ShopKo Employee Reviews

Found 1,490 reviews matching the search See all 1,493 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work!
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTSeptember 20, 2018
Shopko Billing MT, has wonderful management and is a great place to work if your a dedicated, hard worker. If your looking to goof off, I don't suggest working there, but if you want a nice job with good management. Go for it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life
Optician (Current Employee) –  Watertown, WISeptember 19, 2018
Love working with customers
Love the people I work with
Very hard job a lot of learning about glasses
managment is great though
don't like working late at night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Cashier/Stocker/Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Hart, MISeptember 18, 2018
Overall this was a good place to work. Like all jobs it had is ups and downs, but everyone did their jobs and didn't make just one person do everything.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture needs improvement
Buyer (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WISeptember 18, 2018
Co workers are great. Not as flexible as other companies of the same nature. Management has a high turnover and there is a lot of room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Freight supervisor (Former Employee) –  Coeur d'Alene, IDSeptember 17, 2018
Nice Boss, productive and fun co-workers, television in break room. Places in the area to go for lunch. Making sure the trucks get unloaded on-time. Back stock gets taken care of.
Pros
potluck lunch and dinners.
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok for someone who has no family or bills
Gm salesfloor (Current Employee) –  Layton, UTSeptember 17, 2018
The pay is very very low and with few opportunities for raises and growth. Could use better communication between employees but other than that everyone is a team and a family.
Pros
Discounts, teammates
Cons
Short breaks, low pay, no advancements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, Friendly
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mason City, IASeptember 16, 2018
Customers were fun, management was hit and miss, loose expectations, favoritism, gossip, lawn and garden was a good time, no micromanagement, paid lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTSeptember 16, 2018
I cleaned stands by the front of cashiers, stocked shelves, Helped customers with inquiries. And then cashed them out when they where ready and done with shopping.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Apparel Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNSeptember 14, 2018
Shopko was my third job, I left my other jobs due to flexibility. Shopko was really good at meeting your availability and they have a very friendly staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Princeton, MNSeptember 14, 2018
I'm surprised to see job listings posted very recently for the Princeton, Mn location considering that location closed June 30th 2018. Get your facts Indeed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about ShopKo?

Ask a question
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhappy supervisors.
Sales Floor Team Member (Former Employee) –  Harlan, IASeptember 14, 2018
None of the employees were friendly. Supervisors we're downright rude. One even laughed in my face. They would tell me to do something then come back in 2 minutes and get angry and tell me to do the opposite of what I had just been told. One supervisor argued with me in front of customers. They told me that I couldn't drink water or use the restroom except on breaks.
Pros
Discounts.
Cons
Low pay, rudeness, poor training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was just a job
GM Clerk (Former Employee) –  Murray UtSeptember 13, 2018
This was the first job I hated. One of the LODs was the rudest. She made you feel like you weren't doing your job right, same with a lot of employees. Hours are okay. Very slow job and very repetitive.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good
GM Sales Floor/ Freight Team Member (Former Employee) –  Redding, CA 96003September 11, 2018
I worked as the GM sales floor and truck team. I enjoyed the work at ShopKo and got along very well with all of my co-workers and managers. Overall a good experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alex review
unloader/cashier (Former Employee) –  Wisconsin Rapids, WISeptember 11, 2018
hurt my back.they stopped scheduling me.not a good experience.i was also still in high school.this was my very first job.they actually never let me go just stopped scheduling me.
Pros
got a discount
Cons
they stopped scheduling me
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Felt as though wasting my time
Clothing Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, SDSeptember 10, 2018
When working at Shopko I never seemed like I was actually doing something important. The place was a mess almost all the time and I would spend hours just folding racks of clothes and I never felt like I made a dent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Orofino, IDSeptember 10, 2018
I loved the environment of this store, great place to shop as well,
every one was so friendly loved, great supervisor, great place to learn a nice steady place,
Pros
great place
Cons
small
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun only when mangers are not there
Gm frieght crew (Former Employee) –  Spanish Fork, UTSeptember 8, 2018
A typical day at work was you show up and hope and pray you do something because nobody shows up. The thing I learned is how to set up planograms. Management wasnt good didn't care about employees only if you work more than 12 hours.
Pros
Really laid back
Cons
Horrible management, bad schedule for part timers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a temporary job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  United StatesSeptember 7, 2018
It was ok while I was working there but it was a temporary job. I liked being a cashier. If you give them enough notice you able to take time off. It was a good job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job. Couldn't complain.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hutchinson, MNSeptember 7, 2018
I didn't have any complaints except that they basically only gave me hours on weekends when I requested week days. Staff was helpful and friendly. Job is simple.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rude managers
Floor Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  North Branch, MNSeptember 6, 2018
The managers were rude and had attitudes like they were better than everyone else. Staff was also very rude and a lot of them didn’t like eachother. Do not recommend.
Pros
Good working experience.
Cons
Not treated very good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ShopKo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,494 reviews
5299
4448
3413
2196
1138

See reviews about

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight