, 2018
My experience at Shopko was great I learned the register pretty quickly. My managers were really awesome and my coworkers were great people to work with. I was pretty upset that I had to leave and come back to Missouri but I had some personal issues back here in Missouri to deal with so I had to leave the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Tomahawk, WIOctober 22, 2018
Truly loved my job, ,minus holidays and weekends. Would have stayed with company had I not been moving and unable to transfer. My last boss was one of the best I have ever had at any company I worked for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee) –  Twin Falls, IDOctober 22, 2018
Great place to work, pricing items throughout the store, making sure items are priced correctly, always get lunch and breaks and there is always a back up when needed in dept.
Pros
Breaks and lunch time, always a backup
Cons
early morning and late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ShopKo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,545 reviews
5306
4467
3428
2200
1144

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight