Simon & Schuster Employee Reviews

Found 65 reviews matching the search See all 67 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible manager and staff
Voice picker (Former Employee) –  Riverside, NJMarch 12, 2019
They don’t train you properly. Very clicky and petty employers. Lots of the employers smoke weed in their casa on their lunch breaks which was unbelievable to see. They don’t train you properly at all which is why their turn over rate is so high. The managers don’t do anything but ride around on scooters because they are overweight and cannot walk the distance in the warehouse .
I would say a lot more but my lawyer has told me to not speak .
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this job
Human Resources Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Riverside, NJMarch 11, 2019
A wonderful company to work for. I love the people and the environment. I love the structure as well as the atmosphere and the make up of the company. This is a very family oriented and relaxed place to work. The company is dedicated to what they do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Riverside, NJFebruary 15, 2019
Hard working and energetic worker with more than 10 years general laborer experience. Skilled in warehouse duties, pricing and packaging of merchandise to fill orders. Ready to stocking shelves and capable of working in seasonally warm and cool environments. Focused on shipping and receiving with an excellent safety record in stocking, inventory control, and all major warehousing operations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok.
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Riverside, NJDecember 28, 2018
Management doesn't give people the opportunity to grow. They choose favorites with who they promote and give bogus increases. Morale in the warehouse is pretty low and it's something that corporate nor management seems to really care about.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not pleasant
Voice picker (Current Employee) –  Riverside, NJNovember 30, 2018
You have to fight your coworkers to even have work most days. Everything constantly breaks down. The location is stressful and your job is always on the line.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Production Designer Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 13, 2018
Co workers are helpful and very friendly. The work environment is OK The Building needs a little Up Dating. Overall it is a wonderful place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good job
Split Case/ Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Riverside, NJNovember 13, 2018
Simon and Schuster helped me towards becoming and great team player.
Also providing good training to help towards my job duties..
Overall it was a good job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simon and Schuster
Senior Claims Analyst (Current Employee) –  Riverside, NJJune 28, 2018
Simon and Schuster is a great place to work. It has a friendly atmosphere and enjoyable work environment. I would recommend it to anyone looking to get into the publishing industry.
Pros
Discounts on books
Cons
A lot of work, but is that really a con?
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor!
Senior Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Orangeburg, NYJune 12, 2018
Great work and great people! I was involved with 5 different Relational Data Bases, as well as CICS and COBOL. A major competitor was purchased and I was the lead on the conversion and integration of that company. I also was the Lead on the conversion to COBOL 390.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast past work environment
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Riverside, NJJune 10, 2018
I'm a college student so I applied for this job for the summer. The pay is decent so I would recommend this place as an option for other people looking for summer jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a straight forward winter job
Internship (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJJune 1, 2018
Everyday I was doing something new. First I would stuff envelopes, then I would copy and scan documents. Finally I calculated taxes and wrote journals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Professional
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 8, 2018
answered reception desk phone, assist general manager, distributed mail to floors. I learned how to use the mailing machine and postal code for different countries, Basic administrative duties
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible working conditions, decent pay, poor management
Shipping Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Riverside, NJApril 12, 2018
Firstly, the work environment is abysmal. Very hot in the summer and extremely cold in the winter. Warehouse was extremely dirty. Benefits were ok but pay was on the poor side for the job being done
Pros
benefits
Cons
dirty work environement, over worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Bristol, PAMarch 25, 2018
Friendly job , I love working with people that don't mind helping people to the next step helping people further their life plenty of opportunity to 16
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Manager, Custom Publishing Special Sales (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 13, 2018
Unfortunately each department is very cliquey and everyone keeps to themselves. Certain higher ups doesn't treat the assistants with the same respect.
Pros
decent holiday schedule. 15 days paid vacation
Cons
lack of advancement, toxic atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good Place to work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Bristol, PA 19007March 10, 2018
I would still be there if they didn't close the warehouse. This was a great place to be and it was th first and only job I've had in the past 40 years
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging workplace with great people.
Vice President, Digital Product Development (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 1, 2018
I really liked working and Simon & Schuster, accomplished a great deal there, and gained invaluable knowledge about the agile product development methodolgy, but I live in Philadelphia, and but commuting to New York for 20 years began taking its toll and was no longer sustainable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simon Schuster
Picker (Former Employee) –  Delran, NJFebruary 8, 2018
Simon Schuster, A CBS Owned company, surprisingly unorganized in their Pick Department, there was too many tech issues with their equipment, and the pay was way too low
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boy club
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 5, 2017
Gotta be in the club to really survive at this job. IF your not of brand your screwed and will only make it so far. Its cool to put on your resume though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well orginized company
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Bristol, PAOctober 4, 2017
I really didn't have time to talk to any of the workers due to the fact that everybody was always busy.

I learned how to work with other people and communicate with others on a job.

Manager wasn't the best but I did my best to work with the manger.

The hardest part was being on your feet all day.

The most enjoyable part was being out of the house for a few hours and pay day.
Cons
short breaks or sometimes no breaks if the company was behind in orders
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Simon & Schuster. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 67 reviews
514
426
319
23
15

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture