Shred-It Employee Reviews

Found 397 reviews matching the search See all 554 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good gig
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Alpharetta, GASeptember 18, 2019
Was working as a contractor. Good team, good working conditions, good location, good commute, good snacks, good resources. Would rate it a five -out-of-seven stars.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to grow with
Sales and Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CASeptember 12, 2019
Handled high volume of incoming calls & ensured appropriate action is taken relative to the call. Implemented and supported all actions required as part of accounts payable and accounts receivables. Processed credit card payment and batched them. I also processed all new data entry orders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Operation Manager, Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Bessemer, ALSeptember 9, 2019
Really enjoyed the time I spent at Shred It. Great company with good people and friends still there. I had been there long enough and was topped out with pay raises. That's the reason I left. I left with a good report and there is no reason why they wouldn't give me a good report.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Route Driver
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CASeptember 3, 2019
It’s A Good Job Place To Work In If You Don’t Like To Be In Office/Warehouse Type Of Job. Meet & Greet High Position People In Businesses & Help Work On Your Customer Service.
Pros
4 days 10hrs shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shred took care of me
Shift lead (Former Employee) –  Brecksville, OHSeptember 1, 2019
The time I was at work every thing and everyone was in a good mood we got the job done and work Ed well as a team . Even when the plant was under stressful conditions we pulled together and made it through tough times and and left work at the same time knowing we had a great day at work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was way better under Cintas brand
ROUTE DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSSeptember 1, 2019
There was a lot of work to be done. Pay was not up to par in terms of dangers of the job. But the pay was at the time better than most route jobs. This location was under Cintas brand at first and it was great. Then it was taken over by Shred-it then strericycle. If you ever been apart of multiple ownership changes then you know that a lot of key things that keep turnover low goes out the window low went
Pros
Coworkers. Benefits
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sorry
CSR II (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 26, 2019
Work was not bad they can’t keep help the doors stay revolving so that says a lot with how the company is ran can’t speak your mind if you do you will be firet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding company. Excellent care of customers and employees.
Associate (Former Employee) –  Sharon, MAAugust 26, 2019
Amazing workplace with great benefits and pay . Management is amazing they listen to all your questions. Are customers loved the company. Plenty of insensitive add ons and bonuses . Highly recommend.
Pros
Great pay . Great benefits.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing extra. Cookout ever so often if we made good numbers
CSR (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 23, 2019
Some days easy, some days challenging. Overall ok for me routes had to many stops to finish in the 10 hr period. Didn't buy new trucks so maintence was a issue sometimes.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Routes overloaded, Trucks breakin down
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Midway, FLAugust 22, 2019
Really cool place to work for...I really enjoyed it. I relocated to another state other than that I wouldn't of left the company...but overall I would go back any day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company does not care about emplyee
technician, driver (Current Employee) –  Bridgewater, NJAugust 21, 2019
no regards to there team, poor direction and wasteful spending, mang is only looking out for them self! they hide purchases for them self though personal charge cards
Pros
none
Cons
unsafe
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It a challenging job if your up for a challenge
Transportation Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Coppell, TXAugust 19, 2019
If you are looking for a driving position this is the company for you. It is a labor intensive job that for the right candidate could be a rewarding career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 16, 2019
i love working only 4 days.The pay is o.k but the job is very not to hard Days vary.Some days you have to be a rabbit,other days you can be a turtle and still finish on time.The benefits are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very lackadaisical environment
Transportation Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Central Valley, CAAugust 16, 2019
I served as transportation supervisor for over 2 years at Shred it. Finally got tired of the lackadaisical management and lack of accountability for success. The District Manager focused more on having a good time with the office staff then effectively managing or supporting his supervisors. The environment was a bit toxic if your were not a long time, and the management team did not hold anyone accountable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job not a career
Customer service representative (Current Employee) –  Ashland, VAAugust 12, 2019
Good job low pay and new handheld really messed up hours. GPS tracking your every move and have to go through an interrogation / debriefing at the end of every day.
Pros
Work 4 days a week
Cons
Always being monitored
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wow
Transportation Logistics Router (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 7, 2019
well what should I say I don't know , not sure wow, holy wow, I cant believe it, it is what it is, nice but not sure, simply speechless, what should I eat for dinner
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Atmosphere
Sales (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 3, 2019
Fun Atmosphere, excellent training program with career potential. Social environment with room to get work done efficiently and effectively. Management is approachable and accessible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the worst place to work
CSR (Current Employee) –  Brecksville, OHJuly 30, 2019
I've been with Shred it for a handful of years. The days are long. The work is hard. I don't mind either of those things. At my particular location, my supervisors/management are really cool. Great guys. The trucks are newer. The other drivers are cool. When we are fully staffed, things run pretty smooth. The problem is, we struggle to stay fully staffed. Part of it is we hire guys that just don't like the hard labor. Bending, climbing, lifting, pushing, pulling, etc... It takes its toll on you. After 10+ hrs of a heavy day, you're dead haha. The micromanagement belt is starting to tighten. New software to track your days. Cameras installed in the trucks. Tons of meetings and changes since I've been here (more than ever as of recent) . A big reason guys don't stay is the pay just doesn't make sense for the kind of work we do. You can rake in some overtime which helps ease the pain a bit. The benefits are where Shred it seems to hang their hat. Vacation time, sick time, paid holidays off, health, dental, vision, 401k, company paid life insurance, short/long term disability etc... 4 day work week is nice. Overall, it's a good job if you're willing to work. If it wasn't for the optional overtime, the amount of vacation I've accumulated, and the 4 day work week, I don't think I would have stuck around. I am always looking for something better but I've found nothing that would make me leave. At this point, ive been around long enough to get some raises and more vacation time. "The devil you know is better than the devil you don't". Every job has its downsides. I've had waaaaay worse  more... jobs. This is definitely the best job I've had.  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CDL Experience
Class B Hazmat (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 21, 2019
Good place to get experience driving trucks (class B) however communication and new business model not pro employee. Lack of proper communication and constant changes to protocol.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bag management
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Coppell, TXJuly 20, 2019
Bad management always hound you management always on your back....get upset when u can’t come in in your day off. Seems like they treat people different
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shred-It. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 554 reviews
5109
4131
3144
270
1100

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.9Culture

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight