SmartStyle Employee Reviews

3.3
Overall rating
Based on 1,023 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5230
4232
3288
2128
1145
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 998 reviews matching the search See all 1,023 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Hair Stylist (Former Employee) –  Bremen, GAJuly 19, 2018
I loved it. It was a fun and friendly place. Manager was very nice and sweet. Just wished the pay was more because I'm good at what I do and I'm pretty fast but carefully do it right.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Spring Hill, FLJuly 16, 2018
My manager didn't have a backbone and would let other stylists override her decisions. She would talk behind to other stylists . She would play mind games and be passive aggressive whenever you did something she didn't approve. The senior stylists would give us the unruly and problematic clients while they got the high end commissions.
Pros
You can avoid their mistakes.
Cons
Spiteful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is nothing truly to say that will make this place stand out.
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  York, SCJuly 16, 2018
Nothing really stands out in my mind that will make this place shine. The stylist were kind but the business was just not good. You would probably make more an hour working at a grocery store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an okay work environment
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Jonesville, VAJuly 14, 2018
It is a great place for a stylist to start their career off, however they are very underpaid depending on the area. The company needs to work on benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stepping stone
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNJuly 11, 2018
In the Salon world Smart Style is a place where you go to mess up a few haircuts, learn from your color mishaps, gain some experience, and then move on to a real salon. Corporate stores are terrible and the Knoxville TN area franchise stores are twice as bad.
Pros
Gain experience and people have low expectations
Cons
Poor management, little to no continuing education, terrible pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job out of Beauty School
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Layton, UTJuly 9, 2018
First job right out of beauty school. I worked full time here. It was a very busy store. I gained some pretty great clients right away. Its a full service salon so I loved that I could do a little bit of everything I had learned in school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very slow paced, mostly retail work
Hairstylist/Cosmetologist (Former Employee) –  Hartsville, SCJuly 9, 2018
Management depends on location. As a part time worker who was employed for 6 months, I received no benefits. Most weeks had very few hours, not a job I could live off of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable environment
Stylist/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Pascagoula, MSJuly 9, 2018
I really enjoyed working there meeting new people, and stylist, the benefits were okay, the way to achieve and Better yourself is all on you as a stylist.
Pros
Learning new trends and meeting new people
Cons
Lack of pay and healthcare benefits are not good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will Explain More Upon Request
Hair Stylist (Current Employee) –  Parkesburg, PAJuly 8, 2018
During the week it is very slow.
I have only learned from a very few.
Hardest park is being BY MYSELF from open to close also having to answer the phone and ring out product while doing cuts and color which is taking time away from my clients which I dislike a lot...
Most enjoyable part of my job is my clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high stress, corporate demands,long hours,min wage
Cosmetologist/Hair Stylist (Current Employee) –  Topeka, KSJuly 6, 2018
Ever changing. There was allot of paperwork expected for the Corp. Tracking. The pricess always changed and that effects stylist commissions and tips. There is little to no advancement. This corporation is not family friendly. The hours are long and very physically demanding. No holiday pay and 3 holidays a yrs salon is closed. No scheduled lunch and that is not regulated to insure. 15Min breaks are also not regulated therefore you may work 8-10hrs without breaks. Minimal staff, you are working by yourself for many hours. Duties included answering phones, customer questions and check out. There needs to be a receptionist to expedite services.
Pros
discount on products at end of month. free services scheduale dependant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not at all what I expected
Studio Manager (Former Employee) –  Moline, ILJuly 2, 2018
I found great dis appointment the second time I worked there. It was poorly ran and there was no working with Wal-Mart management. The upper management was never available or on site
Pros
Discounted seevices
Cons
Poor hours low staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about quanity
Cosmetologist (Former Employee) –  Ocean Springs, MSJune 30, 2018
They are all about quantity instead of quality. The general manager is a terrible person. Her status went to her head. Not allowed to sit at all. Must stand even when no clients in salon. I wasn't even allowed to sit when not busy being 8 1/2 months pregnant.
Pros
free products
Cons
terrible corporation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly staff
receptionist (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, KYJune 28, 2018
The staff is very friendly and the company just added an add on bonus when your hired so that's a plus. The job is laid back and a fun atmosphere. customers are usually always rotated around stylist.
Pros
good atmosphere
Cons
Not enough staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
left along time ago
Hairstylist/Cosmetologist (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MIJune 26, 2018
Way too corporate. Only care about them selves and how much money you can make them. I wouldn't go back. There are some great stylists still there though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Stylist (Current Employee) –  Franklin, VAJune 26, 2018
Good management, great work environment with the right team. Busy weekends but flexible hours during the week. Not much pushing for advancement. Pushed hard for sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would still work here if it wasnt for poor management
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Bloomsburg, PAJune 24, 2018
Regis isnt a bad company to work for, i enjoyed some people i worked with, the clients and the services i performed. The only downfall was the manager.. she ultimately made me want a new job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hairdresser
Cosmetologist (Former Employee) –  Mechanicsville, VAJune 23, 2018
Business was extremely slow. Impossible to make commission. Terrible location inside a Wal-Mart. It closed it's doors in 2018.Smartstyles no longer operates anywhere in Virginia.
Pros
Flexible, casual, managmenet
Cons
No business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but underpaid
Hair Stylist & Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Harvey, LAJune 22, 2018
This job was great for a stylist who was fresh out of beauty school to get experience of being on the floor. My manager was great, taught me a lot. The hardest part was dealing with unruly guests.
Pros
Easy to build clientele
Cons
Pay is below minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
general
Managing Stylist (Former Employee) –  Springfield, OHJune 21, 2018
At the time our general manager had less knowledge than I about the company and was very wishy washy. For a paid hourly salon it was not the worst place to work.
Pros
very close to home
Cons
terrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Cosmetologist/Hair Stylist (Former Employee) –  Camden, ARJune 20, 2018
Dealing with the public everyday was a highlight for me. I am a people person and enjoy inter-acting with all walks of life. This company gave me the opportunity to do just that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SmartStyle. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight