Smith & Nephew Employee Reviews

Found 382 reviews matching the search See all 491 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and underpaid
Inventory Specialists (Former Employee) –  MarylandNovember 12, 2018
Decent company with terrible managers. Workplace culture is designed for the minions to work the hardest while upper management does nothing but gets paid generously.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXNovember 11, 2018
Constant change, and good management. There is a ton of growth and development in this company, allows great medical experience and can connect with many distributors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company for someone early in their career
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  ConnecticutOctober 29, 2018
Not bad company to work for. Some good products however slow to innovate and create new products. Needs more M&A activity. 90% of a rep's time is spent on maintaining business at accounts/fending off competitors, however you are paid primarily on growth, so compensation doesn't align with actual activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Associate Sales Rep
Medical Device Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  OregonOctober 22, 2018
Hired as an ASR or Associate Sales Representative. These positions by title are a temporary or Two year "learning period".Then after two years it is to be converted or promoted to a Full sales position. Be very aware of how the particular territory you are applying for as an ASR. So often the Area manager (boss) does not have a clear plan of succession and the ASR model is smoke and mirrors. PUT IT IN WRITING! IF not don't take the ASR position! If the position is outside a major market i.e. Portland or Seattle don't take it. They will not support business enough for you to expand or nurture any new business.
Pros
Work-Life balance for Reconstruction reps. Only
Cons
Reconstruction reps are 1099 means NO BENEFITS...ZERO! No heath, vacation, you pay taxes, gas, everything.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a company to workfor now
Vice President, Head (Current Employee) –  Andover, MAOctober 20, 2018
Company and management conducts like a distressed company. if you are a young graduate, do not consider this company as it will leave a very bad taste of work world to you.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Constant change of leadership in/out. 5 COO in 5 years! 2 CEOs in 5 years, 3 CFOs in 5 years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible management
Sales Analyst (Former Employee) –  Andover, MAOctober 19, 2018
terrible company
no work life balance
terrible untrained management
unrealistic expectations
no training
public ridicule
benefits are not that great
no promotions from within
you have to kiss butt to get anywhere
Pros
cafe chefs are good
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Austin, TX 78744October 18, 2018
Corporate culture refers to the beliefs and behaviors that determine how a company's employees and management interact and handle outside business transactions. Often, corporate culture is implied, not expressly defined, and develops organically over time from the cumulative traits of the people the company hires.
Pros
Pay raise every year
Cons
Noe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on Department / Management
Validation Engineer (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 16, 2018
Current department and management is a non-stressful but stimulating environment. Current position gives broad overview of many company / industrial practices. Some employees are ridiculously lazy and others are ridiculously overworked, seems to be very dependent on which department and/or manager one has. Unfortunately, job opportunities seem to pigeon-hole people from within when it comes to hiring and promotions. Not much inter-departmental communications.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we have this sign all over the building see something say something but in reality if you say something there is retaliation
Packager Trainer (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 11, 2018
I like work for the company i enjoy working there but sometime upper
management take advantage of there position as well as supervisor you have some who really care about what that do and others just there for a pay check
Pros
benefits
Cons
its not what you know who you know
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review on being a employee at SMITH&NEPHEW is a growing experience i have learned a lot bout surgical instruments.
DISTRIBUTION ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  3303 East Holmes Rd MemphisOctober 9, 2018
The most enjoyable part of my job is my co-workers, how we work as a family. The company its self is a a superb place of employment,most of all management listen to feed back an take immediate action on any situations rather its a good one or or bad.I actually would recommend any one that is pursing a position in distribution. I am currently in school for Medical Lab Tech i have one more year before i get my degree i am 46 years of age and in the process of bettering myself and i would love a career in the hospice community, I think i would be a positive vibe . .
Pros
family oriented
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Smith & Nephew?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nobody wants to train new employees
Machinist 1 (Former Employee) –  memphis,tennesseeOctober 7, 2018
it was a good company with self centered employees the older employees did not want to train new employees and it seemed like everyone was out for theirself
Pros
decent money
Cons
little free time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
PROCUREMENT ANALYST I, (Contractor) (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 2, 2018
In comparison to other companies I've worked for Smith and Nephew is a good place to work. Once you are assigned your tasks you are not micro managed and there is always someone you can go do to answers when needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smith & Nephew
Finisher (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 30, 2018
The hardest part of the job is trying not to get tired from standing up all day. The breaks are good and they feed us on most days. I have no complaints about this job.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Not Enough Work Days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fin place to work fro
Principal Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXSeptember 25, 2018
Smith & Nephew offers great opportunities for advancement in Florida and Texas. The benefits are excellent. The work hours are long within the Negative Pressure Wound Therapy cases.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Life Balance
Executive Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXSeptember 21, 2018
Flexible work hours and great vacation package. 401K is 6% matching plus an additional 4.5% they contribute on your behalf. Insurance is comparable to industry standards.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Products, Good People, Poor Management
Group Director (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 20, 2018
Smith & Nephew is a good company with some great people. It is a sales driven company that needs to invest in it's supporting infrastructure and systems.
Pros
Mostly great people that are very dedicated
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All flash no substance
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 16, 2018
Lots of waste with poor leadership. Employees are very unhappy and churn is high. Verbally Abusive managers create toxic environments. Smith & Nephew is a stepping stone to a better medical device career if you get a bad manager.
Pros
Experience
Cons
Toxic managers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Vice President (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 13, 2018
Despite company efforts to become a "Great Place to Work" there were significant challenges in Operations:

* Aggressive targets and a lack of capable resources which overstretched the organization
* Flip-flopping strategies as senior management changed
* A culture which likes to make things more complicated than they need to be
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work place to work
Finisher I- Certified Laser Technician Trainer (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 29, 2018
I work 12 hours 3 days 1 week and 12 hours 4 days the next week every other weekend. the company is trying to save money. I do have the opportunity to go back to school but can't because of hours and shift. something i would love to finish doing. Don't get enough vacation time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good steady work
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 24, 2018
great people to work with little stressful sometimes, management needs more hands on supervision over temps, state of art equipment, steady work and room for advancement if you go after it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Smith & Nephew. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 492 reviews
5133
4167
3120
238
134

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Women's ratings

3.7Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss