SHORTY SMALLS Employee Reviews

Showing all 20 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Server (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMarch 17, 2018
It was a great atmosphere and made great friends while working here no other place in the world is like it we served great food and every 2 time a month we have a radio prodcast in a corner of our restaurant
Pros
shorty perks
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable place to work.
Host (Current Employee) –  Branson, MOJanuary 24, 2018
A fun place to work, good management, teamwork is a plus. Dealing with busses is fast paced, but fun to do quickly. Workers are friendly and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coporate owned resturants with a feeling of family
Server (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, AROctober 1, 2017
A laid back and fun enviroment. It can be stressful and busy at times but coworkers are always available to give a helping hand. Staff is very kind and you can make friends almost instantly. Food is made quickly and as long as you do your job correctly and to the best of your ability you can make very good money. Coporate is very involved in all of their stores and often make surprise visits to ensure their resturants are up to par. They often seek one on one time with their employees to ensure every need is met. Very nice people. However, because it is such a small resturant there is very little ability to move up in the company.
Pros
Perks Points
Cons
Availability for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy day
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Branson, MOJuly 4, 2017
I was an opener and closer here as well. The management here was excellent and I had great coworkers. Branson is a very busy place so everyday was fast paced but I enjoyed the challenges and loved excelling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
server
Server (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKApril 10, 2017
Have not worked there in over 5 yrs. Do not know how things are currently being run. No longer live in Oklahoma. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my managers!
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OK 73132March 23, 2017
Co-workers were great! Love the people i work with! Great summer job to work out. Good experience with customer service. Very busy on the weekends and very clean.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Good pay
Cook (Former Employee) –  119th and Meridian Wichita, KSJanuary 17, 2017
My days at work at Shorty Smalls was always very busy. No matter what part of the line I was on I always had something to do and always was helping others. I enjoyed everyone I worked with.
Pros
Stayed busy, good pay
Cons
no benefits, manager was rude and at times would yell at employees in front of customer, most of the time the cooks wouldn't get a break even on an 8 hour shift, left over food always got thrown into trash.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work--look elsewhere
Server (Current Employee) –  Branson, MODecember 1, 2016
don't work here---long hours---no money---terrible management----treat employees like disposable adult diapers
Pros
none
Cons
long hours---low pay---bad management that could care less
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJuly 15, 2016
enjoyable staff and friendly work environment. fast paced and easy to learn. very good management. and flexible work schedule. Really fun and productive experience. multiple learning oppertunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment
WAITRESS (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 12, 2015
A typical day at work involved coming in at 10:45 am most days. As soon as I would get there, I would begin rolling silverware. We are required to roll 100 silverware before we leave. I would eventually have guests come in and I would take care of them by getting the everything they needed. I had side work to do and a checklist to complete before leaving. The hardest part of the job is dealing with guests who entirely believe nothing is good enough and dealing with guests who appreciate everything you've done for them but tip you ridiculously below the suggested amounts. I enjoyed meeting new people on a daily basis.
Pros
Some days you can make $20+ an hour with hardly any strain.
Cons
More times than not, people don't tip well and you have to depend on the graciousness of others to pay your bills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Server/Waiter (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJuly 3, 2015
I really liked this job. the uniforms could of been better but I enjoyed it.. I noticed a lot of drama though which is my biggest pet peeve in the work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Branson, MOOctober 6, 2014
Putting ribs and brisket in ovens and preparing food for that day
How to do bbq
A good company to work for
Easy going group of employees
Making sure we did not run out of food
Always having something to do
Pros
Free lunched and discounts for family
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bartending
BARTENDER (Former Employee) –  Branson, MOMarch 1, 2014
Enjoyed my job, the negative side was it seemed anytime i got time off work i was called into work. my life was consumed from employment here, other than that great
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers let employees first priority be having fun instead of taking care of the guest.
WAITRESS, CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARFebruary 25, 2014
Some of my job duties included correct food being delivered and didn't take long to get to their table, when food from the salad station I would restock the food item, if tea was running low id start a new pot, I would take guest empty plates out of their way, I would notify guest about items they might not have known about, I would never make the guest wait on their checks or change, and I would keep a clean and safe area. I learned that when managers are more worried about having the employees as friends than co-workers it makes a restaurant hard to run smoothly. There where co-workers that was allowed to curse and yell at other employees in front of guest, and this made it embarrassing to be apart of a business that allowed it. The hardest part of the job was the employees fighting with each other. The most enjoyable part of the job was giving my guess good services and receiving little notes on the receipts commenting my serve.
Pros
Giving my guess a good time.
Cons
All the angry employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the high volume
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Jonesboro, AROctober 3, 2013
Work days were very long with working double shift at least once a week. Very busy during lunch and dinner hours. Learning how to work with all kinds of food.
Pros
Fun coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers were great
Server/Trainer (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock,ARSeptember 28, 2013
Coworkers were great to work with, friendly environment, pay was not so good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in
Cook (Current Employee) –  Jonesboro, ARFebruary 8, 2013
This is a good place to work. It would be a better place to work if there were benefits offered. The hardest part of the job is not enough hours. A typical day at work would be working to get the orders out in a timely manner. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people. Co-workers are easy to work with. Management has great concern for the employers.
Pros
flexable schedule
Cons
no healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Jonesboro, AROctober 5, 2012
It was a fun place to work ,the customers were great and so was my co-workers.
Pros
the raises were good and tips.
Cons
no free lunches.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Bartender (Former Employee) –  North Little Rock, ARMarch 9, 2012
Shorty Small's was a great place to work; I had fun each and everyday that I worked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SHORTY SMALLS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 20 reviews
55
411
31
22
11

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.6Culture