SMARTECH & Associates, LP Employee Reviews

Found 57 reviews matching the search See all 64 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Director of Operations (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 3, 2018
If you are looking for a company to grow with this is the one! Lots of opportunity to grow and expand yourself. Management team cares about their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Director of Operations and Business Development (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 3, 2018
Lots of room to grow. Great opportunities. Great entry path for new technicians. Free certifications for those that qualify. Recruiting group is passionate and cares about all employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
st Line ATM technician trainee (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 6, 2018
had a great time working there, owner was fair and nice and the other workers as well,safe working conditions i dont have any complaints about the position or company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hmm
Technician (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, LANovember 2, 2018
Not enough work to make decent money for the area I was in.... Policy of not hiring on to places that I had been for 18 months was a deal breaker for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but satisfying
REPAIR TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  TampaOctober 24, 2018
Working for smartech can be extremely stressful as you need to schedule appointments with many clients per day and will need to do a lot of driving. Getting into the swing of it can be a little chaotic at first but once you get used to the daily grind it can be quite fun. You get to see many interesting places while performing service calls on client machines.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Dell Certified Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXOctober 17, 2018
Great place to work and fun place to work. this is a on site job and the jobs are few and far between, but you do get to meet new people. I would recommend this position to any beginner
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful.
Lead Dell Field Technician NW Arkansas (Former Employee) –  Bentonville, AROctober 4, 2018
I have nothing good to say about working for Smartech. It is a rachet. I would not recommend to my worst enemy working for this company. They are a joke.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Working for Smartech
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No review
Field Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 6, 2018
There's nothing really noteworthy about it except the scenery from driving from place to place. You spend more time on the road than doing repairs here.
Pros
Loads of free time
Cons
Pay is not so great
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be careful working for them
pc tech (Former Employee) –  Monroe, LAAugust 10, 2018
You are paid per job and you can end up in the hole on your jobs working for them. Very poor communication when it comes to some things. You can not start your calls until mid morning because they don't get them out fast enough. Also you have to use two separate ticket systems and update your calls by noon that you just started on two hours ago. There is a lot of red tape, and wasted time.
Pros
work at your own pace
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Field Technician (Current Employee) –  Fayetteville, ARJuly 31, 2018
You accept tickets and call clients to set up appointments
pick up parts at depot
and repair various Dell products

Flexible schedule not too much driving
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
Sometime work isn't consistent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Entry level position
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Burlington, VTMay 1, 2018
This was a great entry level job in the IT/Support field. All expenses and training was paid. This was a great learning experience and opportunity for me.
Pros
Schedule
Cons
Travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be careful what you accept
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 7, 2018
24-hour on call status, even if you're not told so. Must accept phone calls at ANY hour, day or night. Traveling 1000 miles per week is not uncommon.
Pros
steady work, can set your own hours
Cons
See review
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
Contractor computer technician (Former Employee) –  TexasJanuary 9, 2018
Cost me more to work for them then they paid me. I wouldn't recommend this job to anyone what so ever the pay to work ration is BS and doesn't help at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at your own pace
Computer Tech (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 13, 2017
Relaxed atmosphere, no pressure stress less environment. really enjoyed a lot of the people I met by going to different companies throughout the Lafayette and surrounding areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Technical Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 25, 2017
A nice place to work. Lots of opportunity for anyone looking for an entry level position in the IT industry. The compensation plan could be better, but the work environment is a relaxed and other staff members work together as a goal oriented team.
Pros
Wonderful team
Cons
Compensation plans low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work at your own pace
Computer Repair Technician (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAAugust 22, 2017
You get paid per job (about 18 per computer repair). It's bad that you get the same pay for a laptop and a desktop even though laptops take much more time to repair.
Pros
You get a chance to get certifications through them (Dell)
Cons
Not enough work through the week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract position, work a lot to get dumped
Computer Technician (Former Employee) –  Temple, TXJuly 18, 2017
I worked quite a bit and one day the work just kinda stopped. I was not informed of any drop in work or that I was doing a bad job or anything. I simply just stopped getting sent calls. The pay was great. I only ever met one co-worker, never met the manager or recruiter or any other team members. I was told that after being on contract for a couple months that I would be hired on as a regular employee making more and using a company vehicle. This never happened and the manager and recruiter seemed to have forgotten all about this conveniently. If you know the basics of computers and can swap out a laptop motherboard in an hour, and like driving, you'll do fine. The hardest part was tracking down the people at different locations, and finding a parking spot.
Pros
Pay, going new places daily, freedom
Cons
Never meeting coworkers, using personal vehicle, sudden stop of calls with no reasoning
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Certified Dell Technician (Former Employee) –  Monroe, LAJune 29, 2017
This is a contract company that can get you by in a pinch. The managers constantly change and you are supposed to be in charge of working your own route and job order, however, they constantly contact you to find out why you are running calls in a particular order. The pay isn't that good but it could be worse.
Pros
Work at your own pace
Cons
Low pay low job volume
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough to survive on
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJune 25, 2017
Serious lack of communication
Lack of work
They dont care how little you make as long as the job is done
No consistency
Even contacting the operations manager is a challenge
Pros
You are your own boss
Cons
Not enough to survive on
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, fair and honest
Field Tech/Onsite support (Former Employee) –  Austin, TX 78735April 28, 2017
Nothing bad to say they are all great people.
Management could take a bit more time with their contractors.
Payroll could use someone with experience.
Pros
You are your own boss
Cons
Sometimes the dispatchers try to low ball you a bit too much
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SMARTECH & Associates, LP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 64 reviews
512
419
38
213
112

See reviews about

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.5Compensation/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.8Culture

SMARTECH & Associates, LP Reviews by Location