Sinclair Community College Employee Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Based on 138 reviews
Ratings breakdown
575
441
311
27
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 138 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was not great
Tutor in various Subjects for various age groups (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHAugust 9, 2018
You are paid minimum wage and are expected to work alot of hours. I was a tutor and half the time my students were not involved or tried to get better grades. They expected me to do the work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with great people
IT Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHJuly 31, 2018
I love to work at Sinclair. People are very nice & cooperate. I learn so many things since I am working there. Flexible work schedule, great boss and co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Entertainment News Journalist (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHJuly 19, 2018
The Clarion is a fun great place to work and start your journalism career! The workers are friendly, they let you explore your taste in journalism, The editors are always willing to help make your work better or even give you great ideas to build on.
Pros
Open minded environment
Cons
I had trouble getting paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work environment
Music Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHJune 24, 2018
Great environment, wonderful people, and pride in your job. Plenty of activities, good scholastics, easy parking. Great job but not enough hours, unfortunately.
Pros
Environment, people
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay place to work
FINANCIAL AID STUDENT ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHJune 21, 2018
It's an okay place to work if you aren't concerned about how much money you make. They only pay student workers minimum wage, and cap our hours at twenty hours per week, so you are never allowed to work more than twenty hours a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship at Sinclair Help Desk
SERVICE TECH ANALIST (Former Employee) –  444 W. Third Street; Dayton, Ohio 45402-1460June 11, 2018
Wonderful group of People to work with.
I worked the 1st. shift in the Sinclair Help Desk, underground.
we each had our own cubical, sound proof.
Sign-In to system and answer all phone calls Analyzing Client need and then either transferring to appropriate Tech or Unlock Clients access or issuing a new password.
I always love working with Clients, no matter what their first Hello, angry or sweet, all calms down when a fix is found.
There were no positions open at the end of my Internship or I would have asked to stay.

The hardest part was having to leave my position.
The most enjoyable part was the team of people I worked with.
Pros
Positive Working Environment
Cons
Positions rarely available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very political place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHJune 11, 2018
Certain Departments will blackball you if they feel that you don't fit into their buddy system. There is no training for the job and they are willing to let you go after the first mistake even if you weren't responsible for it. Supervisor is never around when you actually need her, yet tends to find fault in you when things go wrong. I can only speak for the department that I worked in but I did hear while I was there that it is like that almost campus wide. HR simply doesn't care or doesn't know exactly how to do their jobs. BUYER BEWARE!
Pros
Nice pay
Cons
Backstabbing at its best
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well run Organization
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHApril 30, 2018
No advancement opportunities if you are on "soft" money. Can be very political. Management advanced favorites. Some evaluations were arbitrary. College does do a good job of leveraging resources.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
No opportunities for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Grounds Keeper
Student Grounds Keeper (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHApril 15, 2018
Working as a student Grounds Keeper allowed Sinclair to help pay for my tuition and book costs, which lowered the amount of loans that I had used in financial aid for my classes. I enjoyed moving about on campus and exploring new places that I had never seen before at Sinclair Community College.
Pros
Easy. Simple
Cons
Slow, and Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work. They will cut your job of many years
Financial Aid Intake Technician (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHApril 14, 2018
After over 10 years of service, they just eliminated positions without offering other positions in different areas. If you are over 40, beware, they will get rid of you.
Pros
Holiday time off
Cons
Horrible management and horrible Human Reaources Department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very busy day.
Student / Temporary Worker (Former Employee) –  Located at Telamon off of Springfield St.April 5, 2018
This is a school. I did not work here. I just worked and went to school here.I said I didn't work here I went to school here part time while I worked part time through the temp services. The job location was located off of Springfield St, the place is called Telamon.
Pros
The teachers work very well with the students.
Cons
To bad they dont have escalators. To many steps to climb.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Classroom computer laboratory
Geography Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHApril 2, 2018
A typical day included helping geography students with their GIS homework assignments and administering geography quizzes. The most enjoyable part of the job was easy access to the computer lab to work on my own homework when the lab was not busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct Professor
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHMarch 30, 2018
Great learning experience. Several opportunities to gain professional development. Great management support. Would've stayed if I didn't have to relocate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
independent work
Part time lecturer (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHMarch 9, 2018
teach subjects to students, test and grade progress. develop classes and labs. paid by the credit hours taught. all classes are your own responsibility
Pros
great if you are self motivated
Cons
10 weeks offfor summer, 3 for christmass, 1 for spring break, but no vacation days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bookstore Associate
Book Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHFebruary 28, 2018
My typical day consisted of helping students find their course materials. Completing students purchases as a cashier. I stocked inventory when needed. And I also acted as the receptionist when the actual receptionist needed a break.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
advance knowledge
ENERGY MANAGEMENT INTERN (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHFebruary 20, 2018
We worked 3 days per week. Performed energy assessments on commercial properties and prepared reports detailing energy management suggestions for these properties. These suggestions are mainly in the areas of HVAC and controls.
Pros
learn new things everyday.
Cons
New equipment, a lot of document to read and write
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Photo Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHFebruary 17, 2018
I love photography so being a lab tech was amazing, I got to be in the dark room mixing chemicals, helping new and advanced students on advice on their photos.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Clinical Instructor (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHJanuary 19, 2018
I really enjoyed my time at Sinclair. I feel that they really invested a lot of time and energy into helping me succeed and for that I am forever grateful. The type of education you acquire with the low cost really makes for a great experience all the way around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compassionate and hardworking staff whose focus was the student's success..
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHJanuary 13, 2018
A Great place to work. My position as an Office Assistant at Sinclair Community College was temporary, through the Federal Work Study program. The particular office I assisted had amazing professionals and students that I had the pleasure meeting and working with.
Pros
Flexibility for my studies
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Environment
Adjunct Faculty (Former Employee) –  Mason, OHDecember 26, 2017
I would definitely recommend Sinclair for anyone interested in getting their feet wet in the teaching field. The pace is nice, the work is fun, and the colleagues and managers are cordial.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
odd hours for class times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sinclair Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Sinclair Community College Reviews by Location