Smashburger Employee Reviews

Found 764 reviews matching the search See all 781 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZOctober 15, 2018
I really enjoyed working there and it was fast paced so it proved my skills on a daily basis. From the first day I worked there to the last I got to know the ther employess and became friends with them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers mean, place clean
Cook (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCOctober 14, 2018
The manager played favoritism and talked about employees behind their backs. The employees were drama-filled. The food was good and the place was clean.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad first job
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIOctober 13, 2018
I enjoyed my experience and everything I learned working with them. The tasks were easy to accomplish, I am just looking for different work hours and more pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy. Good place to work
Prep and cook food to order (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 13, 2018
This job was very demanding. Fast pace and exciting. If you're looking for a job to challenge you this is it. There's room for growth within the company.
Pros
Hours and overtime ways available
Cons
No healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible with time and management
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CA 92106October 8, 2018
I have a lot of respect for the company and I am very fortunate being presented with an opportunity to work for the company. I’ve been there for quite some time and I think it’s time to take my services somewhere else
Pros
Positive working environment
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cook
Short order cook/stocker (Current Employee) –  Glen Ridge, NJOctober 8, 2018
when working at smashburger i enjoy the job cause it was laid back and i had a chance to sharpen my skills but the pay was not enough to live on and i was barely making by
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed all but 2 stores
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Manassas, VAOctober 6, 2018
Smashburger was in the beginning. But got an sold several time causing poor leadership in the area. Watched them close several stores in the area within 2 years after opening them.
Pros
close to home
Cons
closed all but 2 stores
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Great.
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 1, 2018
I really liked working here. I found the job offer through a friend who worked there at the time, and I fell in love. Smashburger just had this energy to working there and it was just overall a very fun experience and it was a great way for me to start my work experience.
Pros
Free lunch, very fun work environment, overall great.
Cons
Not much actually.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good burgers, bad management
Cashier/Busser (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 1, 2018
The food here is good, but with bad management and now badly trained new hires, quality is declining. All the good managers and coworkers left because the job itself is stressful and the head manager understaffs each shift knowing full well how busy we get during rushes. Customers end up waiting 40+ minutes and take it out on the workers who are stressed out doing their best. Manager is just plain rude and morale is low.

employee discount is 50% off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun safe progressive
Manager (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHSeptember 26, 2018
Good place to work and good opportunities to move up. Safe environment and very positive. Ways to be noticed and get raises and they care about you in general
Pros
Free food
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work at but can be stressful sometimes
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVSeptember 25, 2018
Working at smashburger was a good experience. Although I was on the grill under heat, you have other employees in the back helping you out and it feels like you're on a team. communication is very important while working here since everything is linked together. I had great employees but terrible management.
Pros
discounts
Cons
short breaks and stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, it had it's challenges but it really shaped who I am today in the working world
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  United StatesSeptember 23, 2018
The hardest part of this job is working in an understaffed store during rushes. The good parts are the environment you work in and how things are run.
Pros
Free meals for management/discounted meals for employees, fun environment to work with.
Cons
Short breaks(sometimes), under-staffed frequently.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here
Shift Manager/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSSeptember 22, 2018
Great for when I was younger. Not a whole lot of opportunity for advancement. I didnt ber offered a GM position until they closed the stores here in wichita. Wish I would have taken that offer.
Pros
Free meal
Cons
No benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun good workplace
Cook (Former Employee) –  Radnor, PASeptember 20, 2018
Hard workers really expanding there franchise . A company I look up to in one would like too own. I learned a lot about a franchise and managing.. to take with me on my journey!
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Cook (Current Employee) –  Saint George, UTSeptember 19, 2018
Overall an ok place to work if you need a job. The turnover rate for employees is very high and you are expected to come in to work every time they call in need. Weekly hours fluctuate because of high turnover and management is very inconsistent.
Pros
Pay rate is good
Cons
Biased management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Place To Work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 18, 2018
It Was An Okay Position For Me Very Flexible Smashburger Would Definitely Be Good For You Are Still Attending School You Have Pleanty Of Time To Yourself
Pros
Food Was Half Off
Cons
No Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive and fun workplace
GSE (Former Employee) –  Westerville, OHSeptember 12, 2018
The coworkers make a difference in any job. The coworkers at smashburger are incredible although i can't say the same for the store manager. He seemed to skirt around his responsibilities and leave before the lunch rush would begin. Except for him i absolutely loved working here and I was sad when I had to move out of state.
Pros
coworkers, fast-paced
Cons
store manager, inconsistent hours, short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZSeptember 11, 2018
It was a fun place to work it taught me how to cook and handle money well it also taught me how to serve customers and be in an fast paced environment
Pros
Free lunch and dinner
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smashburger
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Metuchen, NJSeptember 11, 2018
it was ok nice place for young kids to work no room for advancement was coming from another place and basically needed a job to take care of home or at least help out with the bills at home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace and friendly coworkers
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Hampton, VASeptember 10, 2018
I had a very fun time working at Smashburger. I got to make new friends in and outside of the workplace. I love how everything from their meats to their condiments everything is fresh and never frozen. Very fun enviroment to work at.
Pros
discount on meals
Cons
timing of the breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Smashburger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 781 reviews
5213
4241
3210
261
156

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight