Smithfield Foods Employee Reviews

Found 1,190 reviews matching the search See all 1,198 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a ok place to work
Production Worker/Processing (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOAugust 17, 2018
work emviornment is really cold. there are many thing while working. and diffrent positions. along with the oppurtunity to be moved around when ask by managers or supervisors.
Pros
its a ok place to work
Cons
most people do not stay because its a really cold place to work, and they cannot handle the cold.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Technician (Former Employee) –  Mount Erie, ILAugust 16, 2018
Horrible upper management. Could care less about their employees. Unfair advantages given to favored employees. Total lack of communication on all levels.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make good money
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Wilson, NCAugust 15, 2018
This is a great company to work for. Job security is definitely strong and opportunities for advancement exist. You will have opportunity to grow and learn with the company.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plant Employees Treated Poorly
Operations Trainee (Former Employee) –  Denison, IAAugust 15, 2018
Employees working at plant locations are treated as second class citizens. Long hours (60+ hour weeks), little compensation for overtime. All other perks of working for a large company, including invitations to company events, are exclusively given to those working in the corporate office.
Pros
None
Cons
No work-life balance, poorly compensated overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big headache
Laborer/Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Tarheel, NCAugust 15, 2018
This not a job you want to work. You get under paid and over worked. The managers and higher stall do not care bout your well being. It’s smells really bad. This job reeks havik on your body and hands.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful hard place to work it but the money is good
Picnic Skinner- ( machine operator) (Former Employee) –  Tar Heel, NCAugust 14, 2018
Smithfield money is very good but it's hard on your body and takes time away from your family you're always going to get overtime and if you don't is because you don't want it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
1st shift packing (Former Employee) –  Middlesboro kyAugust 13, 2018
Day starts with going in getting boots and coats on sanitize and get the regulateded gear on turn on machines of use that day cut the meat and put it in package seale the product label the product box the product stack the boxes of product on palettes wrap in saran rap label palettes of products and ship out
Pros
Sometimes free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job bad management
Kill floor (Former Employee) –  Tar Heel, NCAugust 13, 2018
Loved the job and pay hated the the post system. The supervisor I had was for who she wanted to be .. They cared more about The hogs that than the employees.. .
Pros
The pay was lovely the work wasnt hard
Cons
Poor management cared more about the hogs thans the people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production worker
General Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Smithfield, VAAugust 12, 2018
My speed was amazing I learned how to work better with others. The hardest part of the job is when you first start out and you try to keep up with everyone else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Smithfield, VAAugust 12, 2018
Smithfield Foods is a great and exceptional company to work with. They have great benefits and pays a very deceit salary to star with and raises are given as deserved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
servicios a enpleados
Machine Operator/ Bobby Lasi (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDAugust 9, 2018
una buena experiencia buenos horarios disponibles diferentes posisiones fercibles maquinas modernas entrenamientos continuos mucha seguridad buena prebencion de accidentes horas extras de trabajos mui buen servicio responsabilidad mui satis fecho grasias
Pros
morell care
Cons
30 minutes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn’t recommend it
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee) –  Smithfield, NCAugust 8, 2018
It’s a fast pace dirty job. To me the pay was to low for all that you do. Be prepared for some hard work. It’s not that dangerous put the knifes are very sharp
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDAugust 7, 2018
Smithfield is a hard place to work. Most of theirs jobs are physical , the pace is too fast for most employees to handle, Supervisors are rude and disrespectful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
General Labor Worker (Former Employee) –  Crete, NEAugust 6, 2018
Hard and stressful place to work I was general labor very hard work for a 17 year old petite women have to pack and stock 50 pounds of bacon for 8-10 hrs a day it was back killer job ....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unique place to work.
Processor (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOAugust 6, 2018
I loved working there because it for one is a personal product that i endorse and, i really enjoy working in freezers where there are cold temperatures.
Pros
Three breaks
Cons
Not enough appreciation incentives for long term employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardwork and lots of hours
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NCAugust 6, 2018
I loved the money so the hard work and hours never bothered me. you have to get long with people, this job is line work so everyone will have to work together in order to have a goodnight
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cold
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 5, 2018
worked in a giant freezer loading trucks, fast paced forcing people to push safety. management just cares about production and catching people being unsafe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed place to work
Hog runner (Current Employee) –  Tar Heel, NCAugust 4, 2018
A typical day consist of unloading hogs off trucks and counting them. After being counting the are ran through a CO2 machine.. This process is repeated until the kill is in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCAugust 4, 2018
I really enjoyed working here, because it taught me a lot about cutting meat. As a result I no longer eat pork. I have no desire to restart eating pork. My hours were in the morning, and this was the shift I enjoyed working..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable but Challenging
Ammonia Refrigeration Technician (Former Employee) –  Wilson, NCAugust 2, 2018
Great company with awesome benefits. I enjoyed my time wile working there, but had to move thus the reason for changing jobs. So the pays good, its always cold inside but fun.....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Smithfield Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,198 reviews
5349
4318
3330
2110
191

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

2.0Career Opportunities

1.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight