Slim Chickens Restaurant Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lousy and not Much business
Cashier (Former Employee) –  North Richland Hills, TXOctober 20, 2018
Don't Work For Slim Chickens if you can Help it! There are other and better places to work. My typical day at work was just awful. I learned I had to use my cell phone for the internet. #lame
Pros
None
Cons
you have to pay for your food and short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average workplace but could be better. Should give out more raise. Although great people and mangers.
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJuly 10, 2018
In my time at this establishment a normal day would be 7 hour shifts. I learned multiple positions from cooking to running the register. The managers there are great and very easygoing. The culture would someday be great and sometimes not so great just because people have their own personal problems. The hardest part of the job was just starting but once I got used to it everything was pretty easy. And my most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new friends and I’ll say cooking
Pros
Food, meeting new people, and managers
Cons
No raises, complaints, and no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job for part time work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Fayetteville, ARMay 5, 2018
In the location I work at, the GM is on top of his game in making sure the restaurant is running smoothly.
I enjoy working there and like my fellow employees
Pros
Nice place to work
Cons
Hours cut back after 1st week of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun while it lasted!
Key Hourly (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXApril 7, 2018
Thorough understanding of the menu and recommended items and answered any questions that guests had; Drive-thru; Oracle; Handled cash and credit card transactions; Maintained the appearance of the restaurant from the guests’ perspective.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly relaxed until it’s time to be serious
Drive Thru Cashier (Former Employee) –  Longview, TXJanuary 3, 2018
Slim Chickens was an awesome job to have. The workplace was very relaxed but whenever we got a rush we knew when it was time to be serious, which I think was pretty cool. Slim Chickens was my favorite place to be employed at all the employees got along well and ended up actually having fun while at work!
Pros
Five dollar discount on any meal
Cons
Short breaks, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is like family
Manager (Current Employee) –  Tyler, TXDecember 22, 2017
This is more for the south roadway location and I would have to say working under the current GM has been rather rough as far as communication and ideas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARSeptember 28, 2017
Always something to do. Good food. Hours varied. Pay was average. Would recommend to first time employment. Easy job. fun environment, discounts each shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKJuly 19, 2017
Taking customers orders as well as serving them their orders. Everything was fast paced but my fellow employees where very fun to work for. Safe environment as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me but that's just my opinion
Cook/Prep/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  West Monroe, LAAugust 31, 2016
it was very unorganized and no one really knew exactly what to do on the job, most of them were very disrespectful and it definitely isn't a place to work if you are anti-smoking, most of the staff took smoke breaks more than they actually worked.
Pros
30 minute lunch break
Cons
look in review
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and the co-workers are varied and fun also
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmond, OKSeptember 1, 2015
Easy work but at the time management was not hands on and lacked people skills. I have heard that the management that was there is no longer in that store. So I would recommend this place as an excellent place to work. Especially for those that are looking for their first job
Pros
Free meals fun enviroment
Cons
Lacking in benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Slim Chickens Restaurant. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 11 reviews
52
45
32
22
10

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.0Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.8Culture