Silver Hill Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get first hand experience in mental health
Psychiatric Technician (Current Employee) –  New Canaan, CTApril 18, 2018
Amazing opportunity to learn about mental health. Work is fast paced and daunting at times but rewarding. Long hours but less days to work. I learned a lot during my time at Silver Hill and will forever be grateful of my experience here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
satisfactory
food distribution (Former Employee) –  New Canaan, CTMarch 8, 2018
The time i spent at Siver Hill hospital was well worth , the time i invested in the position i was hired for,. It is an industry that i am familiar with, doe to my employment background. I did not keep the position due to the pay-scale, other than that it didnot seem to me that their was an opening to go foward . The working conditions were favorable and i found the management capeable and satisfactory. In conclusion i did like the position that i was hired for, but i also little chance for upward mobility, also i was seeking a higher pay-scale
Pros
good working conditions
Cons
limited opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learned a lot about Hospital guidelines as far as building and keeping patients safe
Associate Director of Facility Management (Current Employee) –  New Canaan, CTNovember 8, 2017
Associate Director of Facilities
Safety Officer
Environmental Rounds
Construction Management
Created preventative Maintenance System
Updated and learned how to communicate with the state, Joint Commission, and CMS
Pros
Leeway with time
Cons
Weekend work, overnight work, etc...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work experience
Social Worker (Current Employee) –  New Canaan, CTJune 20, 2017
very fast-paced, a lot of responsibility, helping people at their most vulnerable, sometimes there are too many intakes for one social worker to handle but people pitch in to help whenever possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Debatable
Counselor (Former Employee) –  New Canaan, CTApril 2, 2017
Job opportunity out of graduate school. Graduate degree certainly not necessary to work there. Daily work tasks are easy and all training is done on job site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  New Canaan, CTJanuary 8, 2017
Great team environment, beautiful work space, opportunity for learning as there is exposure to a varied mental health and addiction population. Good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Behavioral Mental Health, Substance Addiction
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  New Canaan, CTOctober 21, 2016
shifts are 12 hours, 7-7. acute care unit-psychiatric emergencies. substance addiction unit-detox from alcohol and polysubstance abuse. adolescent unit-ages from 13-17.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the people I worked with.
Unit Clerk (Current Employee) –  New Canaan, CTAugust 30, 2016
I really enjoyed working with the patients, especially when you could see the progress they were making in their recovery,
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  New Canaan, CTApril 1, 2016
The people are friendly, work is good and stable long as you are a good worker. They offer good incentives and a good environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World Renowed Substance Abuse and Medical Health Facility
Director of Health Sciences and Patients' Library (Former Employee) –  New Canaan, CTNovember 21, 2015
Completed a total reorganization of the existing library and established a full-service state-of-the-art Health Sciences Library and Business Information Center, managed staff, instituted and administered departmental operating budget.
Pros
Independence of thinking and introduction of new programs and services, and appreciation from patients, staff and management
Cons
Lack of appropriate budget and funds.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning
Patient Account Representative (Current Employee) –  New Canaan, CTJuly 13, 2015
I have learned alot over the years. Place to really learn and to help broaden your horizons. Place really to make a difference in someone life
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers and patients
Psychiatric Technician (Current Employee) –  New Canaan, CTJune 21, 2015
I love the job, meeting new people from different backgrounds. I love caring for people. Its very clean, the food is great. I love 12 hour shifts- full time is 3 days on 4 days off. Administration takes advantage and is not very organized. Do not feel appreciated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and Educational work expeience
Residential Counselor (Current Employee) –  New Canaan, CTJanuary 18, 2015
Great job to work for and to learn. Great staff team, works closely
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
adequate workplace
food service employee (Current Employee) –  New Canaan, CTNovember 24, 2014
Silver Hill hospital ( Unidine corporation )
A typical day is routine, management is adequate co-workers are good,the difficult part of my job is the repetion, the most enjoyable part of my job is complrting my job assignment.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Catering/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  New Canaan, CTJune 8, 2014
a typical work day is to do everything that was shown to me .
I learned the food plan the way my employer requires
Management is above average, co-workers good.
no hard part to the job.
doing the job correctly.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coordinated patient admissions to the hospital
Patient Liaison (Former Employee) –  New Canaan, CTDecember 29, 2013
Coordinated patient admissions to the hospital. This included: taking blood pressure, searching luggage and bags for contraband, collecting urine samples, taking copies of insurance information, collecting credit card data for advance payment, answering calls about openings at the hospital, and maintaining a welcoming lounge for incoming patients and their families.
Supervisor was rarely available.
Schedule changed weekly which caused difficulty when it often conflicted with school class schedule.
Co-workers were a bit proprietary over patients which disabled team work value.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and valuable clinical experience
Inpatient Social Worker (Current Employee) –  New Canaan, CTNovember 18, 2013
My experience at Silver Hill Hospital as an inpatient social worker has provided me with the concrete clinical skills that would be valuable in working with diverse and challenging populations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
medical facility
Manager of Patient Accounts (Former Employee) –  New Canaan, CTJuly 1, 2013
Great treatment in beautiful setting
longstanding history of psychiatric and substance abuse treatment in private facility


Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Residential Counselor (Current Employee) –  New Canaan, CTJune 4, 2013
Silver hill is a prestigious hospital. A typical day at work would consist of residential counseling duties and health and wellness duties. These included monitoring residents behavior, inputing daily data notes, and conducting wellness activities. I had wonderful coworkers who worked together and worked exceptionally hard. The most enjoyable part of the job was changing lives. Silver hill prides itself as being a top hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mental health hospital
Development Intern (Former Employee) –  New Canaan, CTApril 9, 2013
I volunteered at Silver Hill Hospital for one summer, and got the chance to work with both doctors and patients. It was a very interesting experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Silver Hill Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 26 reviews
57
413
33
22
11

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.1

4.0Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Silver Hill Hospital Reviews by Location