Sierra Trading Post Culture reviews

Found 24 reviews matching the search See all 125 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place if you aren’t Management
Retail Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 9, 2019
Typical small box retail job. Everything broken up into departments. Communication is difficult somehow, unless you’re in the know. Little to no training for any role - including my own. Little to no feedback. A lot of downtime and a lot of unrealistic goals with no follow up. Poor management and more of a bully attitude when it comes to coaching- if they don’t like you they seem to just leave you out of the loop. The specific location I was at has an extremely lax policy on shoplifting- saw people walk out with carts full of stuff daily. Point of sale is absolute garbage. Store doesn’t really focus on customer satisfaction, more of the usual just put it out and they’ll buy it. Biggest problem is the culture because this seems to be a top down issue.
Pros
Uh... some shifts are morning shifts. The right coworkers make it easy.
Cons
Management, lack of communication, lack of training, low wage, no motivation to succeed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun coworkers, awesome job
Barista (Current Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYMarch 26, 2019
The most enjoyable part of the job would be the coworkers. It’s a laidback place most of the time. Most of the management team are awesome. I learned a lot from this job, like, customer service skills, etc.
Pros
Fun coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was time well spent
Technical Engineer 1 (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYSeptember 18, 2018
Was given many chances to succeed and learn new skill and advance in my department. culture was great at first but as the years went on leading to current time diminished.
Pros
Learned valuble skill
Cons
lost team spirut.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work!
Retail Transfer (Current Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYJune 25, 2018
I just started and I really like it. The training is great, the people are so nice (and patient) while I'm training. A typical day is fast but fun. I learn lots and enjoy the people I work with.
Pros
Good enviornment.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and comfortable environment
Retail sales associate, operations associate (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CTJune 11, 2018
I learned what particular items a customer would look for when camping or going on a long-term hike. The workplace culture is very casual, much like most retail stores are. Management team is very nice and can help as best as they can including the flexibility of work hours.
Pros
45-minute lunch break, 20% employee weekend discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly enviornment
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYMarch 5, 2018
This is a great place to work. Management was fair and enjoyable to work for. I learned a lot about customer service and miss the regular customers.
Pros
Incentive rewards
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and chill
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  East Hanover, NJFebruary 22, 2018
Cool and relaxing with great management and great people and get to do retail and inventory and have to work on Saturday and Sunday and only bad part is people leave clothes everywhere
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was great when family owned.
Vendor Services Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYFebruary 4, 2018
I loved my job and I miss it. It is to bad when so many good, smart, caring people that have so much talent are thrown aside through Cooperate buy outs!
It is their loss completely.
Pros
The People, Benefits and discounts, relaxed atmosphere...jeans everyday
Cons
The sifting of great employees..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sierra Trading Post
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COAugust 23, 2017
Management was great to work for and atmosphere was great. Made several friends working here everyone is super friendly. Would recommend for part time jobs. Very good with hiring will make sure you fit well before hire.
Pros
Fun, Easy
Cons
Pay, Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Kildeer, ILJune 20, 2017
Sierra Trading post offers a fun relaxing place to work where people are happy to show you the ropes. If you like easy going co-workers and clear drawn out responsibilities it's worth checking out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cottonwood Heights, UTMay 30, 2017
Worked a few hours a day. Learned a lot about the products. Management was very helpful. Everybody enjoyed their job and the culture there. Liked the staff a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Lead Order Filler (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYMay 8, 2017
It was a wonder job with wonderful people. as long as you kept up to the standards you would get a great wage and benefits. The discounts received were awesome
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Retail Marketing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYFebruary 8, 2017
This is a great company to work for with a solid benefits package and room for growth. The company is undergoing a lot of changes so could equate to growth within the company.
Pros
Benefits, culture
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place with great team players
Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYJanuary 9, 2017
love working in the warehouse. great team players an plenty of stock to recieve.. being as it is a on-line company and one of a kind in the Cheyenne Area. TJX had bought it out . . worked with a bunch of awesome folks. we still keep in touch.
Pros
incentives
Cons
some management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
receiver (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYJanuary 23, 2016
normal daily routine, gained a little knowledge on the computer ,co workers nice to work with. the hardest part of the job is getting the job done,, working as a receiver..
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cody, WYJune 14, 2015
Very friendly people, working for an awesome company. I'd work there again in a heartbeat. Great benefits with great hours.
Pros
discounts on goods
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
IT Support Manager (Current Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYJune 3, 2015
Typical day and weather in Cheyenne
Great work environment
Management is great
I really enjoy working for Sierra Trading Post
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Great work environment
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYMarch 3, 2015
I loved my job at Sierra. It feels great to work somewhere that recognizes your hard work. It was always a new experience everyday.
Pros
Working independently
Cons
Tons of O.T.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A really great work environment with great people.
Order Puller (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYJanuary 30, 2015
Great company with a fast paced environment. Managers worked with me with my limited availability. Co-workers had a team spirit and were very helpful. The hardest part of the job was standing and walking for several hours a day and keeping up your speed and accuracy. The nice part about the job was being always on the move and pushing yourself to reach higher goals.
Pros
Access to a nice break room. Food and drinks sold
Cons
Breaks unevenly spread out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the co-workers
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Greenwood Village, CODecember 28, 2014
My co-workers were amazing and the environment was awesome! If you are knowledgeable about the wilderness than this is the place for you!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sierra Trading Post. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 125 reviews
542
441
328
24
110

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight