Shutterfly Employee Reviews

Found 376 reviews matching the search See all 378 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace always willing to listen to ideas for improvement.
Order Expeditor (Current Employee) –  Shakopee, MNNovember 6, 2018
Fast pace workplace that is continually changing and adapting. This change may be challalenging for someone who needs consistent structure. Employees can find themselves running anything and everything if they choose to.
Pros
Paid breaks, prayer tents, friendly managers
Cons
Lack of standard work and accountability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
MACHINE OPERATOR/UV COATER (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCOctober 25, 2018
Fun place to work the vaule their employees. They always show they care by throwing the best parties. I enjoyed working there it may have took me forever to get hired but the wait is worth it.
Pros
Parties, food, environment
Cons
Hiring for employment with company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult atmosphere
Manager (Current Employee) –  USAOctober 5, 2018
Extremly demanding. Extra long shifts and extra days are the norm. Upper management runs via email without participating in the extended hours required of others.
Pros
Decent salary level.
Cons
Zero work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement
Customer Care Representative (Current Employee) –  Shakopee, MNOctober 3, 2018
Shutterfly does not care about their employees they pay them nothing and the employees are required to wear 30 hats in one position. If you like being a modern day slave then apply here.
Pros
The employees are great
Cons
slave masters
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Good Ole Boy" network
Senior Warehouse Lead (Former Employee) –  Shakopee, MNAugust 29, 2018
Could be relaxed and fun, but during Peak very busy. Overall Management was supportive. Clear processes but hard to enforce with other managers constant challenging.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Immediate Supervisor and next level very poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
revolving door of employees and management
customer care, jedi, (Current Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCAugust 28, 2018
revolving door of employees and management, lack of care, employees do not have job security nor are they supported within their roles, conflicting statements from one supervisor to another supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like working in the warehouse
Warehouse Shipping (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCAugust 28, 2018
boxing orders from customers to be shipped. verifying labels ; hardest part was getting there - midnight shift liked the people I worked with.learned how essential it is to getting customer orders out on time.
Pros
nice company
Cons
none known
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative culture
Assistant General Counsel (Current Employee) –  Redwood City, CAAugust 24, 2018
Shutterfly fosters a collaborative corporate culture including open space environment. The company encourages communication among colleagues within the company. Overall it is a friendly place to work.
Pros
Friendly and casual work environment
Cons
Lacks transparency
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, but upper management changed frequently
Director of Data Services (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 21, 2018
With Vice Presidents coming and going from unrelated industries there was never a clear understanding at their level of exactly what the teams did, or who their customers were. Although Shutterfly is a great place to work, we spent too much time trying to teach the new VPs what we did only to have them removed shortly thereafter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
CUSTOMER CARE AGENT (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 20, 2018
Management and Leadership is horrible and job performance is measured soley on numbers which don't truly reflect the job performance. Employees are not valued, nor are their opinions or feedback valued. Their are no incentives and turnover is extremely high making it an awkward enviroment to work in.
Pros
None
Cons
Stressful and undervalued
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed corporate environment
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCAugust 15, 2018
Shutterfly is a big internet company, and with that they can afford to treat employees fairly well. They had a large cafateria with coffee and soda fountains.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for if you get hired on
Production Lead (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZAugust 11, 2018
Overall, if you are hired on full-time, Shutterfly is a good company to work for with more pros than cons. Sometimes you maybe kept on as a year around temporary employee if you are a good worker, however, it may take awhile before you can get hired on (took 3 years for me to be hired on) as you must wait for a spot to become available.
Pros
Paid lunch break, free soda, workout room, game room, company discounts, good pay, good benefits.
Cons
Less than 40 hour work weeks outside busy season, takes awhile to get hired on full-time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many churns
Ops Strategy (Current Employee) –  Redwood City, CAAugust 2, 2018
Fast paced yet stressful environment, frequent churns in leadership or direction of project. People are good and if you can adapt to the culture you will be fine. I have been with the company for 8 years now and looking to find something less crazy.
Pros
Customer facing company, great products
Cons
Too much churn
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Quality Control Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 24, 2018
good place for people fresh out of college. i had good pay and was able to learn a little more about locating issues with images and making sure quality is key.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can do better
Advanced Resolution Team Specialist (Current Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCJuly 23, 2018
Most call centers at least start their agents at $15 and up. To get an advancement even with stellar service you have to beg or apply for a role you do not want. Leadership operates on a personal level through all experiences, not ever on a professional tip.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing very friendly
Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCJuly 18, 2018
I loved working at shutterfly it was always fun being around the people I loved the hands on work and activities we did ever day just love being in that environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Invest in your employees whether you want to show interest. Follow up with employees. Have a better process when it comes to laddering within the comp
Employee (Current Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCJuly 15, 2018
Invest in your employees whether you want to show interest. Follow up with employees. Have a better process when it comes to laddering within the company. Favoritism no structure.
Pros
Free soft drinks & tea, coffee, game room, gym
Cons
Favoritism no structure
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work environment, but assignment is short lived
Seasonal Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCJuly 5, 2018
This was a seasonal position during the Christmas Card season. I was trained to run the Cartoner machine. Although I was highly respected by my co workers, I was teamed with another associate whom needed extensive reinforcement to understand the job functions. It is my belief that this was detrimental to my own performance evaluation. When working with different, stronger associates, my performance was well above average.

The machines we utilized were often in need of repair/adjustments.

Supervision/management are capable and treat people respectfully.

The 12 hour work shifts were the most difficult part of the job: you will be quite tired by the end of shift.

I would be willing to work for Adecco at Shutterfly again.
Pros
Free beverages
Cons
12 hour shifts are difficult
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shutterfly is wonderful
Call Center Representative / Mechaine Operater (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCJuly 5, 2018
The people are great the company it’s self is great everybody’s gets along they make sure you understand everything I wish I was able to be permanent .
Pros
You guaranteed all the over time you want
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great cafe , game room, large campus
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCJune 30, 2018
Great cafe , game room , large campus , friendly people , great management , learn to operate different machinery, honest management, great hours , flexible
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shutterfly. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 378 reviews
5135
4104
390
226
123

See reviews about

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

3.5InHerSight Score

3.5Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight