Skanska Culture reviews

Found 71 reviews matching the search See all 1,066 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work, Great Co-Workers
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAFebruary 14, 2019
The tough part is the amount of meetings that are required. This can subtract from your ability to complete tasks daily. I learned a lot about the construction industry in general. Field personnel are generally very helpful and willing to help you learn about the work. Management can be difficult in construction. My first manager was great, but my last couple were not always available. Workplace culture is usually positive. I was lucky enough to work with great people as peers. We tended to support each other well. The hardest part can be waiting. Whether it is waiting for subcontractors, managers or the client. I really enjoyed working with the tram and watching the projects progress.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Lunches were usually short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Human Resources Support Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 14, 2019
Highly recommend working for Skanska. Excellent benefits. Inclusive and diverse culture. Leadership development and career opportunities. Relaxed atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We built a tunnel
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAFebruary 12, 2019
While at Skanska we built a tunnel from Portsmouth to Norfolk Va. It was a nice place to work. If you were craft personal you New when the job was completed you would be laid off.
Pros
Big team.
Cons
Big team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Accounts Payable Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cortez, COFebruary 11, 2019
My years at Skanska were full of learning opportunities. Workplace culture was very teamwork oriented. Tours of job sites were always exciting and educational.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to be associated with!
Earth work general foreman (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAJanuary 26, 2019
Daily routine is important, attention to detail is paramount! Safety is the ultimate culture. Happy people, fun environment, well compensated. Mistakes are not tolerated, do your job well or move on!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
IT Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 2, 2019
I enjoy working at Skanska. My colleagues and I do what we can each day to support the business goals. Management isupports its employees efforts to further develop his/her jobs skills. Our office has a casual, fun vibe. There's a culture club that plans office activities and events that coincide with holidays or current events such as holiday parties, Super Bowl parties, birthday celebrations, etc. The hardest part of the job is getting the rest of the business to see IT as part of the organization.
Pros
Ability to work from home one day a week
Cons
Communication from management can sometimes be spotty or slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Would go back today.
Senior Electrical Estimator (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WADecember 19, 2018
Great place to work. Would go back today. Loved the culture, the people I worked with, the office ascetics (beautiful LEED building), location in Seattle.
Pros
All the tools needed to do your job. Mentorship.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Journeyman Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Pensacola, FLDecember 4, 2018
I Loved the company but they have a lot of employees who have been working here since high school and well the bring and unprofessional culture to the work experience.
Pros
great benifits and pay
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skanska
EHS Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WANovember 27, 2018
Leading commercial construction company who believes that work/life balance is essential.

Generous compensation package.

Team culture and mentality with a Social and Diversity committee.

Ideal office location.

They need to improve job descriptions and standards and training process.
Pros
parking provided, great pay, company sponsored social events
Cons
lack of training process
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful office
Accounts Payables Clerk (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJNovember 11, 2018
I din't not work there long enough to form an opinion. Beautiful office and wonderful colleagues. Professional and friendly job culture.
Great management team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Strong Company
Senior EHS Manager (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 26, 2018
fast moving, high energy construction company. it was a challenge to learn the construction environment. team was well supportive when it came to enforcing our safety culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORSeptember 6, 2018
Management: Good
Workplace Culture: Good
Typical Day at Work: Good
This is a good place to work.
The most enjoyable part of the job: working with the team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
CAD Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 5, 2018
It was a great opportunity and great team at First Street tunnel project. I learned many new things during my two years with Skanska there. they gave me the good lead to success, very good management team. I was proud to be a part of Skanska.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun yet focused work place
Superintendent (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 24, 2018
Fun and energetic vibe. Strong leadership with focus on development of its employees. Safety first culture always striving zero accidents/incidents. .
Pros
free lunches
Cons
work and life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be difficult or rewarding to work for
Assistant Superintendent (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 13, 2018
I learned many things but felt i could've learned a lot more if i had a better manager. Theres a lot of personal politics and people throwing each other under the bus on the larger projects. Days were extremely long sometimes but that is normal for this industry.
Pros
very good benefits, have some talented people working for them
Cons
work life balance, middle management can be awful
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welder
Structural Welder (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 9, 2018
long hot days out in the sun if you dont like being out doors then this job isnt for you folks their are a great bunch of people to work with with competitive health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sr. SharePoint and Web Administrator (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 10, 2018
You get to prioritize your tasks. I have picked up on SharePoint Administrative knowledge. The workplace culture is relaxed. Everybody gets along fairly well.
Pros
I would like to skip a review for now
Cons
I would like to skip a review for now
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
SUPERINTENDENT (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLFebruary 11, 2018
fun place to work but fast pace in charge of a lot of subs we had a great team and leadership on site most of the time at least once a mouth we had a team building outing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skanska was an awesome experience
NYC sandhog (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 5, 2018
I worked for Skanska on the Second ave project. It was a great experience. Good work good people. I made alot new relationships. The staff and management were excellent.
Pros
Met a lot of great people. Great work.
Cons
The job ended.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company, great opportunities to meet new people and learn
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 31, 2018
Great way to get involved in the industry. Jobsite teams really bonded together and created a family like environment. Amazing benefits and medical options.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Skanska. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 1,066 reviews
5505
4333
3157
233
138

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Women's ratings

3.5Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss