Shorter College Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARAugust 21, 2019
fun place to work, and not stressful. I enjoyed my job. everyone was fair and friendly. I had no problems while there. they made me feel as if i was valued/
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non productive in my eyes
Accountant (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARMarch 18, 2019
They are not organized and they don't want to grow, everything else is typical work . standard 8 utile 5. they really don't like teaching people to do nothing because they don't want to grow
Pros
Non
Cons
breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Part time job where you can help others.
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, AR/ Texarkana, AR SataliteNovember 15, 2018
Great place to start or continue Higher Learning. Part of 2nd Chance Pell Grant Program offered to those currently incarcerated. Classes adhere to an appropriate teacher to student ratio.
Pros
Classes are located within the same facility as my Primary Employer.
Cons
After normal business hrs and some weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning environment made for growth.
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARNovember 8, 2018
Teaching at Shorter is very rewarding. Teaching the students the information in ways that help the students understand the information that is put in front of them.
Pros
Working with the staff
Cons
Would like to work more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indeed a Training ground
Lead Recruiting Officer/Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARAugust 22, 2018
I had a wonderful experience with this institution. I learned a lot about the things I can accomplish. I was able to work in many capacities from assistance to leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for new graduates.
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARJuly 9, 2018
Great experience for new graduates. You will have the opportunity to apply your teaching and classroom management skills learned from school. The pay is good for additional income.
Pros
The experience
Cons
Lack of support from administration.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2 Year College in North Little Rock
Instructor (Current Employee) –  NLR, ARMarch 12, 2018
This is a small, historically black 2 year college in North Little Rock, AR. There are often issues with students who struggle with day to day life issues while juggling work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Great Work Environment
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARJuly 7, 2017
A great work environment where other faculty and staff help you when you need instructional guidance. Great teaching students willing to learn. Deans are always willing to step in and help.
Pros
Open schedules
Cons
Not full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great adjunct postition
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARJune 29, 2017
Works with your schedule if you have a full time job. I enjoy my workers and the staff is extremely helpful. The success with students can be very rewarding
Pros
great hours
Cons
not always enough classes available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
College Professor (Current Employee) –  Texarkana, ARJune 16, 2017
I have enjoyed teaching at this college and will recommend it to anyone. The close knit work family allowed me to participate daily, monthly, and annually whether it was campus events/activities or online interaction. Love working here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed teaching at shorter college.
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARFebruary 23, 2017
I was Adjunct Professor at Shorter College North Little Rock, AR from 1984-1990.

My job duties duties included, Individually responsible for delivery of Introduction to Business, Business Mathematics, Business Law, and Economics class lectures, Constructed lesson plans, graded tests and assignments, Attended all faculty department meetings and workshops
Pros
I enjoyed my free time and went to classes as scheduled
Cons
It a part-time position and wished it was a full-time position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful grassroot opportunity
Entrepreneur Studies Chair (Current Employee) –  North Little Rock, AROctober 26, 2016
A great opportunity to enhance your career in the field of higher education.
A very closely knitted faculty and staff.

The organizational culture needs modification.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARMarch 17, 2016
I have had a great experience working at Shorter College. I have received the training that I need to succeed in my role. My supervisor is awesome and I have loved my experience at Shorter thus far.
Pros
Hour Lunches, School Environment, Amazing Training
Cons
Job Stability
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an asset for me..since I have always worked in newspaper work
Customer service (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock,ArkansasJune 1, 2014
It was a good place to get started on another career and something that I had not thought about before. I gained experience in an area that I didn't know existed.
Pros
Learning customer service through the students and the faculty
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of students to work with; enjoyed staff
Admin Asst to the Dean of Science and Mathematics (Former Employee) –  Rome, GAMarch 10, 2014
Enjoyed this job for the most part. The Dean that I worked with is now retired. Co-workers were great and friendly. Enjoyed working with students/parents.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive days helping students with their needs.
Administrative Intern (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARDecember 30, 2013
Assisted with registration of students. Provided assistance to students and faculty. Copied, faxed, and scanned documents into internal filing system. Validated student attendance under supervision of Registrar. Answered telephone lines, relayed messaged to appropriate personnel
Pros
Always interacting with someone
Cons
a lot of slow days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful staff
Math Instructor (Former Employee) –  Riverdale, GAMay 31, 2013
The staff there is very lively........wonderful people to work around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
ENROLLMENT COUNSELOR (Former Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GaMay 17, 2012
It was great helping people chandge their lives. It was nice working each day to help other become more productive.
Pros
helping others
Cons
growth was limited
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shorter College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 19 reviews
59
45
34
21
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture