SLOAN Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can where shorts in the summer time. When it's really hot.
Press Operator (Current Employee) –  Augusta, Ark.April 29, 2018
A very good place to work. The salary is very good. People are friendly and will help you out if you have any questions. Human resource has a open door policy you can always come to them.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
The 30 minute drive to and from work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall is good.
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILApril 15, 2018
Close to chicao Ohare. it is Nnear hyway. All manufacturing done in the united states. Close to residential area for low wage workers. Close to stores. There are nurses present in the facility to take care of some health issues, like cold.
Pros
near chicago
Cons
noisy and dirty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive work environment with fantastic like-minded people
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILMarch 3, 2018
It really takes about a year before you are done with the basic training for customer service at Sloan. Even after all that training, you end up finding that you never stop learning new processes or tricks. As I developed with the team we found new ways to implement processes to streamline our work. The hardest part of the position was during the holiday shutdowns. This is when all the Reps would want their orders expedited and the End of Year reports resolved. It was something we all had to prepare for and work together to conquer. The most enjoyable part of the position, other than our fantastic Reps was the challenges that was demanded of us. Not only did we have to keep working on our processes to become more efficient, we had to learn to work together. In this, when I started my employment, they were not communicating and there was multiple hands on one project which confused not only the CSR's but the Reps as well as they did not know who to primarily go to. Management at Sloan is fantastic. They are always willing to provide suggestions, assistance, and listen to ideas for improvement. There is only constructive criticism and plans to improve in our meetings and even that is at a minimum because they sit and work with us on a daily basis. It has helped the entire team become closer and more responsible as a whole and, I believe, has improved all of our lives professionally.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at sloan
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Indian Trail, NCFebruary 5, 2018
sloan is a very nice place to work i learned alot at sloan i learned how to operate d6k cat dozer a motor grader and learned more skills on the track hoe i loaded dump trucks with a cat 349 for approx 6 months or more we work from 7a.m.-6p.m. monday-friday and 7a.m.-3:30p.m. on saturdays
Pros
401k healthcare and pay
Cons
formen have lack of knowledge
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Staffmark Temp (Former Employee) –  Augusta, ARJanuary 6, 2018
Typical day would be going in at 4 in the morning and when I get off the phone or in the afternoon the hardest part of the job was when the equipment went down for a lot of down time
Pros
Good money
Cons
Having to go off campus to smoke
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers looked out for each other
Titanic Exhibit Actor (Former Employee) –  Flint, MISeptember 15, 2017
A nice place to work, all the lower level co-workers were extremely friendly and helped each other out a lot. I learned a lot about how to talk to customers in a relaxed but professional manner.
Pros
45 min lunch break
Cons
Work schedule never came out on time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of opportunity to get advanced in my job
Sales Technical Asst Database Contract Management (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILSeptember 7, 2017
Good company, but less opportunity for advancement of my career. Management focused more on business strategies but less chances for better opportunity for employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good compant to work for
Quality Control Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Huntington Beach, CAAugust 14, 2017
Everything was wonderful and a great company to work for, management team was great and like to hear everyone opinion.
Pay was good and benefits was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILAugust 3, 2017
Sloan Valve company is an awesome place to work. Ran by the union. Has a variety of positions available in the warehouse. An employee should never get bored working here..
Pros
Cafeteria in Workplace
Cons
Union in the building..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quiet workplace
basic labeling of product (Former Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PAJune 27, 2017
good co workers ,like the hours, listened to u. care if things went well for you, made sure u know your job no tension worked on own, had a christmas party,
Pros
nice
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Inspector (Former Employee) –  Augusta, ARApril 3, 2017
Its a great job. You can get a lot of hours. You have great co-workers. Supervisors are available at all times. You will never have a dull moment. You don't have to worry about short checks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really wanted to improve productivity
Start Up site Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 17, 2017
Smaller company and family owned. Allowed for very forward thinking and planning for company performance and improvement.

Very open to suggestions for maintenance, machine, and process improvements. really wanted to change their culture.
Pros
Open to suggestions and improvments.
Cons
Problems in dealing with unions at very small plant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many years
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILOctober 11, 2016
Good company but no loyalty. I loved driving the forklift and there was a lot to do each day. I would move materials such as flush valves and other company products throughout the plant.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent benefits with an open door policy
Lead Laboratory Technician (Current Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILSeptember 11, 2016
My day is usually unpredictable with is very exciting to me. Keeps me on my toes and have lead to my sharpening of my interpersonal and problem solving skills.
Pros
Reduced lunch prices
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
DESIGN ENGINEER INTERN (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILMarch 14, 2016
As an intern at this company I learned a lot. Everyone that I encountered was extremely friendly. I learned from all my peers. I worked as hard as I can to help the company, and they really appreciated it. I would do various tasks for this company, sometimes I would be modifying some cad files. On other days the fellow interns and I would be running test on product to see if we can make a product more efficient. Through these test that we did with the valves, we did just that. Made some product more efficient, management was very pleased with us.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
SAP Security Consultant (Former Employee) –  Franklin, ILDecember 8, 2014
It was a wonderful experience working with people from different ethnic group.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and self afficient.
Assembly (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILNovember 16, 2014
This job was a great job but do to a strike couldnt stay in it no more.
Pros
free lunch, great salary, easy work
Cons
strike
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
Technical Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILOctober 2, 2014
It was great
Sloan is a great company
close to home company
Family based company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Contracted
CNC Mazak Programmer / Setup (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILSeptember 5, 2014
Running production parts for complete assembly on water valves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cvc cell is one of the most exating place to work every day fell like the firt time
assemler (Former Employee) –  ILJune 23, 2014
well they are very know for the automatic fauces and toilets
Pros
was interested
Cons
heath care very poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SLOAN. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 36 reviews
511
415
310
20
10

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture