SIERRA CLUB Culture reviews

Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 44 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work that matters.
Intern (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN 55406April 16, 2018
There is always something to do, a goal to work toward. Work culture is caring and inviting. The work that you do matters and makes a difference but you have to give it your all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Times with Great People!!!
General Service Administrator (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 3, 2017
The Sierra Club is a wonderful place to work where everyone has the common goal to do what is best for the environment. I've learned time management and how to prioritize projects that were assigned to me. Management was a bit rocky as we were both new to our jobs and roles. The workplace culture was is very inviting and accepting as they are trying to progress in becoming more equitable. The best thing at my job is that we have a great work-life balance. One thing I can say that can be difficult is that the workload is very heavy for just one person. My opinion is that this is a two person job because managing the facilities aspect and also completing projects and admin work can become very stressful and frustrating.
Pros
free lunch during meetings
Cons
high demand
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 14, 2016
It's a good place to work at. Good people to work with who are hard working and understanding. I love it here. Managers are very nice and compassionate. Co- workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and grow as a professional
Deputy Press Secretary (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 13, 2016
So many great people to work with and the environment is conducive to learning. I would re commend it to anyone, especially new professionals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Place to learn something new everyday
Internship (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 12, 2015
Works with the spirit to protect environment and create awareness in people in all possible ways.

Innovative approaching

Helpful and respectful to every co worker and welcome opinions and suggestions for every project we were doing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Important work with amazing people
Chapter Coordinator (Current Employee) –  North CarolinaJuly 24, 2014
The Sierra Club's mission and commitment to the environment make it a great place to work. Grassroots organizing and a deep & committed volunteer base make the successes possible and the obstacles manageable.
Pros
Great mission, amazing people
Cons
environmental issues are usually an uphill battle
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Place Stinks!
Advancement Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 13, 2014
My co-workers were nice, and I enjoyed working beside them. Management had a much higher opinion of itself than was warranted. And that is putting it kindly. Some managers were downright incompetent. Tasks were regularly menial, tedious, and went without any appreciation. Also, the office work ethic was not very strong overall. I would only recommend this place if you are facing homelessness- and even then I would give it thought.
Pros
Worked with some nice people, free coffee.
Cons
Bad office politics, lazy management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Member (Current Employee) –  West LAJanuary 25, 2014
Interesting, nice people, challanging outing and training courses
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Fundraiser (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 8, 2013
No organization is perfect, but working for the Sierra Club has been a tremendously rewarding experience. The staff culture is amazing; it brings selfless, passionate people together everyday. In addition, you're expected to have a healthy life outside of the office. No one is expected to slave away and work crazy hours.

Overall, I would highly recommend employment at the Club.
Pros
Passionate staff, great mission, good work/life balance.
Cons
Pay isn't amazing, but there are great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work with diverse people
Chair of NYC Group (Former Employee) –  New york, NYMarch 12, 2012
Dedication to the environment is essential. There are ample opportunities to take the initiative and create real change.
Pros
interesting and rewarding work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report

See more SIERRA CLUB reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SIERRA CLUB. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 44 reviews
527
47
38
20
12

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.3Culture

Women's ratings

4.0Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss