Skanska Employee Reviews

Found 292 reviews matching the search See all 1,023 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Journeyman Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Pensacola, FLDecember 4, 2018
I Loved the company but they have a lot of employees who have been working here since high school and well the bring and unprofessional culture to the work experience.
Pros
great benifits and pay
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skanska
EHS Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WANovember 27, 2018
Leading commercial construction company who believes that work/life balance is essential.

Generous compensation package.

Team culture and mentality with a Social and Diversity committee.

Ideal office location.

They need to improve job descriptions and standards and training process.
Pros
parking provided, great pay, company sponsored social events
Cons
lack of training process
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Art Director/Senior Graphic Artist (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYNovember 15, 2018
Skanska is a great place to work emphasized by the amazing people it employ's. The company itself isn't the best, and although it preaches diversity and inclusion, it doesn't seem to live up to it's own standard. No real opportunity for advancement or growth unless you're apart of the "club". Overall not a bad place, and management tries to take care of the employees.
Pros
Great benefits package, phenomenal colleges, great mission and projects.
Cons
No growth opportunities, office location is terrible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Carpenter Foreman (Former Employee) –  MiamiNovember 11, 2018
Building ,prepare the layout of the proyect,utilice saw,drills ,sanders,lader,equipment ,select material and fallow the instructions from supervisor inspection
Pros
Lunchs regular
Cons
Short brake morning and afternoon
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful office
Accounts Payables Clerk (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJNovember 11, 2018
I din't not work there long enough to form an opinion. Beautiful office and wonderful colleagues. Professional and friendly job culture.
Great management team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative
Project Manager & Building Contractor Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 3, 2018
I learned a lot about project management and what it means to be one at the level of competence that Skanska expects. I had to put on many hats as only intern in terms of tech savvy-ness to people skills and basic know how of a construction environment. My supervisors took me under their wing and helped steer me in a direction that pushed me in creativity and diligence that came with accomplishing new tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skanska is a very good company to work for.
IT Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJOctober 27, 2018
Skanska is a very good company to work for.
The company is very well organized. The company has great talent working there. They care about their employees and are always emphasizing "SAFETY" first.
Pros
Great company
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and competitive workplace
Carpenter Foreman (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 3, 2018
Was able to learn how to run a crew and read blueprints . Trained in multiple safety aspects and learned how to be very productive in the construction feild
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Strong Company
Senior EHS Manager (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 26, 2018
fast moving, high energy construction company. it was a challenge to learn the construction environment. team was well supportive when it came to enforcing our safety culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company in different states
CONSTRUCTION SUPERINTENDENT (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 24, 2018
Company is great in other states, not a lot of work in Houston.
people get complacent, lazy. Lack of communication throughout teams and upper management.
Pros
benefits
Cons
lack of communication from team members
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORSeptember 6, 2018
Management: Good
Workplace Culture: Good
Typical Day at Work: Good
This is a good place to work.
The most enjoyable part of the job: working with the team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Shuttle Driver (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYSeptember 5, 2018
Job was ok. The executives I drove within the airport were really nice. Management was lacking at times but overall not too bad. Some supervisors lacked leadership or involvement with some of the workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
CAD Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 5, 2018
It was a great opportunity and great team at First Street tunnel project. I learned many new things during my two years with Skanska there. they gave me the good lead to success, very good management team. I was proud to be a part of Skanska.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Leadman/Operator (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLAugust 26, 2018
I really enjoyed working for Skanska. I moved up very fast with the company, but went a different way with things. I went to get my NCCCO certs and the company supported me through all of it. When I got done there was no seats open so I had to leave them to follow my passion. Hopefully one day I will be able to return to skanska and get back to work with the great friends I made there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun yet focused work place
Superintendent (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 24, 2018
Fun and energetic vibe. Strong leadership with focus on development of its employees. Safety first culture always striving zero accidents/incidents. .
Pros
free lunches
Cons
work and life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
CAD Tech II Lead (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INAugust 17, 2018
Great Benefits, Good Salary. Clean Healthy Environment. Education assistance was available. Somewhat flexible hours. I just wish they had taught me more electrical engineering instead of just drawing electrical schematics. Transfer to another department was not an option.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be difficult or rewarding to work for
Assistant Superintendent (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 13, 2018
I learned many things but felt i could've learned a lot more if i had a better manager. Theres a lot of personal politics and people throwing each other under the bus on the larger projects. Days were extremely long sometimes but that is normal for this industry.
Pros
very good benefits, have some talented people working for them
Cons
work life balance, middle management can be awful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced rewarding work
Project Accountant (Former Employee) –  Miami and Fort LauderdaleAugust 4, 2018
On site helping the project managers to stay on schedule by facilitating payments and ensuring work completion matched cash flow needs. Very supporting teams and great mentorship from management. Finishing the high school and watching the excitement on the kid's faces was very rewarding. Staying on schedule given subcontractor hurdles was the most challenging.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Site changes once projects were substantially complete
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional intense atmosphere
Coordinator/Superintendent (Former Employee) –  NYCAugust 2, 2018
Skanska was very intense workplace. They demanded a lot from there employees. I work for them for short time and had to leave do to knee injury. But I can tell you from my experience, if you know and do your job, you can be very successful at Skanska
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the job you're at.
Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAJuly 31, 2018
Skanska promotes "care for life" on all of its jobs. It really depends where you go, and who you work for with this company. I've had great managers, and really terrible managers. You will get a great work experience with Skanska, the projects are massive.
Pros
Great work experience .
Cons
You will work a lot!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Skanska. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 1,024 reviews
5482
4323
3153
231
135

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight